Survey Metadata

Till, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2012

Till sampling survey, NTS 56A, B, C, F, G, Wager Bay area, Nunavut, 2012.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In July and August 2012, regional till samples were collected south of Wager Bay in central Nunavut.  A total of 29 samples were collected from the 45 sites visited.  Till samples were collected mainly from Cy-horizon material from hand dug pits in frost boils, at an average depth of 34 cm.  At each till site, a ~3 kg sample (geochemistry) and a ~12.5 kg sample were collected (heavy minerals).

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 7417.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I., Wodicka, N., Bazor, D., Boyd, B. (2013). Till composition across the Rae craton south of Wager Bay, Nunavut: results from the Geo-Mapping Frontiers' Tehery-Cape Dobbs project. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7417, 31 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2010-2013 GEM Geochemical Surveys, 2010-2015 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
64.24° 65.86° -92.93° -88.87°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 56A (Daly Bay), 56B (Armit Lake), 56C (Tehery lake), 56F (Pennington Lake) and 56G (Wager Bay) in the area south of Wager Bay, central Nunavut.  It is bounded to the east by Roes Welcome Sound and Baker Lake is located approximately 100 km southwest of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2012

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 56A, B, C, F, G du SNRC, la région de Wager Bay, Nunavut, 2012.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En juillet et en août 2012, des échantillons de till régionaux ont été recueillis au sud de Wager Bay à la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Un total de 29 échantillons a été recueillis de 45 sites visités.  Les échantillons de till ont été recueillis principalement à partir d’horizon Cy dans des fosses creusées à la main dans des ostioles à une profondeur moyenne de 34 cm.  Sur chaque site de till, un échantillon de ~3 kg (pour la géochimie) et un échantillon de ~12,5 kg (pour traitement des minéraux indicateurs) ont été recueillis.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 7417 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I., Wodicka, N., Bazor, D., Boyd, B. (2013). Till composition across the Rae craton south of Wager Bay, Nunavut: results from the Geo-Mapping Frontiers' Tehery-Cape Dobbs project. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7417, 31 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2010-2013 Levés géochimiques de GEM, 2010-2015. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
64.24° 65.86° -92.93° -88.87°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 56A (Daly Bay), 56B (Armit Lake), 56C (Tehery Lake), 56F (Pennington Lake) et 56G (Wager Bay) du SNRC dans la region au sud de Wager Bay, à la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Il est délimité à l’est par Roes Welcome Sound et Baker Lake est situé à environ 100 km au sud-ouest de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification