Survey Metadata

Bedrock

Nunavut

2009

Lithogeochemical survey, NTS 65B/4, Nueltin Lake area, southern Nunavut, 2009.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In June 2009, fourteen rock samples were collected from exposed outcrops of Nueltin granite plutons.  Two anomalous occurrences of radioactivity were discovered at two sites.  The samples were studied using the scanning electron microscope and the electron microprobe.  Samples were crushed and pulverized before being analysed by XRF and ICP-MS.

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Current Research (online) 2012-1.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Scott, J.M.J., Peterson, T.D., McCurdy, M.W. (2012). U, Th, REE occurrences within Nueltin granite at Nueltin lake, Nunavut: recent observations. Geological Survey of Canada, Current Research (online) no. 2012-1, 15 p. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
60.0894° 60.2145° -100.1413° -99.9548°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers a small part of NTS 65B/4 (Indian Camp Island) in the Nueltin Lake area, southern Nunavut.  It is located between Windy Lake and Sandybeach Lake, approximately 23 km north of latitude 60°N.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 113 km east of the Nunavut-Northwest Territories border.

  • Covers a small part of NTS 65C/1 (untitled) in the Nueltin Lake area, southern Nunavut.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 5 km south of Windy Lake and 20 km north of latitude 60°N.  

  • Covers a small part of NTS 65C/1 (untitled) in the Nueltin Lake area, southern Nunavut.  It is located east of Kasba Lake and southwest of Nueltin Lake  Latitude 60°N is located approximately 10 km south of the centre of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Roche en place

Nunavut

2009

Levé lithogéochimique, 65B/4 du SNRC, région de Nueltin Lake, au sud du Nunavut, 2009.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En juin 2009, quatorze échantillons de roche ont été recueillis d’affleurements exposés des plutons granitiques de Nueltin.  Deux événements anormaux de radioactivité ont été découverts dans deux sites.  Les échantillons ont été étudiés en utilisant le microscope électronique à balayage et la microsonde électronique.  Les échantillons ont été broyés et pulvérisés, avant d'être analysé par XRF et ICP-MS.

Les données sont publiées dans Recherches en cours (en ligne) no. 2012-1 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Scott, J.M.J., Peterson, T.D., McCurdy, M.W. (2012). U, Th, REE occurrences within Nueltin granite at Nueltin lake, Nunavut: recent observations. Geological Survey of Canada, Current Research (online) no. 2012-1, 15 p. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
60.0894° 60.2145° -100.1413° -99.9548°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une petite partie de 64B/4 (Indian Camp Island) du SNRC dans la région de Nueltin Lake au sud du Nunavut.  Il est situé entre Windy Lake et Sandybeach Lake, à environ 23 km au nord de la latitude 60°N.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 133 km à l’est de la frontière du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 65C/1 (sans titre) du SNRC dans la région de Nueltin Lake au sud du Nunavut.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 5 km au sud de Windy Lake et 20 km au nord de la latitude 60°N.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 65C/1 (sans titre) du SNRC dans la région de Nueltin Lake au sud du Nunavut.  Il est situé à l’est de Kasba Lake et au sud-ouest de Nueltin Lake.  La latitude 60°N est située à environ 10 km au sud du centre de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification