Project Metadata

Lamothe, M.

1985-1990

Miramichi till geochemical surveys, New Brunswick, 1985-1987



Project Description

As part of a Quaternary geology and till geochemistry project, regional till surveys, a trenching survey and an overburden drilling survey were carried out in the Miramich area of New Brunswick between 1985 and 1987.

A deep overburden drill project was conducted in the winter of 1986-87 in the St. John Valley, between Edmunston and Fredericton and in the vicinity of Bathurst.  The objective of the study was to document the buried lithostratigraphic and chemostratigraphic successions in these areas.  The data are published in GSC Open File 2149.

In the summers of 1986 and 1987, a trenching survey was carried out in the area of tin-bearing granites of central New Brunswick.  The objective was to use detailed geochemistry in the vicinity of known mineral occurrences as a database to interpret regional surveys, in terms of geochemical response and dispersal.  The till geochemistry data from the trenching survey are published in GSC Open File 2217.

Regional till geochemical surveys were conducted over the Miramichi Zone and its vicinity.  The main objective was to study the variability of the geochemistry of till overlying rocks in this area.  The Miramichi Zone was divided into 3 sub-zones (northern, central and southern) which appear to reflect specific geological and lithogeochemical contexts.  The 3 sub-zones also make the readability of the geochemical data easier, as over 3500 samples were collected over the whole zone.  The data are published in GSC Open Files 2236 (northern), 2237 (central) and 2238 (southern).

Survey History

IndexSurvey
1Overburden drilling and till geochemistry survey, 3 areas in northern and western New Brunswick, 1986-1987. (more)
2Till samples from a trenching survey, NTS 21J/10, central New Brunswick, 1986 and 1987. (more)
3Till sampling survey, northern Miramichi Zone, NTS 21O, P, New Brunswick, 1985. (more)
4Till sampling survey, central Miramichi Zone, NTS 21O,P, J, New Brunswick, 1985-1987. (more)
5Till sampling survey, southern Miramichi Zone, NTS 21J, G, New Brunswick, 1985. (more)

Project Funding

Canada - New Brunswick Mineral Development Agreement (1984-1989)

Date modified:

Métadonnées de projet

Lamothe, M.

1985-1990

Levés géochimiques du till, la région Miramichi du Noveau-Brunswick, 1985-1987



Description de projet

Dans le cadre d’un projet sur la géologie du Quaternaire et la géochimie du till, des levés géochimiques régionaux du till, un levé d’échantillonnage du till dans des tranchées et et des forages dans les morts-terrains ont été exécutés dans la région Miramichi du Nouveau-Brunswick entre 1985 et 1987.

Un projet de forage profond des morts-terrains a été mené pendant l’hiver de 1986-1987 dans la vallée du fleuve Saint-Jean entre Edmunston et Fredericton ainsi qu’aux environs de Bathurst. L’objectif de l’étude était la documentation des successions lithostratigraphiques et chimiostratigraphiques enfouies dans ces deux régions. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 2149 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

En étés de 1986 et de 1987, un levé par excavation de tranchées a été exécuté dans la région des granites stannifères du centre du Nouveau-Brunswick. L’objectif était l’utilisation de connaissances détaillées de la géochimie aux environs de manifestations minérales connues comme base de données pour l’interprétation de levés régionaux en termes de réponse et de dispersion géochimiques. Les données du levé géochimique par excavation de tranchées sont publiées dans le dossier public 2217 de la CGC.

Des levés géochimiques du till ont été exécutés dans la région de la zone de Miramichi et des environs.  L’objectif principal était l’étude de la variabilité de la géochimie du till recouvrant les roches de la région. La zone de Miramichi a été partagée en trois sous-zones (nord, centre et sud) qui paraissaient refléter des contextes géologiques et lithogéochimiques distincts. Ces trois sous-zones facilitaient en outre la lisibilité des données géochimiques puisque plus de 3500 échantillons ont été recueillis en tout. Les données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 2236 (le nord), 2237 (le centre) et 2238 (le sud) de la CGC.

Histoire des levés

Index Levé
1 Forages dans les morts-terrains et levé géochimique du till, 3 régions du nord et de l’ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1986-1987. ( détails)
2 Levé d’échantillonnage du till dans des tranchées, 21J/10 du SNRC, centre du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1986 et 1987. ( détails)
3 Levé d’échantillonnage du till, partie nord de la zone de Miramichi, 21O, P du SNRC, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1985. ( détails)
4 Levé d’échantillonnage du till, partie centrale de la zone de Miramichi, 21O, P, J du SNRC, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1985 à 1987. ( détails)
5 Levé d’échantillonnage du till, partie sud de la zone de Miramichi, 21J, G du SNRC, Nouveau-Brunswick, 1985. ( détails)

Source de financement du projet

L'Entente Canada-Nouveau-Brunswick sur l'exploitation minérale (1984-1989)

Date de modification