Survey Metadata

Till, Bedrock, Indicator minerals

Ontario

2006

Till and lithogeochemical survey, NTS 41I/10, 11, 14, Broken Hammer occurrence, Sudbury, Ontario, 2006.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In the summer of 2006, till and bedrock samples were collected around the Broken Hammer Cu-Ni-PGE occurrence in Wisner Township, 30 km north of Sudbury. Ontario.  A total of 15 bedrock samples were collected for recovery of indicator minerals to document the indicator mineral signatures of the host rocks and mineralization for comparisons with mineralogy and geochemistry of till.  A total of 38 till samples were collected for indicator mineral analysis.  Sites included sections, trenches, clearings and road cuts.

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 7388.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Paulen, R., Ames, D., Spirito, W., Adcock, S., Averill, S., Layton-Matthews, D., Budulan, G., Hicken, A., Parkhill, M., Matile, G. (2011). Indicator mineral signatures of base metal deposits: examples from TGI3 and GEM research. In Mineral Exploration Roundup 2011, presentations, p. 1-28. (more)
2 McClenaghan, M.B., Ames, D.E. (2013). Indicator mineral abundance data for bedrock and till from the footwall-type Cu-Ni-PGE Broken Hammer occurrence, Sudbury, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7388, 12 p. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
46.6292° 46.8274° -81.4024° -80.9991°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers a small part of NTS 41I/14 (Venetian Lake) 6 km north of the Broken Hammer occurrence near Sudbury, Ontario.  The study area is located approximately 3.5 km southwest of the town of Sellwood and 36 km north of Sudbury.

  • Covers a small part of NTS 41I/14 (Venetian Lake) around the Broken Hammer occurrence in Wisner Township, 30 km north of Sudbury.  The study area is located approximately 0.5 km west of Blueberry Lake.

  • Covers parts of NTS 41I/10 (Capreol; 1 sample), 41I/11 (Chelmsford) and /14 (Venetian Lake) approximately 2 km southwest of the Broken Hill occurrence near Sudbury, Ontario.  The study area lies between Frappier Lake and Towerman’s Lake in the west and Blueberry Lake and Tank Lake to the east.

  • Covers a very small part of NTS 41I/11 (Chelmsford; 1 sample) in the area of the McCreedy west PM zone, near Levack, Ontario. It is located approximately 30 km southwest of the Broken Hammer occurrence and lies between the towns of Levack and Onaping.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Roche en place, Minéraux indicateurs

Ontario

2006

Levé lithogéochimique et de till, 41I/10, 11, 14 du SNRC, l’occurrence de Broken Hammer, Sudbury, Ontario, 2006.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Durant l’été 2006, des échantillons de till et de roche en place ont été recueillis près de l’occurrence Cu-Ni-ÉGP de Broken Hammer dans le canton de Wisner, à environ 30 km au nord de Sudbury, Ontario.  Un total de 15 échantillons de roche en place ont été recueillis pour la récupération de minéraux indicateurs afin de documenter les signatures en minéraux indicateurs des roches hôtes et la minéralisation pour comparer avec la minéralogie et géochimie du till. Un total de 38 échantillons de till ont été recueillis pour l'analyse des minéraux indicateurs. Les localisations d'échantillonnage inclus les coupes géologiques, des tranchées, des clairières et des tranchées de route.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 7388 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Paulen, R., Ames, D., Spirito, W., Adcock, S., Averill, S., Layton-Matthews, D., Budulan, G., Hicken, A., Parkhill, M., Matile, G. (2011). Indicator mineral signatures of base metal deposits: examples from TGI3 and GEM research. In Mineral Exploration Roundup 2011, presentations, p. 1-28. (détails)
2 McClenaghan, M.B., Ames, D.E. (2013). Indicator mineral abundance data for bedrock and till from the footwall-type Cu-Ni-PGE Broken Hammer occurrence, Sudbury, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7388, 12 p. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
46.6292° 46.8274° -81.4024° -80.9991°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une petite partie de 41I/14 (Venetian Lake) du SNRC, 6 km au nord de l’occurrence de Broken Hammer près de Sudbury, Ontario.  La zone d’étude est située à environ 3.5 km au sud-ouest de la ville de Sellwood et 36 km au nord de Sudbury.

  • Couvre une petite partie de 41I/14 (Venetian Lake) du SNRC près de l’occurrence de Broken Hammer dans le canton de Wisner, 30 km au nord de la ville de Sudbury.  La zone d’étude est située à environ 0.5 km à l’ouest de Blueberry Lake.

  • Couvre des parties de 41I/10 (Capreol; 1 échantillon), 41I/11 (Chelmsford) et /14 (Venetian Lake) du SNRC à environ 2 km au sud-ouest de l’occurrence de Broken Hill Occurrence près de Sudbury, Ontario.  La zone d'étude se trouve entre Frappier Lake et Towerman’s Lake à l’ouest et Blueberry Lake et Tank Lake à l’est.

  • Couvre une très petite partie de 41I/11 (Chelmsford; 1 échantillon) du SNRC dans la région de McCreedy West PM, près de Levack, Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 30 km au sud-ouest de l’occurrence de Broken Hammer et il se trouve entre les villes de Levack et Onaping.

Mots-clés


Date de modification