Survey Metadata

Soil

British Columbia

1994

Soil sampling, NTS 92B, F, G, K, 92L/12, /13 Vancouver Island, British Columbia, 1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Between November 4 and December 21 1994, soil samples were collected at 9 sites on Vancouver Island, British Columbia.  At each site, a core of the surface soil was taken using a stainless steel coring device 10 cm in diameter and 10 cm in length.  Three replicate grab soil samples were taken for organic analysis from the soil adjacent to each core sample.  The soil pit was then expanded to a depth of 0.5 m and 4 samples were taken from the 0.5 to 0.6 m soil layer (1 for metal analysis, 3 for organic analyses).  The data can be found in the Vancouver Island Region Sampling Report by Soilcon Laboratories Ltd.

Data Description:

Digital report and data.

Quantities Analysed:

Soil samples analysed for 32 elements after nitric perchloric digestion and for 27 elements after aqua regia digestion.  No size fraction or analytical methods given.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Other Analyses:

Organic chemistry.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Soilcon Laboratories Ltd. (1995). Background soil quality study, Vancouver Island region sampling report. Unpublished report for British Columbia Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1994-1999 British Columbia Ministry of Environment Soil Quality Program (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48.375° 50.8° -127.63° -123.25°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 92B (Victoria), 92F (Port Alberni), 92G (Vancouver) and 92K (Bute Inlet) along the eastern part of Vancouver Island, British Columbia.  It is bounded to the east by the Strait of Georgia.  The cities of Victoria, Nanaimo and Campbell River are found in the south, central and northern parts of the study area respectively.

  • Covers part of NTS 92L/12 (Quatsino) and /13 (Shushartie) on northern Vancouver Island, British Columbia.  It is bounded to the north by Goletas Channel and to the west by longitude 127.5°W.  Georgie Lake lies to the west of the study area and the city of Port Hardy to the east.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol

Colombie-Britannique

1994

Échantillonnage du sol, 92B, F, G, K, 92L/12, /13 du SNRC, île de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique, 1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Entre le 4 novembre et le 21 décembre 1994, des échantillons de sol ont été recueillis en neuf sites sur l’Île de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique.  Dans chacun des sites, une carotte a été extraite en surface au moyen d’un outil en acier inoxydable de 10 cm de diamètre et de 10 cm de longueur. Deux duplicatas ont été prélevés au hasard à côté de chacune des carottes pour analyser la matière organique. La fosse creusée pour l'échantillonnage a ensuite été excavée jusqu’à 0,5 m de profondeur, et quatre échantillons ont été recueillis dans la couche de sol se trouvant entre 0,5 et 0,6 m de profondeur (un échantillon pour doser les métaux et trois pour analyser la matière organique). Les données recueillies figurent dans le rapport de Soilcon Laboratories Ltd. intitulé «Vancouver Island Region Sampling Report».

Description de données:

Rapport et données numeriques.

Quantités analysées:

Échantillons de sol analysés de 32 éléments après digestion à l’eau régale et de 27 éléments après digestion dans l’acide nitrique-perchlorique.  Aucune fraction ni méthodes précisées.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Autres analyses:

Chimie organique.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Soilcon Laboratories Ltd. (1995). Background soil quality study, Vancouver Island region sampling report. Unpublished report for British Columbia Ministry of Environment, Lands and Parks. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1994-1999 Programme d’évaluation de la qualité du sol du ministère de l’Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48.375° 50.8° -127.63° -123.25°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 92B (Victoria), 92F (Port Alberni), 92G (Vancouver) et 92K (Bute Inlet) du SNRC le long de la partie est d’île de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique. Il est délimité à l’est par Strait of Georgia.  Les villes de Victoria, Nanaimo et Campbell River se trouvent dans les parties sud, centrale et nord respectivement de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 92L/12 (Quatsino) et /13 (Shushartie) du SNRC dans la partie nord d’île de Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique.  Il est délimité au nord par Goletas Channel et à l’ouest par la longitude 127.5°O.  Georgie Lake se trouve à l’ouest de la zone d’étude et la ville de Port Hardyse trouve à l’est.

Mots-clés


Date de modification