Survey Metadata

Alluvial heavy minerals

Quebec

1987

Stream sediment sampling, NTS 21N, 22C, Lower St. Lawrence region, Quebec, 1987.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1987, in the Lower St. Lawrence region, heavy mineral preconcentrates were extracted from stream sediments by running about 250 kg of stream gravels through a portable suction dredge.  A total of 728 samples were collected from as many sites from an area of approximately 8400 km2, resulting in an average density of one sample per 11.5 km2.  Sample sites were generally chosen near the intersections of roads and small streams.  Samples were collected several tens of metres upstream to avoid road contamination.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2036.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

Heavy mineral concentrates analysed by INAA for Au + 20 elements; by AAS following a HCl/HNO3 acid leach for Cu, Ni, Zn, Fe, Mn, Ag and Pb; by FA-AAS for Au; by XRF for Ti, Nb, Sn, Sr, Zr, Ba and Y; by colorimetry for As and W following nitric/perchloric acid decomposition and carbonate sintering respectively; by cold vapour AAS using a hydrochloric, nitric and sulphuric acid digestion with potassium permanganate for Hg; by gravimetric method for S.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour plots showing concentrations of elements in the heavy minerals.  Histograms of analytical results.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Maurice, Y.T. (1989). Résultats et interpretation d'un lévé géochimique des minèraux lourds, région du bas Saint-Laurent, Québec [SNRC 21N/6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16; 22C/1, 2, 3]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2036. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1984-1994 Heavy Mineral Project, Gaspé region, Quebec 1984-1992 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 2036 ( FileID=179 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 2036.  It appears that when the ZIP file was created, the data for Open File 1918 were also inadvertently included.
64659

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
47.25° 48.25° -69.5° -68°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 21N/6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15 and 16 and parts of 22C/1, 2, 3 in the Lower St. Lawrence region, Quebec.  It is bounded to the northwest by the St. Lawrence River and to the south and east by province of New Brunswick.  It is also bounded to the south by the state of Maine (U.S.A.).  

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Minéraux lourds alluviaux

Québec

1987

Échantillonnage de sédiments fluviatiles, 21N, 22C du SNRC, la région de Bas Saint-Laurent, Québec, 1987.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1987, dans la région du Bas Saint-Laurent, des préconcentrés de minéraux lourds ont été extraits de sédiments fluviatiles, en traitant environ 250 kg d’alluvions au moyen d’une drague suceuse portative. Au total, 728 échantillons sur autant de sites ont été recueillis sur une superficie approximative de 8400 km2, produisant une densité d’échantillonnage moyenne d’un échantillon par 11.5 km2. Les sites d’échantillonnage sont généralement choisis près des intersections des routes et des cours d’eau à faible débit.  Les échantillons sont prélevés à plusieurs dizaines de mètres en amont de l’intersection afin d’éviter la contamination associée à l’emplacement de la route.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 2036 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Concentrés de minéraux lourds analysés par INAA + 20 éléments; par AAS après une lixiviation acide HCl/HNO3 pour Cu, Ni, Zn, Fe, Mn, Ag et Pb; par FA-AAS pour Au; par XRF pour Ti, Nb, Sn, Sr, Zr, Ba et Y; par colorimétrie pour As et W après décomposition de l'acide nitrique/perchlorique et le frittage du carbonate respectivement; par vapeur froide AAS en utilisant un acide chlorhydrique, l'acide nitrique et la digestion sulfurique avec du permanganate de potassium pour Hg; par la méthode gravimétrique pour S.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec isoplèthes montrant les concentrations des éléments dans les minéraux lourds.  Histogrammes des résultats analytiques.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Maurice, Y.T. (1989). Résultats et interpretation d'un lévé géochimique des minèraux lourds, région du bas Saint-Laurent, Québec [SNRC 21N/6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15, 16; 22C/1, 2, 3]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2036. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1984-1994 Projet des minéraux lourds, la région de la Gaspésie, Québec, 1984-1992 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 2036 de la CGC. ( FileID=179 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 2036 de la CGC.  Il semble que lorsque on a créé le fichier ZIP, les données du dossier public 1918 ont également été inclus par inadvertance.
64659

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
47.25° 48.25° -69.5° -68°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 21N/6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 14, 15 et 16 et des parties des 22C/1, 2, 3 du SNRC dans la région Lower St. Lawrence,au Québec.  Délimité au nord-ouest par le fleuve Saint-Laurent et au sud et à l'est par la province du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Délimité aussi au sud par l'état de Maine (États-Unis).

Mots-clés


Date de modification