Survey Metadata

Till

Nova Scotia

1981

Till sampling, NTS 11E/01 and 11D/16, Eastern Shore region, Nova Scotia.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


More than 250 till samples were collected from the Goldenville, Miller Lake and Salmon River gold districts and the Ecum Secum area in the Eastern Shore region, Nova Scotia, sometime between 1981 and 1984.  Samples were collected from C-horizon soils developed in loose, sandy, grey till derived from the underlying Meguma Group.  The study is published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 1321.

Data Description:

Paper map with side notes, no data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction by AAS after aqua regia for Cu, Zn, Ag, Ni, Co, Mn, Fe, Mo and Pb. <0.063 mm fraction for As by colourimetry and for Au by FA-AAS after aqua regia digestion.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour plots showing distribution of elements in till.

Other Analyses:

None.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Henderson, J.R., Wyllie, R.J.S. (1986). Geochemical analysis of glacial drift and its applications in base and precious metal exploration, Eastern Shore region, Nova Scotia. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1321. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1981-1986 Eastern Shore region, Nova Scotia till sampling, carried out sometime between 1981 and 1984 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
44.9369° 45.124° -62.3986° -62.0011°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 11E/01 (Liscomb), the Goldenville Gold District area in the Eastern Shore region of Nova Scotia.  It is located approximately 2 km east of Big Gaspereaux Lake and approximately 1 km north of Sinclair and Gegogan Lakes in Guysborough County.

  • Covers part of NTS 11E/01 (Liscomb), the Miller Lake Gold District area in the Eastern Shore region of Nova Scotia.  It is located just north of Long Lakes and just southwest of Big Stillwater Lake in Guysborough County.

  • Covers part of NTS 11D/16 (Ecum Secum), the Salmon River area (also known as Darrs Hill and Dufferin Mine gold district) in the Eastern Shore region of Nova Scotia.  It is located in Halifax County, approximately 1 km southeast of Lewiston Lake and is bounded to the northeast by Eagle Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 11D/16 (Ecum Secum) in the Eastern Shore region of Nova Scotia.  It extends as far west as the Ecum Secum River and as far east as Langs Pond.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nouvelle Écosse

1981

Échantillonnage du till, 11E/01 et 11D/16 du SNRC, région de la Eastern Shore de la Nouvelle-Écosse.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Plus de 250 échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans les districts aurifères de Goldenville, Miller Lake et Salmon River, ainsi que dans la région d’Ecum Secum sur la Eastern Shore de la Nouvelle-Écosse, entre 1981 et 1984. Les échantillons ont été recueillis dans les sols de l’horizon C qui se sont développés dans du till gris lâche et sableux, dérivé du Groupe de Meguma. L’étude est publiée dans le dossier public 1321 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Carte imprimée avec notes marginales, aucune liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm, dosage du Cu, du Zn, du Ag, du Ni, du Co, du Mn, du Fe, du Mo et du Pb par AAS après eau régale. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage du As par colorimétrie et du Au par FA-AAS après digestion dans l’eau régale.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec isoplèthes montrant la distribution des éléments dans le till.

Autres analyses:

Aucune.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Henderson, J.R., Wyllie, R.J.S. (1986). Geochemical analysis of glacial drift and its applications in base and precious metal exploration, Eastern Shore region, Nova Scotia. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1321. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1981-1986 Échantillonnage du till effectué dans la région de la Eastern Shore de la Nouvelle-Écosse, entre 1981 et 1984 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
44.9369° 45.124° -62.3986° -62.0011°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 11E/01 (Liscomb) du SNRC, le district aurifère de Goldenville, dans la région d'Eastern Shore en Nouvelle-Écosse.  Il est situé à environ 2 km à l'est de Big Gaspereaux Lake et à environ 1 km au nord de Sinclair Lake et Gegogan Lake dans le comté de Guysborough.

  • Couvre une partie de 11E/01 (Liscomb) du SNRC, la région du district aurifère de Miller Lake dans la région d’Eastern Shore, en Nouvelle Écosse.  Il est situé au nord de Long Lakes et juste au sud-ouest de Big Stillwater Lake au compté Guysborough.

  • Couvre une partie de 11D/16 (Ecum Secum) du SNRC, la region de Salmon River (aussi appelé Darrs Hill et le district aurifère de Dufferin Mine) dans la région d'Eastern Shore en Nouvelle-Écosse.  Il est situé au compté  de Halifax, à environ 1 km au sed-est de Lewiston Lake et il est délimité au nord-est par Eagle Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 11D/16 (Ecum Secum) du SNRC, dans la région d'Eastern Shore de la Nouvelle- Écosse.  Il s'étend aussi loin ouest que Ecum Secum River et aussi loin est que Langs Pond.

Mots-clés


Date de modification