Survey Metadata

Till

Yukon

1998

Till sampling, NTS 105K, Anvil district, central Yukon, 1998-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Approximately 360 basal till samples were collected in the Anvil district, central Yukon from several locations.  Till samples were obtained by hand digging to a depth averaging 60 – 100 cm and weighed approximately 5-10 kg.

In 1998, 140 samples were collected in the Rose Creek valley, northwest of the Faro deposit.  Samples were collected from a 3 km by 4 km grid and were spaced every 200 m and the spacing between lines progressed from 200 m to 500 m over 13 lines total.  Till was also sampled from exposures in the Faro, Grum and Vangorda open pits.

Regional till sampling was carried out during 1998 and 1999 in three areas: at the southeast end of the Swim basin, north of Mount Mye and in the Anvil Creek valley.

The data are published in Indian and Northern Affairs Canada Bulletin 11.

Data Description:

Digital.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction of till analyzed by ICP-AES for 32 elements and for Au by fire assay.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour maps and proportional dot maps show the distribution of elements in till.

Other Analyses:

None.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Bond, J.D. (2001). Quaternary geology and till geochemistry of the Anvil district (parts of 105K/2, 3, 5, 6 and 7), central Yukon Territory. Exploration and Geological Services Division, Yukon, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Bulletin 11, 39 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1998-2001 Anvil district, Yukon till sampling survey, 1998-1999 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
62.1378° 62.4763° -133.9643° -132.5791°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 105K/2 (Swim Lakes), /3 (Faro), /6 (Mount Mye) and /7 (Blind Creek), the Swim Basin in the Anvil district, central Yukon.  It is bounded to the southwest by Pelly River.  Swim Lakes are located in the central part of the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 105K/6 (Mount Mye) in the Rose Creek valley, approximately 5 km northwest of the Faro deposit in the Anvil district, central Yukon.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 17 km northwest of the town of Faro.

  • Covers part of NTS 105K/6 (Mount Mye), the north Mt. Mye area in the Anvil district, central Yukon.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 10 km northeast of the Faro deposit and 20 km northeast of the town of Faro.

  • Covers part of the northwest corner of NTS 105K/5 (Rose Mountain), the Anvil Creek west area in the Anvil district, central Yukon.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 6 km north of Pelly River.

  • Covers part of NTS 105K/5(Rose Mountain), the Anvil Creek east area in the Anvil district, central Yukon.  It is located immediately north of Anvil Creek and approximately 11 km northeast of Pelly River.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Yukon

1998

Échantillonnage du till, 105K du SNRC, district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon, 1998-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Approximativement 360 échantillons de till de fond ont été recueillis à plusieurs endroits dans le district d’Anvil, dans le centre du Yukon. On creusait à la main jusqu’à une profondeur moyenne de 60 à 100 cm pour prélever les échantillons de till, dont le poids était approximativement de 5 à 10 kg.

En 1998, 140 échantillons ont été recueillis dans la vallée du ruisseau Rose, au nord-ouest du gisement de Faro. Les échantillons étaient recueillis tous les 200 m à l’intérieur d’un quadrillage couvrant 3 km sur 4 km, le long de 13 lignes dont l’espacement variait de 200 m à 500 m. Un échantillonnage du till a également été effectué sur des profils exposés dans les fosses d’exploitation minière à ciel ouvert de Faro, Grum et Vangorda.

Un échantillonnage régional du till a été effectué au cours des années 1998 et 1999 dans trois zones : à l’extrémité est du bassin de Swim, au nord du mont Mye et dans la vallée du ruisseau Anvil.

Les données sont publiées dans le bulletin 11 d’Affaires indiennes et du Nord Canada.

Description de données:

Numérique.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till, dosage de 32 éléments par ICP-AES et du Au par essai pyrognostique.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec isoplèthes et cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution des éléments dans le till.

Autres analyses:

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Bond, J.D. (2001). Quaternary geology and till geochemistry of the Anvil district (parts of 105K/2, 3, 5, 6 and 7), central Yukon Territory. Exploration and Geological Services Division, Yukon, Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, Bulletin 11, 39 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1998-2001 Levé d’échantillonnage du till dans le district minier d’Anvil, au Yukon, 1998 et 1999 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
62.1378° 62.4763° -133.9643° -132.5791°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 105K/2 (Swim Lakes), /3 (Faro), /6 (Mount Mye) et /7 (Blind Creek) du SNRC, la région de Swim Basin dans le district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon.  Il est délimité au sud-ouest par Pelly River.  Swim Lakes se trouvent dans la partie centrale de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 105K/6 (Mount Mye) du SNRC dans la vallée de Rose Creek, à environ 5 km au nord-ouest du gisement Faro dans le district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 17 km au nord-ouest de la ville de Faro.

  • Couvre une partie de 105K/6 (Mount Mye) du SNRC, la région de Mt. Mye nord dans le district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 10 km au nord-est du gisement Faro et 20 km au nord-est de la ville deFaro.

  • Couvre une partie du coin nord-ouest de 105K/5 (Rose Mountain) du SNRC, la région d’Anvil Creek ouest dans le district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 6 km au nord de Pelly River.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 105K/5 (Rose Mountain) du SNRC, la région d’Anvil Creek est dans le district d’Anvil, centre du Yukon.  Il est situé directement au nord d’Anvil Creek et à environ 11 km au nord-est de Pelly River.

Mots-clés


Date de modification