Survey Metadata

Well water

British Columbia

  

Groundwater sampling survey, NTS 92G/6, Bowen Island, British Columbia.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Twenty-six spatially representative groundwater samples (25 wells, 7 seeps) were collected from community and household wells in the Queen Charlotte Heights community on Bowen Island, British Columbia.  An additional 6 regional samples were also collected from household wells to obtain a representative background value for arsenic.  Important rock types in the study area were also sampled.  No sampling year was given.  The data are published in Environmental Geochemistry and Health, v. 20.

Sampling Procedure

Water samples were collected in 30 ml pre-washed linear polyethylene bottles and preserved in the field in two media, 0.4% HCl (for speciation work) and 0.4% HNO3 (for cation determination).  A third unacidified sample was also collected for anion analysis.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Boyle, D.R., Turner, R., Hall, G.E.M. (1998). Anomalous arsenic concentrations in groundwaters of an island community, Bowen Island, British Columbia. Environmental Geochemistry and Health, v.20 (4), p. 199-212. (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
NB OF 2005-10 ( FileID=633 download)
This zip file contains all of the files for the Open File.  The files were originally released on CD-ROM.
6630669

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49.35° 49.38° -123.34° -123.31°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 92G/6 (North Vancouver) near the community of Queen Charlotte Heights on the east coast of Bowen Island, British Columbia.  It is bounded to the east by Queen Charlotte Channel and to the north by Mannion Bay.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de puits

Colombie-Britannique

  

Levé d’échantillonnage d’eau souterraine, 92G/6 du SNRC, Bowen Island, Colombie-Britannique.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


On a prélevé 26 échantillons d’eaux souterraines représentatifs sur le plan spatial, à partir de 25 puits et de sept sites de suintement situés dans des terrains publics et privés, dans la collectivité de Queen Charlotte Heights, dans l’île Bowen, en Colombie-Britannique. Six autres échantillons ont été prélevés dans des puits privés pour obtenir une valeur représentative de la concentration naturelle d’arsenic. De plus, des échantillons d’importants types de roche ont été prélevés dans la zone d’étude. On ne sait toutefois pas en quelle année les échantillonnages ont été effectués. Les données recueillies ont été publiées dans le no 20 de la revue Environmental Geochemistry and Health.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les échantillons d’eau ont été prélevés avec des récipients en polyéthylène allongés et prélavés de 30 ml, et ils ont été conservés sur le terrain dans une solution à 0,4 % de HCl (analyse de la composition chimique) et une solution à 0,4 % de HNO3 (analyse des cations). Un troisième échantillon, celui-ci non acidifié, a été prélevé aux fins d’une analyse des anions.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Boyle, D.R., Turner, R., Hall, G.E.M. (1998). Anomalous arsenic concentrations in groundwaters of an island community, Bowen Island, British Columbia. Environmental Geochemistry and Health, v.20 (4), p. 199-212. (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Dossier public 2005-10 du Nouveau-Brunswick. ( FileID=633 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient tous les fichiers du dossier public.  Les fichiers ont été initialement émis sur CD-ROM.
6630669

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49.35° 49.38° -123.34° -123.31°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 92G/6 du SNRC (North Vancouver) près de la communauté de Queen Charlotte Heights sur la côte est de Bowen Island, Colombie-Britannique.  Délimité à l'est par Queen Charlotte Channel et au nord par Mannion Bay.

Mots-clés


Date de modification