Survey Metadata

Surface water, Stream sediment, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2006

Stream sediment and water sampling survey, NTS 37E, northern, Baffin Island, Nunavut, 2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 2005, stream sediment and water samples for geochemical and KIM analyses were collected at 31 sites from “best-developed” streams on northern Baffin Island, Nunavut.  At 16 sites, coarse sediment was also collected for additional geochemical, KIM and MMSIM analysis.

Samples were processed for KIM, gold grains and other heavy minerals at Overburden Drilling Management Ltd. in Nepean, ON. The samples have been SEM checked at ODM. A split of the stream sediment samples was sent to Acme Analytical Laboratories Ltd., Vancouver, BC, for preparation and geochemical analysis. Water samples were shipped to the GSC for analysis.

The data are published in GSC Open File 5742.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Utting, D.J., Little, E.C., Young, M.D., McCurdy, M.W., Dyke, A.S., Girard, I. (2008). Till, stream-sediment and bedrock analyses, north Baffin Island, Nunavut (NTS 37E, F, G, H and 47E). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5742. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2002-2008 North Baffin project, northern, Baffin Island, Nunavut, 2002-2005. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
70.4° 70.73° -75.5° -74.33°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS map sheet 37E (Conn Lake) on northern Baffin Island, Nunavut. The Barnes ice cap is located to the southeast.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de surface, Sédiment de ruisseau, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2006

Échantillonnage de sédiments et d'eaux fluviatiles, 37E du SNRC, Île de Baffin (nord), Nunavut, 2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 2005, des échantillons de sédiments fluviatiles et d'eaux ont été recueillis pour fins d'analyses géochimiques et KIM, en 31 sites dans les cours d'eau de la partie nord de l'Île de Baffin, Nunavut.  En 16 sites, un sédiment grossier a aussi été recueilli pour des analyses supplémentaires géochimiques, de KIM et de MMSIM.

Les échantillons ont été préparés pour les KIM, les pépites d'or et les autres minéraux lourds chez Overburden Drilling Management Ltd., Nepean (Ontario).  Les échantillons ont été analysés par microscope électronique à balayage chez ODM.  Une portion de l'échantillon de sédiment fluviatile a été envoyé chez Acme Analytical Laboratories Ltd., Vancouver (CB), pour fins de préparation et d'analyses géochimiques.  Les échantillons d'eaux ont été envoyés à la CGC pour fins d'analyses.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 5742 de la CGC.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Utting, D.J., Little, E.C., Young, M.D., McCurdy, M.W., Dyke, A.S., Girard, I. (2008). Till, stream-sediment and bedrock analyses, north Baffin Island, Nunavut (NTS 37E, F, G, H and 47E). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5742. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2002-2008 Projet dans le nord de la région de Baffin, Île de Baffin, Nunauvt, 2002-2005. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
70.4° 70.73° -75.5° -74.33°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 37E (Conn Lake) du SNRC, sur la partie nord d'Île Baffin au Nunavut.  La calotte glaciaire de Barnes est située au sud-est.

Mots-clés


Date de modification