Survey Metadata

Well water, Groundwater

Saskatchewan

1976

Groundwater, lake and stream water, stream sediment survey, NTS 72F, 72K/1, 2, Cypress Hills, southwestern Saskatchewan, 1976.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Between June 1 and the end of August 1976, approximately 865 wells and 75 springs were sampled in the Cypress Hills area, southwestern Saskatchewan to determine the usefulness of such surveys for uranium prospecting.  On average, one site per 13 km 2 was sampled where possible in the 17,900 km 2 survey area.  The wells were either private wells or pasture stock wells; in some areas, springs were used instead of wells.

Stream waters were also collected at 8 km intervals along the three major rivers.  Detailed stream water and sediment sampling along a sort section of the Frenchman River near the town of Eastend was also carried out.

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open Files 678 (well data only) and 1225 (all data).

Quantities Analysed:

Unacidified water sample from the 320 ml glass bottle analysed in the field laboratory for radon gas, U, F, Eh, pH, dissolved oxygen, conductivity, total alkalinity and bicarbonate alkalinity.  The acidified sample in the glass bottle was shipped to Ottawa and analysed for other dissolved gases and a suite of trace elements.  The 250 ml untreated sample in the polyethylene bottle was archived for reanalysis if necessary.

Sampling Procedure

At each site, 3 bottles of water were collected (one 250 ml polyethylene bottle and two l glass bottles: 310 ml and 320 ml).  At every tenth site three additional bottles were collected (one 250 ml and two 2.5 L bottles, all polyethylene).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dyck, W. (1980). Regional well water geochemical reconnaissance data, Cypress Hills, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 678. ( more)
2 Dyck, W., Campbell, R.A. (1986). Hydrogeochemical Investigations in the Cypress Hills Area, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1225, 92 pages. ( more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1975-1980 Uranium groundwater and stream sediment project, Maritimes and Saskatchewan, 1975-1976 ( more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Raw data for RGG Open Files ( FileID=631 download )
This zip file contains the raw data for 64 geochemical Open Files released by the Resource Geophysics and Geochemistry Division of the Geological Survey of Canada.  The data are in “punched card image” format (i.e. 80 column records), designed to be read by FORTRAN software.
4284217

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49° 50.25° -110° -108°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 72F (Cypress Lake) and 72K/1 (Gull Lake), 72K/2 (Tompkins) in the Cypress Hills area, southwestern Saskatchewan.  It is bounded to the south by the Canada – U.S.A. border, to the east by longitude 108°W and to the west by the Alberta-Saskatchewan border.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de puits, Eau souterraine

Saskatchewan

1976

Levé d’eau souterraine, d’eaux lacustres et d’eaux et sédiments de ruisseau, 2F, 72K/1, 2 du SNRC, région de Cypress Hills, sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, 1976.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Entre le 1er juin et la fin d’août 1976, un échantillonnage d’environ 865 puits et 75 sources a été effectué dans la région de Cypress Hills, sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan, afin de déterminer l'utilité générale de ces levés pour la prospection d'uranium. En moyenne, on comptait un site d’échantillonnage par 13 km2, dans la mesure du possible, au sein d’une zone de levé de 17 900 km2. Les puits étaient domestiques ou destinés à du bétail aux pâturages, et par endroit, des sources étaient utilisées plutôt que des puits.

Des échantillons d’eaux de ruisseau ont également été recueillis à des intervalles de 8 km le long des trois rivières principales.  Un échantillonnage détaillé de sédiments et d’eaux de ruisseau le long d'une section de Frenchman River près de la ville d'Eastend ont également été effectué.

Les données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 678 (données sur les puits seulement) et 1225 (toutes les données) de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Trois récipients, soit un en polyéthylène de 250 ml et deux en verre de 310 et de 320 ml respectivement, ont été remplis d’eau provenant de chacun des sites. À tous les dix sites, trois autres récipients en polyéthylène, soit un de 250 ml et deux de 2,5 l, ont été remplis.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dyck, W. (1980). Regional well water geochemical reconnaissance data, Cypress Hills, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 678. (détails)
2 Dyck, W., Campbell, R.A. (1986). Hydrogeochemical Investigations in the Cypress Hills Area, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1225, 92 pages. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1975-1980 Projet sur les eaux souterraines et les sédiments de ruisseau uranifères, dans les Maritimes et en Saskatchewan, de 1975 à 1976 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Données brutes des dossiers publics de RGG. ( FileID=631 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient les données brutes de 64 dossiers publics géochimiques publiés par la Division Resource Geophysics and Geochemistry de la Commission géologique du Canada.  Les données sont en format de l’image de carte perforée (80 colonnes), conçue pour lire par le logiciel FORTRAN.
4284217

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49° 50.25° -110° -108°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 72F (Cypress Lake) et 72K/1 (Gull Lake), 72K/2 (Tompkins) du SNRC dans la région Cypress Hills dans le sud-ouest de la Saskatchewan.  Il est délimité au sud par la frontière Canada – États-Unis, à l’est par la longitude 108°O° et à l’ouest par la frontière de l’Alberta-Saskatchewan.

Mots-clés


Date de modification