Survey Metadata

Stream sediment

New Brunswick

1960

Stream sediment survey, NTS 21G, H, I, southeastern New Brunswick, 1960-1961.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summers of 1960 and 1961, stream sediment sampling was carried out in southeastern New Brunswick in the counties of Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens and Saint John.  Hundreds of samples were collected in an area between the Petitcodiac River and the Saint John River.

A summary of the work can be found in Geological Survey of Canada Paper 62-22 (includes maps of the “heavy metal” content for Cu, Pb and Zn).

Samples were later analysed for uranium and published in New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources and Energy Information Circular IC 68-3.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Smith, A.Y. (1963). Copper, lead, and zinc content of stream sediments in southeastern New Brunswick (parts of Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens, and Saint John Counties). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 62-22, 19 p. + 4 maps. (more)
2 Smith, A.Y. (1968). Uranium in stream sediments in southeastern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources, Mineral Resources Branch, Information Circular 68-3, 4p. + 1 map. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1956-1961 Reconnaissance Stream Sediment Project, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick, 1956-1961. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.156° 46.343° -66.181° -64.511°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 21G (Fredericton), 21H (Amherst), 21I (Moncton) in parts of Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens and Saint John Counties, southeastern New Brunswick.  It is bounded to the south by the Bay of Fundy, to the west by the Saint John River and to the north by the Canaan River.  The study area extends from the city of Saint John in the southwest to the town of Cocagne in the northeast.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sédiment de ruisseau

Nouveau-Brunswick

1960

Levé de sédiments fluviatiles, 21G, H, I du SNRC, sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1960-1961.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Au cours des étés 1960 et 1960, un échantillonnage des sédiments fluviatiles ont été effectué dans la partie sud-est du Nouveau Brunswick dans les comtés de Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens et Saint John.  Centaines d’échantillons ont été recueillies dans une zone entre Petitcodiac River et la rivière Saint-Jean.

On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans l’étude 62-22 de la Commission géologique du Canada (comprend des cartes de la teneur des « métaux lourds » pour Cu, Pb et Zn).

Les échantillons ont été analysés de nouveau pour l’uranium et publiées dans le Bulletin d’information IC 68-3 du Ministère des ressources naturelles et de l’énergie du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Smith, A.Y. (1963). Copper, lead, and zinc content of stream sediments in southeastern New Brunswick (parts of Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens, and Saint John Counties). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 62-22, 19 p. + 4 maps. (détails)
2 Smith, A.Y. (1968). Uranium in stream sediments in southeastern New Brunswick. New Brunswick Department of Natural Resources, Mineral Resources Branch, Information Circular 68-3, 4p. + 1 map. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1956-1961 Project de reconnaissance de sédiment fluviatiles, Nouvelle-Écosse et Nouveau-Brunswick, 1956-1961. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.156° 46.343° -66.181° -64.511°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 21G (Fredericton), 21H (Amherst), 21I (Moncton) du SNRC dans des parties des comtés Westmorland, Albert, Kings, Queens et Saint John, dans le sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il est délimité au sud par la baie de Fundy, à l’ouest par la rivière Saint-Jean et au nord par Canaan River.  La zone d’étude s’étend de la ville de Saint John au sud-ouest, à la ville de Cocagne au nord-est.

Mots-clés


Date de modification