Survey Metadata

Till, Bedrock, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2002

Till sampling survey, NTS 37E, F, G, H, 47E, northern, Baffin Island, Nunavut, 2002, 2003 and 2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


A total of 1040 till samples were collected in 2002, 2003 and 2005 on northern Baffin Island, Nunavut.  In 2002 and 2003, 597 till samples were collected by De Beers Canada in NTS 47E and 37F.  In 2003, CNGO collected 154 till samples in NTS 37E, G, H (south).  In 2005, CNGO collected 289 2-kg till samples also on northern Baffin Island.  At 266 of these sites, an additional 10-kg till sample was collected for kimberlite indicator mineral analysis and gold-grain counts.

Samples were sent to ActLabs for geochemical analyses and processed for kimberlite indicator minerals, metamorphic or magmatic massive sulphide indicator minerals (MMSIM) and heavy mineral concentrate (HMC) analyses at Overburden Drilling Management Ltd. in Nepean, ON. The samples have been SEM checked at ODM.  Munsell colour, grain size, carbonate content, and sample preparation was completed at the Sedimentology Laboratory at the GSC. Pebble lithologies were completed by D. Paré at Consorminex Inc.

The data are published in GSC Open Files 4994 and 5742, which supersedes OF 4994.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Little, E., Dyke, A.S., Young, M. and Utting, D. (2005). Preliminary Bedrock Geochemistry and Drift Prospecting results from the North Baffin Project (NTS 37F, 37G, 47E), northern Baffin Island, Nunavut, Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4944. (more)
2 Utting, D.J., Little, E.C., Young, M.D., McCurdy, M.W., Dyke, A.S., Girard, I. (2008). Till, stream-sediment and bedrock analyses, north Baffin Island, Nunavut (NTS 37E, F, G, H and 47E). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5742. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2002-2008 North Baffin project, northern, Baffin Island, Nunavut, 2002-2005. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
70° 72° -83° -76°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 37E (Conn Lake), F (Steensby Inlet), G (Icebound Lakes), H (Buchan Gulf) and 47E (Erichsen Lake) on northern Baffin Island, Nunavut. The Barnes ice cap is located to the southeast.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Roche en place, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2002

Levé d'échantillonnage du till, 37E, F, G, H, 47E du SNRC, Île de Baffin (nord), Nunavut, 2002, 2003 et 2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 2002, 2003 et 2005, un total de 1040 échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans la partie nord de  l'Île de Baffin , Nunavut.  En 2002 et 2003, 597 échantillons de till ont été recueillis par De Beers Canada (sur les carte 47E et 37F du SNRC).  En 2003, 154 échantillons de till ont été recueillis par CNGO (sur les cartes 37E, G et H (sud) du SNRC).  En 2005, 289 (de 2kg) échantillons de till ont aussi été recueillis dans la partie nord de l'Île de Baffin.  Sur 266 de ces sites, un échantillon de till de 10kg supplémentaire a été recueilli pour les analyses de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite et les comptages de pépite d'or.

Les échantillons ont été envoyés chez ActLabs pour fins d'analyses géochimiques. Les échantillons ont aussi été préparés pour l'analyse de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite (KIM), de minéraux indicateurs de sulfide magmatique massif et métamorphique (MMSIM) et de concentrés de minéraux lourds chez Overburden Drilling Management Ltd., Nepean (Ontario).  Les échantillons ont été analysés par microscope électronique à balayage chez ODM.  Le laboratoire de sédimentologie de la CGC a complété les analyses suivantes:  test de couleurs Munsell, granulométrie, dosage du carbonate et préparation des échantillons.  Les lithologies de cailloux ont été complétées par D. Paré chez Consorminex Inc.

Les données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 4994 et 5742 de la CGC, qui remplace le dossier public 4994.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Little, E., Dyke, A.S., Young, M. and Utting, D. (2005). Preliminary Bedrock Geochemistry and Drift Prospecting results from the North Baffin Project (NTS 37F, 37G, 47E), northern Baffin Island, Nunavut, Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4944. (détails)
2 Utting, D.J., Little, E.C., Young, M.D., McCurdy, M.W., Dyke, A.S., Girard, I. (2008). Till, stream-sediment and bedrock analyses, north Baffin Island, Nunavut (NTS 37E, F, G, H and 47E). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5742. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2002-2008 Projet dans le nord de la région de Baffin, Île de Baffin, Nunauvt, 2002-2005. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
70° 72° -83° -76°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 37E (Conn Lake), F (Steensby Inlet), G (Icebound Lakes), H (Buchan Gulf) et 47E (Erichsen Lake) du SNRC, sur la partie nord d'Île Baffin au Nunavut.  La calotte glaciaire de Barnes est située au sud-est.

Mots-clés


Date de modification