Project Metadata

Friske, P.W.B; Ford, K.L.; Rencz, A.N.

2004-2013

North American Soil Geochemical Landscapes Project, Canadian component, 2004-2013.



Project Description

The North American Soil Geochemical Landscapes Project (NASGLP) is project is being undertaken by the national governments of Canada, the United States and Mexico.  This tri-national project was established to generate soil data collected using a consistent set of protocols and to have these data recognized and used by policy makers and regulators dealing with health and environmental protection.  The study will also provide a coordinated common approach for health and environmental risk assessment.

A Canada-United States pilot study consisting of two soil sampling transects (E-W and N-S) was carried out in 2004 to establish a methodology for the collection, preparation and analysis of soil samples for the NASGL Project.  In 2007, systematic sampling began in Canada and continued in 2008 and 2009.  The 2009 field season marked the end of NASGLP activities in Canada as the result of a change in GSC priorities.

The following reports were published:

 

Year of Sampling Area Publication
2004

*E-W transect across the central United States;

*N-S transect through Manitoba into the U.S., south to New Mexico;

USGS Open File Report 2005-1253
2007 NB, NS, PEI GSC OF 6433
2008-2009 NL, NB, NS, QC, ON, MB, SK, AB, BC GSC OF 7334

 

*The Geological Survey of Canada carried out sampling on a north-south transect from northern Manitoba into North Dakota.  The United States Geological Survey carried out sampling on a north-south transect from Minnesota, south to the Mexican border and on an east-west transect across the central U.S.

Survey History

IndexSurvey
1NASGL soil survey, provinces of New Brunswick, Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island, 2007. (more)
2NASGL soil survey, provinces of NL, NB, NS, QC, ON, MB, SK, AB, BC, 2008-2009. (more)
3Soil sampling pilot study, Canadian component, Manitoba and North Dakota, 2004. (more)
Date modified:

Métadonnées de projet

Friske, P.W.B; Ford, K.L.; Rencz, A.N.

2004-2013

Projet géochimique des pédopaysages de l'Amérique du nord, composant Canadien, 2004-2013.



Description de projet

Le projet géochimique des pédopaysages de l'Amérique du nord (NASGLP) est entrepris par les gouvernements du Canada, des États-Unis et du Mexique.  Ce projet tri-national a été créé pour générer des données pédologiques recueillis avec des protocoles cohérents et d'avoir ces données reconnues et utilisées par les décideurs et les régulateurs chargés de la santé et la protection de l'environnement.  L’étude fournira également une approche commune coordonnée pour la santé et l'évaluation des risques environnementaux.

Une étude pilote Canada-États-Unis comprenant de deux transects d'échantillonnage du sol (E-O et N-S) a été réalisée en 2004 pour établir une méthodologie pour la collecte, la préparation et l'analyse des échantillons de sol pour le projet NASGL. En 2007, un échantillonnage systématique a commencé au Canada et s'est poursuivi en 2008 et 2009. La campagne sur le terrain de 2009 a marqué la fin des activités de NASGLP au Canada à la suite d'un changement dans les priorités de la CGC.

Les rapports suivants sont publiés :

 

Année d’échantillonage Area Publication
2004

*Un transect E-O à travers la partie centrale des États-Unis;

*Un transect N-S à travers le Manitoba vers les États-Unis, et au sud au Nouveau-Mexique;

USGS Open File Report 2005-1253
2007 N.-B., N.-É., Î.-P.-É. DP 6433 de la CGC
2008-2009 T.-N.-L, N.-B., N.-É., QC, ON, MB, SK, AB, C.-B. DP 7334 de la CGC

 

*La Commission géologique du Canada a exécuté l’échantillonnage d'un transect nord-sud du nord du Manitoba jusqu'à la partie nord du Dakota du Nord.  La Commission géologique des États-Unis (USGS) a exécuté l’échantillonnage d’un transect nord-sud de Minnesota au sud au Mexique et d’un transect est-ouest à travers la partie centrale des É.-U.

Histoire des levés

Index Levé
1 Levé de sol de NASGL, les provinces du Nouveau-Brunswick, de la Nouvelle-Écosse et d'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, 2007. ( détails)
2 Levé de sol de NASGL, les provinces de la T.-N., du N.-B., de la N.-É., du QC, de l’ON, du MB, de la SK, de l’AB et de la C.-B., 2008-2009. ( détails)
3 Étude pilote d’échantillonnage du sol, composant canadien, Manitoba et Dakota du Nord, 2004. ( détails)
Date de modification