Survey Metadata

Till, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

2014

Till sampling survey, NTS 76H, I, western Nunavut, 2014.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Between June 27 and July 4, 2014, till samples were collected at 55 sites in the Duggan Lake and Overby Lake map sheet areas, western Nunavut.  The work was part of theGEM-2 Thelon tectonic zone multidisciplinary geological mapping project.  Samples were collected from hand dug pits in active frost boils at an average depty of 35 cm.  At each site, one small sample (~3 kg) and one large sample (range=9.8-13.7 kg) were collected.  Some of the samples were taken to follow up on anomalous values in till (OF 7418) and stream sediment (OF7471).

The samples were processed for geochemistry and heavy minerals.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 7910.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I., Berman, R.G. (2015). Till composition across the MacAlpine Moraine System: results from the GEM-2 Thelon tectonic zone project, Nunavut (NTS 76-H and NTS 76-I). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7910, 21 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2010-2013 GEM Geochemical Surveys, 2010-2015 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
65.16° 67° -106.6143° -104°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 76H (Duggan Lake) and 76I (Overby Lake) in western Nunavut.  It is bounded to the east by longitude 104°W and to the west by longitude 106°W.  It lies between the Queen Maud Gulf Migratory Bird Sanctuary in the northeast and the Thelon Game Sanctuary in the southeast.  Ellice River flows north through the study area

  • Covers part of the northwest quadrant of NTS 76I (Overby Lake) in western Nunavut.  It is bounded to the north by latitude 67°N and to the west by longitude 106°W.  The Queen Maud Gulf Migratory Bird Sanctuary lies to the east.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 76G/10 (untitled 1 sample) in western Nunavut.  It is located approximately 115 km north of the NU-NT border and 35 km southeast of Lost Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

2014

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 76H, I du SNRC, l’ouest du Nunavut, 2014.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Entre le 27 Juin et le 4 Juillet 2014, des échantillons de till ont été recueillis sur 55 sites dans les régions des feuilles de carte de Duggan Lake et Overby Lake, l'ouest du Nunavut.  Le travail faisait partie du project de cartographie géologique multidisciplinaire de GEM-2 dans la zone tectonique Thelon.  Les échantillons ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main dans des ostioles  de boue actives à une profondeur moyenne de 35 cm.  Sur chaque site, un petit échantillon (environ 3 kg) et un large échantillon (gamme = 9,8 à 13,7 kg) ont été recueillis.  Sur chaque site, un petit échantillon (environ 3 kg) et un large échantillon (gamme = 9,8 à 13,7 kg) ont été recueillies.  Certains des échantillons ont été pris pour le suivi des valeurs anormales dans le till (DP 7418) et dans les sédiments fluviatiles (DP7471).

Les échantillons ont été traités pour la géochimie et les minéraux lourds.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 7910 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I., Berman, R.G. (2015). Till composition across the MacAlpine Moraine System: results from the GEM-2 Thelon tectonic zone project, Nunavut (NTS 76-H and NTS 76-I). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7910, 21 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2010-2013 Levés géochimiques de GEM, 2010-2015. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
65.16° 67° -106.6143° -104°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 76H (Duggan Lake) et 76I (Overby Lake) du SNRC dans l’ouest du Nunavut.  Il est délimité à l’est par la longitude 104°O et à l’ouest par la longitude 106°O.  Il se trouve entre le Refuge d'oiseaux du Golfe Reine-Maud dans le nord-est et Thelon Game Sanctuary au sud-est.  Ellice River coule vers le nord à travers la zone d’étude.

  • Couvre une partie du quadrant nord-ouest de 76I (Overby Lake) du SNRC dans l’ouest du Nunavut.  Il est délimité au nord par la latitude 67°N et à l’ouest par la longitude 106°O.  Le Refuge d'oiseaux du Golfe Reine-Maud se trouve à l’est.

  • Couvre une très petite partie de 76G/10 (sans nom; 1 échantillon) du SNRC dans l’ouest du Nunavut.  Il est situé à environ 115 km au nord de la frontière du Nunavut et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest et 35 km au sud-est de Lost Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification