Survey Metadata

Surface water, Lake sediment

Saskatchewan

1979

Lake sediment and water survey, NTS 74I/1, 8, 64L/4, 5, northern Saskatchewan, 1979.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During July 1979, detailed sampling of surface lake waters and centre-bottom sediments was carried out in the NEA-IAEA Test Area, northern Saskatchewan.  Lakes not previously sampled by the Saskatchewan Geological Survey (Dunn in 1976) or the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC NGR Open File 508) were sampled.  In addition, repeat sampling of some previously sampled (1976-Dunn and /or 1977-NGR) lakes was carried out.  Approximately 500 sites in the 1200 km2 area were sampled, at a density of 1 site per 2.4 km2.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 779.  A summary can be found in GSC Paper 82-11.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.177 mm fraction of lake sediments analysed by AAS after HNO3-HCl digestion for Zn, Cu, Mn, Fe, Pb, Ni, Co, Mo and Ag; by colourimetric methods for As; by INAA for U.  Lake water samples were analysed for the following anions: F, Cl, PO4, NO3, SO4 by the Dionex system.  U in lake waters was analysed by laser-induced fluorometry. Forty-one waters were analyzed for an additional 27 elements by ICP-ES but only Mg, Fe, Ca, Si and Sr were detectable.

Geochem Maps Available:

Colour contour maps and three-dimensional surface plots of elements in lake water and sediments.

Other Analyses:

pH, Eh, dissolved oxygen content, temperature and conductivity of surfaces waters were measured.

Sampling Procedure

Lake sediments were obtained using a G.S.C. sampler from a Hughes 500-C turbo helicopter.  Organic-rich sediments were collected from the central-deepest part of permanent lakes and ponds.  Surface lake waters (0.5 m depth) were collected directly into 500 mL polyethylene bottles.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Coker, W.B., Dunn, C.E. (1981). Lake water and sediment geochemistry; NEA-IAEA Athabasca Basin-Wollaston lake test area, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 779. (more)
2 Coker, W.B., Dunn, C.E. (1982). Lake water and lake sediment geochemistry, NEA/IAEA Athabasca Test Area. In Uranium Exploration in Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada, E.M. Cameron (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 82-11, p.117-125. (more)
3 Mellinger, M. (1989). Multivariate patterns of field information and geochemistry in a regional lake sediment survey: the NEA/IAEA Athabasca Test Area revisited. In Statistical Applications in the Earth Sciences, F.P. Agterberg and G.F. Bonham-Carter (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 89-9, p.357-365. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1978-1982 NEA-IAEA Test Area Program, northern Saskatchewan, 1978-1982 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
GISSARK file archive ( FileID=650 download)
This file is an archive of geochemical data stored in the GISS Archive (GISSARK) format, a derivative of the GISS format.  The ZIP file contains a readme file, the data, a dictionary and a user manual.  The data file names include the initials of the geologist responsible for the data; the full name is given in the file.
1572935
2
GISSARK file archive list of contents ( FileID=651 download)
A PDF file listing the files contained in “arkfiles.zip”.  The file also lists related publications and if a survey for the data has been created in The Canadian Database of Geochemical Surveys.
48640

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
58.125° 58.375° -104.25° -103.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 74I/1,8 and NTS 64L/4,5 in northern Saskatchewan.  This area is part of the NEA/IAEA Test Area.  It is bounded to the east by Wollaston Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de surface, Sédiment de lac

Saskatchewan

1979

Levé de sédiments et d’eaux lacustres, 74I/1 et 8 et 64L/4 et 5 du SNRC, nord de la Saskatchewan, 1979.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant le mois de juillet 1979, un échantillonnage détaillé des eaux de surface et des sédiments de fond du centre des lacs a été effectué dans la zone d’essai de l’AEN/AIEA, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. On a échantillonné les lacs qui n’avaient pas été échantillonnés antérieurement par le Saskatchewan Geological Survey (Dunn en 1976) ou par la Commission géologique du Canada (dossier public 508 de la CGC, RNG). En outre, un nouvel échantillonnage de certains lacs échantillonnés antérieurement (1976-Dunn et/ou 1977-RNG) a été effectué. Approximativement 500 sites sur une superficie de 1200 km2 ont été échantillonnés, suivant une densité de 1 site par 2,4 km2. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 779 de la Commission géologique du Canada. On peut trouver un résumé dans l’étude82-11 de la CGC.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,177 mm de sédiments lacustres, dosage du Zn, du Cu, du Mn, du Fe, du Pb, du Ni, du Co, du Mo et du Ag par AAS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl; dosage du As par des méthodes colorimétriques et du U par INAA. Dosage des anions F, Cl, PO4, NO3, SO4  par le système Dionex dans des échantillons d’eau de lacs. Dosage du U dans des échantillons d’eau de lacs par fluorométrie induite par laser. Dans 41 échantillons d’eau, dosage de 27 autres éléments par ICP-ES, mais seuls Mg, Fe, Ca, Si et Sr étaient détectables.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes en couleurs avec isoplèthes et tracés de surface tridimensionnels montrant les concentrations des éléments dans l’eau des lacs et les sédiments.

Autres analyses:

pH, Eh, teneur en oxygène dissous, température et conductivité des eaux de surface.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Des sédiments lacustres ont été prélevés à l’aide d’un échantillonneur de la CGC depuis un hélicoptère à turbomoteur de type Hughes 500-C. Des sédiments riches en matière organique ont été recueillis dans la partie centrale la plus profonde de lacs et d’étangs permanents. Des échantillons de l’eau de surface des lacs (profondeur de 0,5 m) ont été recueillis directement dans des bouteilles en polyéthylène de 500 ml.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Coker, W.B., Dunn, C.E. (1981). Lake water and sediment geochemistry; NEA-IAEA Athabasca Basin-Wollaston lake test area, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 779. (détails)
2 Coker, W.B., Dunn, C.E. (1982). Lake water and lake sediment geochemistry, NEA/IAEA Athabasca Test Area. In Uranium Exploration in Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada, E.M. Cameron (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 82-11, p.117-125. (détails)
3 Mellinger, M. (1989). Multivariate patterns of field information and geochemistry in a regional lake sediment survey: the NEA/IAEA Athabasca Test Area revisited. In Statistical Applications in the Earth Sciences, F.P. Agterberg and G.F. Bonham-Carter (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 89-9, p.357-365. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1978-1982 Programme de NEA-IAEA Test Area, nord du Saskatchewan, 1978 à 1982 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Fichier archivage GISS ARK ( FileID=650 télécharger)
Ce fichier est un archive des données géochimiques stockées dans le format de GISS Archive (GISSARK).  Le fichier en format ZIP contient un fichier de mis à jour, les données, un dictionnaire et un manuel de l’utilisateur.  Les noms des fichiers de données incluent les initiales du géologue qui a eu la responsabilité des données; le nom au complet se trouve dans le fichier.
1572935
2
Fichier archivage GISS ARK, table des matières ( FileID=651 télécharger)
Un fichier en format PDF énumérant les fichiers contiennent  dans « arcfiles.zip ».  Le fichier énumère aussi les publications liées et si un levé pour les données a été créé dans le Canadian Database of Geochemical Surveys.
48640

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
58.125° 58.375° -104.25° -103.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 74I/1, 8 du SNRC et 64L/4, 5 du SNRC dans le nord de la Saskatchewan.  Cette zone fait partie de NEA/IAEA Test Area.  Délimité à l'est par Wollaston Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification