Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

Northwest Territories

1981

Soil and till sampling, NTS 77, 78, 87, 88, Victoria Island, Northwest Territories, 1981-1982.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1981 and 1982, Quaternary geological mapping and geochemical sampling were carried out on western Victoria Island, Northwest Territories between 110° and 114°W longitude.  The principal investigator for this area was D. Hodgson.  Till samples were collected from shallow pits (20-30 cm deep), avoiding obvious organics and oxidation.  Deeper pits were dug at selected sites where soils were described and detailed profile sampling was carried out to determine the effect of soil process on the till.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Paper 88-15.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of till for Cu, Pb, Zn, Co, Ni, Ag, Cr, Mo, Mn, Fe, Cd by AAS after hot nitric and hydrochloric acid digestion.  U by fluorometry after nitric acid leach.  As by colourimetric methods after nitric perchloric acid leach.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour maps showing distribution of elements in till.

Other Analyses:

Colour and granulometry tests; <0.063 mm fraction of till for total carbon and organic carbon using an electric induction furnace-combustion gas carbon analyser (LECO) and acid digestion techniques.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Nixon, F.M. (1988). Till sampling program and presentation of physical and geochemical data from western Victoria Island, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 88-15, 35p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1981-1992 Victoria Island, Nunavut and Northwest Territories, soil and till sampling survey, 1981-1983 and 1987 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
70.27° 73.25° -114° -110°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 77F, G, 78B, C, 87E, H and 88A, western Victoria Island, Northwest Territories.  It is bounded to the west by 114°W longitude and to the east by 110°W longitude.  It is bounded to the north by Viscount Melville Sound and to the south by Prince Albert Sound and Kagloryuak River.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

1981

Échantillonnage du sol et du till, 77, 88, 87, 88 du SNRC, Victoria Island, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1981-1982.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1981 et en 1982, des travaux de cartographie géologique et d’échantillonnage géochimique de matériaux quaternaires ont été effectués dans l’ouest de Victoria Island, aux territoires du Nord-Ouest, entre 110 et 114 degrés de longitude ouest, principalement sous la supervision de D. Hodgson.  Des échantillons de till ont été prélevés dans des fosses peu profondes (profondeur allant de 20 à 30 cm), en évitant de recueillir la matière organique et les matériaux oxydés évidents.  Des fosses plus profondes ont été creusées sur certains sites dont le sol avait déjà été sujet à analyse, et des échantillonnages de profil détaillés ont été effectués afin de connaître l’effet des processus pédologiques sur le till.  Les données recueillies ont été publiées dans le document no 88-15 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till, dosage du Cu, Pb, Zn, Co, Ni, Ag, Cr, Mo, Mn, Fe, Cd par AAS après digestion dans les acides nitriques et chlorhydriques chauds.  Dosage du U par fluorométrie après une digestion dans l’acide nitrique.  Dosage de l'As par colorimétrie après digestion dans l’acide nitrique perchlorique.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec isoplèthes montrant la distribution des éléments dans le till.

Autres analyses:

Tests de couleur et de la granulométrie, la fraction <0.063 mm du till de carbone total et le carbone organique en utilisant un four électrique à induction à combustion analyseur de carbone gazeux (LECO) et les techniques de digestion acide.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Nixon, F.M. (1988). Till sampling program and presentation of physical and geochemical data from western Victoria Island, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 88-15, 35p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1981-1992 Levé d’échantillonnage du till, de Victoria Island, Nunavut et Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1981-1983 et 1987 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
70.27° 73.25° -114° -110°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 77F, G, 78B, C, 87E, H et 88A du SNRC, dans l'ouest de Victoria Island, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.  Délimité à l'ouest par la longitude 114°O et à l'est par la longitude 110°O.  Délimité au nord par Viscount Melville Sound et au sud par Prince Albert Sound et Kagloryuak River.

Mots-clés


Date de modification