Survey Metadata




Till sampling survey, NTS 62I, O, 63C, southern Manitoba, 1981-1983.

Location map

(requires an Internet connection)

Survey Description

Between 1981 and 1983, a total of 372 backhoe pits, ranging in depth between one and five metres were dug in three areas in southern Manitoba: the Balmoral – Komarno area, the Moosehorn – Gypsumville area and the Swan Lake – Dawson Bay area.  All the major lithosomes were sampled at least one in each area.  Till was sampled in every hole, but glaciolacustrine sediments were sampled in only a few places.  The backhoe pits were dug along road allowances and were variously spaced 0.25, 0.5 and 1 mile apart.  Each sample consisted of 25 kg collected for heavy mineral separation, 8 kg for textural analyses and pebble counts, and 0.5 kg collected for geochemistry.  The data are published in Manitoba Department of Energy and Mines GP 87-1.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction analyzed by AAS after hot nitric-hydrochloric acid extraction for Cu, Pb, Zn, Ni Co, Cr Fe, Mn, and Ba.

Geochem Maps Available:


Other Analyses:

HMC, <4mm for grain-size analysis by sieving and pipetting; 4-16 mm fraction for pebble counts;  <0.063 mm fraction analyzed for carbonate by LECO.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Nielsen, E. (1989). Quaternary stratigraphy and overburden geochemistry in the Phanerozoic terrane of southern Manitoba. Manitoba Department of Energy and Mines, Mineral Resources Division, Geological Paper GP 87-1, 78 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1981-1989 Southern Manitoba till sampling carried out in 1981-1983 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
50.12° 52.75° -101.7° -96.75°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 62I (Selkirk), the Balmoral - Komarno area in the southern Interlake, southern Manitoba.  It is bounded to the northeast by Lake Winnipeg.

  • Covers part of NTS 62O (Dauphin Lake), the Moosehorn - Gypsumville area in the central Interlake, south central Manitoba.  It is bounded to the west by Lake Manitoba.

  • Covers part of NTS 63C (Swan Lake), the Swan Lake – Dawson Bay area in the northern Westlake area, western Manitoba.  It is bounded to the west by the Manitoba – Saskatchewan border.


Date modified: