Survey Metadata

Till, Marine sediment, Lake sediment, Esker, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2004

Geochemical sediment sampling survey, Melville Peninsula, Nunavut, BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc., 2004.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Between July 22nd and August 14th, 2004, BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. collected 105 sediment samples from the Pelly Bay Property in southeast Melville Peninsula, central Nunavut Territory. The majority of the samples were glacial till, however other materials such as beach sand, glaciofluvial/esker and marine sediments were collected.  The property was split into two sampling areas; the first is situated 95 km south-southeast of the hamlet of Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay), and the second is located 170 km southwest of Kugaaruk.  The areas cover parts of NTS map sheets 56N/13, 14, and 56P/9, 12, and 14-16.  The data can be found in Nunavut Assessment Report 084810.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Grimley, M. (2004). Pelly Bay Property, Nunavut Mining District: Report on exploration activities, 2004 field program (geochemical sampling). Nunavut Territory. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. Nunavut Assessment Report 084810. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
67.64° 68° -94° -88.12°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS map sheets 56P/14 (untitled), /15 (untitled) and /16 (Ujarattaak Point) on the southeast Melville Peninsula in central Nunavut Territory.  It is bounded to the east by Committee Bay and the centre of the study area is located approximately 81 km southeast of the hamlet of Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay).

  • Covers parts of NTS 56P/9 (Cape Weynton) on the southeast Melville Peninsula in central Nunavut Territory.  It is bounded to the east by Committee Bay and the centre of the study area is located approximately 95 km south-southeast of the hamlet of Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay).

  • Covers parts of NTS map sheets 56N/13, 14 (both untitled) on the southeast Melville Peninsula in central Nunavut Territory.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 170 km southwest of the hamlet of Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay) and 55 km southeast of Rasmussen Basin.

  • Covers the northwest part of NTS 56P/12 (untitled) on the southeast Melville Peninsula in central Nunavut Territory.  It is bounded to the north by latitude 67.75°N and to the southwest by the Atorquait River.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 65 km west of Committee Bay.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Sédiment marin, Sédiment de lac, Esker, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2004

Levé d'échantillonnage de sédiments géochimiques, péninsule Melville, Nunavut, BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc., 2004.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Entre le 22 juillet et le 14 août 2004, un total de 105 échantillons de sédiments ont été recueillis par BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc., sur la propriété Pelly Bay, au sud-est de la péninsule Melville, Territoire Nunavut (centre).  La majorité des échantillons étaient du till glaciaire, cependant, d'autres matériaux (sédiments de sable de plage, glaciofluviaux/esker, marins) ont été recueillis.  La propriété est divisée en 2 sites d'échantillonnage; le premier est situé à 95 km sud-sud-est du hameau de Kugaaruk (Pelley Bay) et le second à 170 km sud-ouest de Kugaaruk ( sur les cartes 56N/13, 14, 56P/9, 12 et 14-16 du SNRC).  Les données sont publiées dans le Nunavut Assessment Report 084810.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Grimley, M. (2004). Pelly Bay Property, Nunavut Mining District: Report on exploration activities, 2004 field program (geochemical sampling). Nunavut Territory. BHP Billiton Diamonds Inc. Nunavut Assessment Report 084810. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
67.64° 68° -94° -88.12°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 56P/14 (sans nom), /15 (sans nom) et /16 (Ujarattaak Point) du SNRC sur la partie sud-est de Melville Peninsula dans la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Il est délimité à l’est par Committee Bay, et le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 81 km au sud-sud-est du hameau de Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay).

  • Couvre une partie de 56P/9 (Cape Weynton) du SNRC sur la partie sud-est de Melville Peninsula dans la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Il est délimité à l’est par Committee Bay, et le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 115 km au sud-sud-est du hameau de Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay).

  • Couvre des parties de 56N/13, 14 (les deux sans nom) du SNRC sur la partie sud-est de Melville Peninsula dans la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 170 km au sud-ouest du hameau de Kugaaruk (Pelly Bay) et 55 km au sud-est de Rasmussen Basin.

  • Couvre la partie nord-ouest de 56P/12 (sans nom) du SNRC sur la partie sud-est de Melville Peninsula dans la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Il est délimité au nord par la latitude 67.75°N et au sud-ouest par Atorquait River.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 65 km à l’ouest de Committee Bay.

Mots-clés


Date de modification