Survey Metadata

NGR stream, Indicator minerals

British Columbia

2005

Glacial sediment and NGR stream sediment and water survey, NTS 94A, B, G, H, I, K, N, O, P, NE British Columbia, 2005-2006.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



External Links

Index Link
1
BC Geological Survey Publications Catalogue ( LinkID=747 more)
Plouffe et al.’s paper in BC Geological Fieldwork 2005
2
BC Geological Survey Publications Catalogue ( LinkID=748 more)
McCurdy et al.’s paper in BC Geological Fieldwork 2006

Survey Description


In the summer of 2005, truck and helicopter-supported stream sediment and water sampling was carried out at 49 sites on the Etsho Plateau, northeastern British Columbia.  In the summer of 2006, 80 stream sites were sampled in three east-west transects located between Fort St. John and Fort Nelson, northeastern British Columbia.

At each site a 125 ml water sample and approximately 2 kg of silt and clay were collected from the active part of the stream channel.  At 36 of the sites sampled in 2005 and 79 of those sampled in 2006, a coarse sediment sample weighing 10-15 kg after wet-sieving was also collected for additional geochemical and mineralogical analysis.

The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 6311. This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

In the summer and fall of 2005, approximately 4 kg of till were collected at 140 sites in northeastern British Columbia.  Sample collection was carried out using trucks, all-terrain vehicles and a helicopter.  At 17 of these sites, bulk samples weighing approximately 25 kg were also collected for KIM analysis.  An additional 26 samples of primarily glaciofluvial sediment were also collected for KIM analysis.  A summary of the work can be found in BC Geological Fieldwork 2005 and 2006 (also includes selected data).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Plouffe, A., Smith, I.R., McCurdy, M.W., Friske, P.W.B., Ferbey, T., Bednarshi, J., Levson, V.M., Demchuk, T.E., Trommelen, M.S., Day, S., Hickin, A.S. (2006). Glacial and stream sediments sampling in support of kimberlite exploration in northeastern British Columbia. In Geological Field Work 2005. BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 2006-1 and Geoscience BC, Report 2006-1, p. 337-342. (more)
2 McCurdy, M.W., Smith, I.R., Plouffe, A., Bednarski, J., Day, S.J.A., Friske, P.W.B., McNeil, R.J., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Ferbey, T., Levson, V.M., Hickin, A.S., Trommelen, M., Demchuk, T.E. (2007). Indicator mineral content and geochemistry of stream and glacial sediments from the Etsho Plateau region (NTS 094I, P) as an aid to kimberlite and base metal exploration, northeastern BC. In Geological Field Work 2006. BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 2007-1 and Geoscience BC, Report 2007-1, p. 361-372. (more)
3 McCurdy, M.W., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Day, S.J.A., McNeil, R.J., Friske, P.W.B., Plouffe, A. (2009). Indicator mineral content and geochemistry of stream sediments and waters from northeast British Columbia (NTS 94A, 94B, 94G, 94H, 94I, 94K, 94N, 94O, 94P). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 6311. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2003-2009 Northwest Alberta and northeast British Columbia kimberlite exploration project, 2003-2006 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
56.25° 59.75° -124.31° -120°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 94I (Fontas River), N (Toad River), O (Maxhamish Lake) and P (Petitot River) in northeast British Columbia.  The Northern Alberta Uplands are located to the northeast and the Hyland Highland to the west.  Its centre is located approximately 50 km north of the community of Fort Nelson.

  • Covers part of NTS 94K (Tuchodi Lakes) in northeastern British Columbia.  It is located south of the Toad and Dunedin Rivers.  It encloses a single point.

  • Covers parts of NTS 94F (Ware), G (Trutch) and H (Beatton River) in northeastern British Columbia.  It is located south of the Muskwa Plateau.  Its centre is located approximately 140 km south of Fort Nelson.

  • Covers parts of NTS 94A (Charlie Lake), B (Halfway River) in northeastern British Columbia.  The town of Fort St. John is located within its boundary.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG ruisseau, Minéraux indicateurs

Colombie-Britannique

2005

Levé de sédiments glaciaires, de sédiments et d’eaux fluviatiles du RNG, 94A, B, G, H, I, K, N, O, P du SNRC, nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique, 2005-2006.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Liens externes

Index Lien
1
Catalogue des publications de la Commission géologique de la C.-B. ( LinkID=747 détails)
Rapport de Plouffe et al. dans BC Geological Fieldwork 2005
2
Catalogue des publications de la Commission géologique de la C.-B. ( LinkID=748 détails)
Rapport de McCurdy et al. dans BC Geological Fieldwork 2006

Description du levé


Durant l'été 2005, un échantillonnage de sédiments fluviatiles et d'eaux a été effectué en 49 sites, à l'aide d'un hélicoptère et d'un camion, dans la région d'Etsho Plateau, nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  Durant l'été 2006, 80 cours d'eau ont été échantillonnés, sur trois transects orientés est-ouest, entre Fort St. John et Fort Nelson, nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.

Pour chaque site, un échantillon d'eau de 125 ml et environ 2kg de silt et d'argile ont été recueillis dans le cours d'eau actif.  Sur 36 de ces sites échantillonnés en 2005 et 79 de ceux échantillonnés en 2006, un échantillon de sédiments grossiers pesant 10-15kg, après un tamisage de la détrempe, a aussi été recueilli  pour des analyses géochimiques et minéralogiques supplémentaires.

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 6311 de la Commission géologique du Canada.  Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme de la reconnaissance nationale géochimique (PRNG).

Durant l'été et l'automne 2005, environ 4kg de till ont été recueillis en 140 sites, dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  L'échantillonnage a été effectué à l'aide de camions, de véhicules tout-terrain et d'un hélicoptère.  Dans 17 de ces sites, des échantillons en vrac, pesant environ 25 kg, ont aussi été recueillis pour des analyses KIM.  De plus, 26 échantillons de sédiments primaires glaciofluviaux ont aussi été recueillis pour des analyses KIM.  Un sommaire du travail effectué est disponible dans BC Geological Fieldwork 2005 et 2006 (comprend également des données choisis).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Plouffe, A., Smith, I.R., McCurdy, M.W., Friske, P.W.B., Ferbey, T., Bednarshi, J., Levson, V.M., Demchuk, T.E., Trommelen, M.S., Day, S., Hickin, A.S. (2006). Glacial and stream sediments sampling in support of kimberlite exploration in northeastern British Columbia. In Geological Field Work 2005. BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 2006-1 and Geoscience BC, Report 2006-1, p. 337-342. (détails)
2 McCurdy, M.W., Smith, I.R., Plouffe, A., Bednarski, J., Day, S.J.A., Friske, P.W.B., McNeil, R.J., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Ferbey, T., Levson, V.M., Hickin, A.S., Trommelen, M., Demchuk, T.E. (2007). Indicator mineral content and geochemistry of stream and glacial sediments from the Etsho Plateau region (NTS 094I, P) as an aid to kimberlite and base metal exploration, northeastern BC. In Geological Field Work 2006. BC Ministry of Energy, Mines and Petroleum Resources, Paper 2007-1 and Geoscience BC, Report 2007-1, p. 361-372. (détails)
3 McCurdy, M.W., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Day, S.J.A., McNeil, R.J., Friske, P.W.B., Plouffe, A. (2009). Indicator mineral content and geochemistry of stream sediments and waters from northeast British Columbia (NTS 94A, 94B, 94G, 94H, 94I, 94K, 94N, 94O, 94P). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 6311. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2003-2009 Projet d'exploration de kimberlite, le nord-ouest de l’Alberta et le nort-est de la Colombie-Britannique, 2003-2006 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
56.25° 59.75° -124.31° -120°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 94I (Fontas River), N (Toad River), O (Maxhamish Lake) et P (Petitot River) du SNRC dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  Les Northern Alberta Uplands sont situés au nord-est et Hyland Highland à l'ouest.  Son centre est situé à environ 50 km au nord de la communauté de Fort Nelson.

  • Couvre des parties des 94F (Ware), G (Trutch) et H (Beatton River) du SNRC dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé au sud de Toad River et Denedin River.  Il renferme un seul point.

  • Couvre des parties des 94F (Ware), G (Trutch) et H (Beatton River) du SNRC dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé au sud de Muskwa Plateau.  Son centre est situé à environ 140 km au sud de Fort Nelson.

  • Couvre des parties des 94A (Charlie Lake), B (Halfway River) du SNRC dans le nord-est de la Colombie-Britannique.  La ville de Fort St. John est située dans ses limites.

Mots-clés


Date de modification