Survey Metadata

Till, Stream sediment, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2000

Till, stream sediment and kimberlite sampling, Brodeur Peninsula, Baffin Island, Nunavut, Twin Mining Corporation, 2000-2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


After prospecting in 1998 and panning and sorting through weathered kimberlite in 1998 and 1999, 17 surface kimberlite samples totaling 94.52 kg, 124 near crop samples (124 kg) and 1,424, kg of kimberlitic rock from trenches were collected in May and August, 2000 on the Freightrain claim, Jackson Inlet area, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut.  The data are found in Nunavut Assessment Report 084331.

In 2002 and 2003, till and stream sediment sampling was carried out on the Jackson Inlet Property located on NTS sheets 48B/5, 6, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4, 58A/8, 9, 16, and 58D/1, 8.  A total of 843 samples were collected over the two years.  In spring 2002, 23 till samples were taken over magnetic anomalies.  In summer 2002, a regional survey was conducted across three areas on the property and a total of 488 till samples were collected from frost boils.  In summer 2003, 355 till samples were collected in a regional survey over new claims and to increase sample density of the previous regional survey.  In addition, 71 stream sediments were also collected in 2003 and processed in the same manner as the till samples.  The samples were processed in the field and at SGS Lakefield Research.  The data are found in Nunavut Assessment Report 084673.

Between July 10 and August 26, 2004 a total of 1200 soil samples were collected on NTS sheets 48B/5, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4, 5, 6, 58A/8, 9, 16 and 58D/1, 8.  Most were collected at 500 m intervals along N-S lines spaced 2 km apart.  Thirteen samples were also collected for Twin Mining by Kennecott geologists.  Till samples were taken from frost boils after discarding cobbles and large stones.  The samples were processed at two facilities: Vancouver Indicator Processors Inc. and Kennecott's Mineral Processing Laboratory in Thunder Bay.  The data are found in Nunavut Assessment Report 084905.

A summary of the samples collected each year can be found in the Technical Report dated March 13, 2006 on page 10-2 and is abbreviated below:

 

  2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 Totals
Soil samples   120 488 355 1,213 25 2,201
Stream sediment samples       71     71
Near-crop samples 124 kg     50.5 kg     174.5 kg
Bedrock samples 94.52 kg           94.52 kg
Trench samples 1,424 kg           1,424 kg

 

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Davis, D.W. (2000). Mineral claim Freightrain – Tag number F65593, Brodeur Peninsula, Baffin Island, Nunavut. Report of representation work on behalf of Fred Tatarnic. Nunavut Assessment Report 084331. (more)
2 Lakefield Research Limited (2001). Diamond indicator mineral extraction, selection, analysis and interpretation: Jackson Inlet Bulk Samples #1 and #2 – spring processing campaign. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (more)
3 St-Hillaire, C. (2001). Combined magnetic and electromagnetic helicopter survey, final report, Jackson Inlet Project, Arctic Bay, Baffin Island. Twin Mining Corporation. Nunavut Assessment Report 084496. (more)
4 Twin Mining Corporation (2001). Combined magnetic and electromagnetic helicopter survey, Arctic Bay, Baffin Island, final report. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (more)
5 Roy, R., Lindsay, J. (2003). Report on the Jackson Inlet property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (more)
6 Roy, R. Jago, B.C. (2004). Report on the Jackson Inlet property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (more)
7 Roy, R., Perry, A.L. (2005). Representation work report, Exploration report on the till sampling, ground geophysical and diamond drilling programs on the Jackson Inlet Property. Nunavut Assessment Report 084673. (more)
8 Berezowsky, M.G.S., Brett, J.S., Coates, H.J., Sobie, P. (2006). Technical report on the Jackson Inlet Property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. MPH Consulting Limited. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (more)
9 Davis, D.W. (2006). Till sampling and airborne geophysical programs conducted in the exploration for diamonds on the Jackson Inlet Property, Brodeur Peninsula, Baffin Island, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. Nunavut. Nunavut Assessment Report 084905. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
72.26° 73.65° -89.07° -87.31°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 48B/5, 6, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4 (St. Joseph Plateau), 58A/8, 9, 16, 58D/1, 8 (Jackson Inlet), the Jackson Inlet property in northeast Nunavut.  It is located approximately 1000 km north of Rankin Inlet.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Sédiment de ruisseau, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2000

Échantillonnage du till, de sédiments fluviatiles et de kimberlites, péninsule Brodeur, Île de Baffin, Nunavut, Twin Mining Corporation, 2000-2005.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En mai et août 2000, un échantillonnage a été effectué dans le claim Freightrain, situé dans la région de Jackson Inlet, péninsule Brodeur, Nunavut.  Un total de 17 échantillons de kimberlite de surface (pesant 94.52kg), 124 échantillons près des affleurements rocheux (124kg) et 1424kg de roches kimberlitiques, ont été recueillis dans des tranchées.  Cet échantillonnage a eu lieu après la prospection de 1998 et le lavage à la bâtée et triage de kimberlites en 1998-1999.

Les données sont publiées dans le Nunavut-Manitoba Assessment Report 084331.

En 2002 et 2003, un échantillonnage de sédiments fluviatiles et de till a été effectué sur la propriété Jackson Inlet, située sur les cartes 48B/5, 6, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4, 58A8, 9, 16 et 58D/1,8 du SNRC.  Un total 843 échantillons ont été recueillis pendant les 2 années.  Au printemps 2002, 23 échantillons de till ont été recueillis sur des anomalies magnétiques.  À l'été 2002, un levé régional a été effectué dans 3 secteurs de la propriété et 488 échantillons de till ont été recueillis d'ostioles de boue.  À l'été 2003, un levé régional d'échantillonnage a été effectué sur de nouveaux claims et 355 échantillons de till supplémentaires ont été recueillis pour augmenter la densité de l'échantillonnage du précédent levé.  De plus, 71 sédiments fluviatiles ont été recueillis en 2003 et préparés de la même manière que les échantillons de till.  Les échantillons ont été préparés sur le terrain et à SGS Lakefield Research.  Les données sont publiées dans le Nunavut Assessment Report 084673.

Entre le 10 juillet et le 26 août 2004, un total de 1200 échantillons de sol ont été recueillis dans les régions de cartes 48B/5, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4, 5, 6, 58A/8, 9, 16 et 58D/1,8 du SNRC.  La plupart des échantillons ont été recueillis à des intervalles de 500m le long des lignes N-S espacées de 2 k.  Un total de 13 échantillons ont aussi été recueillis par des géologues de Kennecott mandaté par Twin Mining.  Les échantillons de till ont été recueillis d'ostioles de boue après avoir retirer les galets et les grosses roches.  Les échantillons ont été préparés à 2 endroits:  Vancouver Indicator Processors et le laboratoire Kennecott Mineral Processing, Thunder Bay.  Les données sont publiées dans le Nunavut Assessment Report 084905.

Un sommaire des échantillons recueillis chaque année, est publié dans le Technical Report, 13 mars 2006, à la page 10-2 et voici un aperçu:

 

  2000 2001 2002 2003 2004 2005 Totaux
Échantillon de sol   120 488 355 1,213 25 2,201
Échantillon de sédiments fluviatiles       71     71
Échantillon près des affleurements rocheux 124 kg     50.5 kg     174.5 kg
Échantillon de substratum rocheux 94.52 kg           94.52 kg
Échantillon de tranchées 1,424 kg           1,424 kg

 

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Davis, D.W. (2000). Mineral claim Freightrain – Tag number F65593, Brodeur Peninsula, Baffin Island, Nunavut. Report of representation work on behalf of Fred Tatarnic. Nunavut Assessment Report 084331. (détails)
2 Lakefield Research Limited (2001). Diamond indicator mineral extraction, selection, analysis and interpretation: Jackson Inlet Bulk Samples #1 and #2 – spring processing campaign. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (détails)
3 St-Hillaire, C. (2001). Combined magnetic and electromagnetic helicopter survey, final report, Jackson Inlet Project, Arctic Bay, Baffin Island. Twin Mining Corporation. Nunavut Assessment Report 084496. (détails)
4 Twin Mining Corporation (2001). Combined magnetic and electromagnetic helicopter survey, Arctic Bay, Baffin Island, final report. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (détails)
5 Roy, R., Lindsay, J. (2003). Report on the Jackson Inlet property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (détails)
6 Roy, R. Jago, B.C. (2004). Report on the Jackson Inlet property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (détails)
7 Roy, R., Perry, A.L. (2005). Representation work report, Exploration report on the till sampling, ground geophysical and diamond drilling programs on the Jackson Inlet Property. Nunavut Assessment Report 084673. (détails)
8 Berezowsky, M.G.S., Brett, J.S., Coates, H.J., Sobie, P. (2006). Technical report on the Jackson Inlet Property, Brodeur Peninsula, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. MPH Consulting Limited. NI 43-101 Report from SEDAR website (http://www.sedar.com/search/search_form_pc_en.htm). (détails)
9 Davis, D.W. (2006). Till sampling and airborne geophysical programs conducted in the exploration for diamonds on the Jackson Inlet Property, Brodeur Peninsula, Baffin Island, Nunavut for Twin Mining Corporation. Nunavut. Nunavut Assessment Report 084905. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
72.26° 73.65° -89.07° -87.31°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Covers part of NTS 48B/5, 6, 12, 13, 14, 48C/3, 4 (St. Joseph Plateau), 58A/8, 9, 16, 58D/1, 8 (Jackson Inlet), the Jackson Inlet property in northeast Nunavut.  It is located approximately 1000 km north of Rankin Inlet.

Mots-clés


Date de modification