Survey Metadata

Till, Bedrock, Indicator minerals, Surficial drill core

Ontario, Quebec

1971

Till and bedrock survey, Timmins to Val d’Or Ontario and Quebec, 1971-1972.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the winter of 1971-1972, a drilling program was carried out in the Abitibi clay belt.  A total of 394 rotary drillholes were drilled in eleven areas across the region, from Timmins, ON to Val D’Or, QC.  Over 140 Cobra (percussion) holes were drilled in the Kirkland Lake region.  Approximately 6000 samples of till and bedrock were processed for heavy minerals and analyzed for trace metals.

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 116.  The gold content of these samples is published in GSC Open File 945.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Skinner, R.G. (1972). Drift prospecting in the Abitibi Clay Belt - overburden drilling program - methods and costs. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 116 (includes a supplement). (more)
2 DiLabio, R.N.W. (1983). Gold content of overburden samples in the Abitibi Clay Belt Ontario-Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 945. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1971-1972 Winter Works Program, Timmins - Val d’Or, Ontario and Quebec, 1971-1972 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48° 49.03° -81.72° -78°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 42A/11 (Pamour), /12 (Kamiskotia) and /14 (Buskegau River) in the Timmins area, northern Ontario.  It is bounded to the east by longitude 81°W.  Kamiskotia Lake is found in the western part of the study area and the city of Timmins is located about 6 km south of the study area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 42A/8 (Ramore) and /9 (Matheson) in northern Ontario.  It is located approximately 31 southwest of Lake Abitibi.  Highway 101 runs east-west through the centre of the study area and the city of Matheson is located in the west central part of the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/13 (Aylen River), 32D/14 (La Sarre), 32E/3 (Villebois) and 32E/4 (Abbotsford Lake) in northern Ontario and west central Quebec.  The Ontario-Quebec border runs north-south through the centre of the study area.  The town of La Sarre is located approximately 20 km southeast of the southern limit of the study area and Lake Abitibi is located about 8 km south.

  • Covers most of NTS 32D/11 (Palmarolle) in the Duparquet region, west central Quebec.  It is bounded to the west by longitude 79.5°W and to the north by Lake Abitibi.  Highway 388 runs east-west through the southern part of the study area.

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/6 (Rivière Kanasuta) in western Quebec.  The centre of the study area is located 19 km northwest of Rouyn-Noranda and 13 km west of Highway 101.  Lac Nora and Lac Flavrian are found within the study area.

  • Covers parts of 32D/4 (Larder Lake), 32D/5 (Magusi River) and 42A/1 (Kirkland Lake) in northern Ontario.  The centre of the study area is located about 34 km west of the Ontario-Quebec border.  Highway 66 runs east-west through most of the study area.

  • Covers parts of NTS 32D/8 (La Motte) and 32D/98 (Amos) in the Amos region, western Quebec.  Lac Figuery is located in the central part of the study area and Highway 109 runs north-south through the central part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Roche en place, Minéraux indicateurs, need description

Ontario, Québec

1971

Levé du till et de la roche e place, Timmins à Val d’Or, Ontario et Québec, 1971-1972.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Durant l’hiver 1971-1972, un programme de forage a été effectué dans la ceinture d’argile de l’Abitibi.  Un total de 394 trous de forage ont été forés avec une foreuse rotative dans une région de Timmins, ON à Val D’Or QC.  Plus de 140 trous Cobra (perforatrice à percussion) ont été forés dans la région de Kirkland Lake.  À environ 6000 échantillons de till et de roche en place ont été traités pour des minéraux lourds et analysés pour des métaux traces.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 116 de la Commission Géologique du Canada.  La teneur d’or pour ces échantillons est publiée dans le dossier public 945 de la CGC.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Skinner, R.G. (1972). Drift prospecting in the Abitibi Clay Belt - overburden drilling program - methods and costs. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 116 (includes a supplement). (détails)
2 DiLabio, R.N.W. (1983). Gold content of overburden samples in the Abitibi Clay Belt Ontario-Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 945. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1971-1972 Programme des travaux d’hiver, la région de Timmins-Val d’Or, Ontario et Québec, 1971 à 1972 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48° 49.03° -81.72° -78°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 42A/11 (Pamour), /12 (Kamiskotia) et /14 (Buskegau River) du SNRC dans la région de Timmins, nord de l’Ontario.  Il est délimité à l’est par la longitude 81°O.  Kamiskotia Lake se trouve dans la partie ouest de la zone de l’étude et la ville de Timmins est située à environ 6 km au sud de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 42A/8 (Ramore) et /9 (Matheson) au nord de l’Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 31 km au sud-ouest du lac Abitibi.  L’autoroute s’étend est-ouest à travers le centre de la zone d’étude et la ville de Matheson est située dans la partie ouest-centrale de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 32D/13 (Aylen River), 32D/14 (La Sarre), 32E/3 (Villebois) et 32E/4 (Abbotsford Lake) du SNRC au nord de l’Ontario et ouest-central du Québec.  La frontière de l’Ontario-Québec s’étend nord-sud à travers le centre de la zone d’étude.  La ville de La Sarre est située à environ 20 km au sud-est de la limite sud de la zone d’étude et lac Abitibi se trouve à environ 8 km au sud.

  • Couvert la plupart de 32D/11 (Palmarolle) du SNRC dans la région de Duparquet, ouest-central du Québec.  Il est délimité par la longitude 79.5°O et au nord par lac Abitibi.  L’autoroute 388 s’étend est-ouest dans la partie sud de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/6 (Rivière Kanasuta) du SNRC, oust du Québec.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé 19 km au nord-ouest de Rouyn-Noranda et 13 km à l’ouest de l’autoroute 101.  Lac Nora et lac Flavrian se trouvent dans la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 32D/4 (Larder Lake), 32D/5 (Magusi River) et 42A/1 (Kirkland Lake) du SNRC au nord de l’Ontario.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 34 km à l’ouest de la frontière de l’Ontario et du Québec.  L’autoroute 66 s’étend est-ouest à travers la plupart de la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre des parties de 32D/8 (La Motte) et 32D/98 (Amos) du SNRC dans la région d’Amos, ouest du Québec.  Lac Figuery se trouve dans la partie centrale de la zone d’étude.  L’autoroute 109 s’étend nord-sud  à travers la partie centrale de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification