Survey Metadata

Alluvial heavy minerals

Quebec

1989

Stream sediment sampling, NTS 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16, 21K/12, 13, Saint-Justine - Saint-Pamphile, Quebec, 1989





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1989, heavy mineral preconcentrates and stream sediments were collected at 310 sites in Quebec’s Eastern Townships (Estrie-Beauce) east of the Chaudière River.  The area sampled was 3225 km2 producing an average sample density of 1 sample per 10.4 km2.  Heavy mineral preconcentrates were extracted from stream sediments by running about 250 kg of stream gravels through a portable suction dredge.  The collection of stream sediments represents a departure from the normal practice employed previously in Estrie-Beauce of collecting and analyzing only heavy minerals.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2601.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Maurice, Y.T. (1993). Résultats et interprétation d'un levé géochimique des minéraux lourds et des sédiments alluvionnaires, région de Sainte-Justine - Saint-Pamphile [Beauce], Québec [SNRC 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16; 21K/12, 13]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2601. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1984-1994 Heavy Mineral Project, Gaspé region, Quebec 1984-1992 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Raw data from GSC Open File 2601 ( FileID=643 download)
The data from appendices C (heavy minerals) and G (stream sediments), stored in an MS Excel file.
144244

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
46° 47° -70.75° -69.67°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16 and 21K/12, 13, in the Sainte-Justine - Saint-Pamphile (Beauce) area, southern Quebec.  It is bordered to the southeast by the Quebec – Maine (U.S.A.) border.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Minéraux lourds alluviaux

Québec

1989

Échantillonnage de sédiments fluviatiles, 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16, 21K/12, 13 du SNRC, région de Sainte-Justine - Saint-Pamphile, Québec, 1989.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1989, des préconcentrés de minéraux lourds et des sédiments fluviatiles ont été recueillis en 310 sites dans la partie de l’Estrie-Beauce située à l’est de la rivière Chaudière, Québec. La superficie du  territoire échantillonné était de 3225 km2.  Une densité d’échantillonnage moyenne d’un échantillon par 10,4 km2  a été utilisée.  Des préconcentrés de minéraux lourds ont été extraits en traitant environ 250 kg d’alluvions au moyen d’une drague suceuse portative.  L'échantillonnage des sédiments fluviatiles est une nouveauté dans la pratique normale pour ces levés en Estrie-Beauce, lesquels ne comportent habituellement pas  l’échantillonnage des sédiments alluvionnaires.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 2601 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Maurice, Y.T. (1993). Résultats et interprétation d'un levé géochimique des minéraux lourds et des sédiments alluvionnaires, région de Sainte-Justine - Saint-Pamphile [Beauce], Québec [SNRC 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16; 21K/12, 13]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2601. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1984-1994 Projet des minéraux lourds, la région de la Gaspésie, Québec, 1984-1992 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Données brutes du dossier public 2601 de la CGC. ( FileID=643 télécharger)
Les données de l'annexe C (minéraux lourds) et de l’annexe G (sédiments de ruisseau), stockées dans un fichier MS Excel.
144244

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
46° 47° -70.75° -69.67°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 21L/1, 8, 9, 10, 16 et 21K/12, 13 du SNRC, dans la région Sainte-Justine - Saint-Pamphile (Beauce), dans le sud du Québec.  Il est bordé au sud par la frontière du Québec et de Maine (États-Unis).

Mots-clés


Date de modification