Survey Metadata

Till

Yukon

2001

Till sampling, NTS 105G, L, 115I, southern Yukon, 2001-2002.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Till sampling was conducted during the 2001 and 2002 field seasons in two regions in southern Yukon: Finlayson Lake (2001) and Glenlyon - east Carmacks (2002).  Till sampling was focused in high mineral potential areas located on plateaus overlain by a till veneer or till blanket.  Traverse lines were oriented perpendicular to ice-flow direction.  Sample spacing along traverse lines averaged 1 km.  Detailed sampling (sample spacing 50-250 m) was completed at the Kudz Ze Kayah massive sulphide deposit in the Finlayson Lake map area and at the Clear Lake SEDEX deposit in the Glenlyon map area.  Samples were collected in hand-dug pits in unweathered till at an average depth of 60 cm and consisted of 2.5 kg of bulk till and a separate bag of 50 pebbles.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 4479/Yukon Geological Survey Open File 2003-10(D).

Data Description:

Digital.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm and <0.002 mm fractions analyzed by ICP-MS following HCL:HNO3-H2O digestion; <0.063 mm fraction for Be by ICP-MS following a lithium metaborate (LiBO2) fusion.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Bond, J.D., Plouffe, A. (2002). Finlayson Lake Geoscience Initiative (southeastern Yukon), Part 2: Quaternary geology and till geochemistry. In Yukon Exploration and Geology 2011, D.S. Emond, L.H. Weston, L.L. Lewis (eds). Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, p. 209-228. (more)
2 Plouffe, A., Bond, J.D. (2003). Till geochemistry of the Finlayson Lake (105G), Glenlyon (105L) and east Carmacks (115I) map areas, Yukon Territory. Geological Survey of Canada, Open file 4479/Yukon Geological Survey Open File, 2003-10(D), 1 CD-ROM. (more)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Peter, J.M. (2013). Till geochemical signatures of volcanogenic massive sulphide deposits in glaciated terrain: a summary of Canadian examples. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7354, 36 p. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2001-2003 Southern Yukon till sampling, 2001-2002 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copy of CD-ROM for GSC Open File 4479 ( FileID=638 download)
This archive contains all of the files that are on the CD.
22373205

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
61° 63° -136.33° -130°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 105G (Finlayson Lake) map area, southeast Yukon.

  • Covers NTS 105L (Glenlyon) and the easternmost portion of 115I (Carmacks) north of the Yukon River in south central Yukon.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Yukon

2001

Échantillonnage du till, 105G et L et 115I du SNRC, sud du Yukon, 2001-2002.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les campagnes sur le terrain de 2000 et 2001, un échantillonnage du till a été effectué dans deux régions du sud du Yukon: celles des cartes Finlayson Lake (2001) et Carmacks (est) Glenlyon (2002). L’échantillonnage du till a été effectué dans les régions présentant un potentiel minier élevé, sur les plateaux recouverts d’un mince placage ou d’une mince couverture de till. Les lignes de cheminement étaient orientées perpendiculairement à la direction de l’écoulement de la glace. Des échantillons ont été prélevés à des intervalles de 1 km le long des lignes. Un échantillonnage détaillé (échantillons espacés de 50 à 250 m) a été réalisé au gisement de sulfures massifs de Kudz Ze Kayah, dans la région de la carte Finlayson Lake ainsi qu’au gisement SEDEX de Clear Lake, dans la région de la carte Glenlyon. Les échantillons ont été recueillis dans des fosses creusées à la main, dans le till inaltéré à une profondeur moyenne d’environ 60 cm et se composaient de 2,5 kg de till en vrac, et d'un sac de 50 cailloux.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 4479 de la Commission géologique du Canada et le dossier public 2003-10(D) du Yukon Geological Survey.

Description de données:

Numérique.

Quantités analysées:

Dans les fractions <0,063 mm et <0,002 mm, dosages par ICP-MS après digestion dans HCL/HNO3-H2O; dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage du Be par ICP-MS après fusion au métaborate de lithium (LiBO2).

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Bond, J.D., Plouffe, A. (2002). Finlayson Lake Geoscience Initiative (southeastern Yukon), Part 2: Quaternary geology and till geochemistry. In Yukon Exploration and Geology 2011, D.S. Emond, L.H. Weston, L.L. Lewis (eds). Indian and Northern Affairs Canada, p. 209-228. (détails)
2 Plouffe, A., Bond, J.D. (2003). Till geochemistry of the Finlayson Lake (105G), Glenlyon (105L) and east Carmacks (115I) map areas, Yukon Territory. Geological Survey of Canada, Open file 4479/Yukon Geological Survey Open File, 2003-10(D), 1 CD-ROM. (détails)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Peter, J.M. (2013). Till geochemical signatures of volcanogenic massive sulphide deposits in glaciated terrain: a summary of Canadian examples. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7354, 36 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2001-2003 Échantillonnage du till dans le sud du Yukon, 2001 et 2002 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copie du CD-ROM du dossier public 4479 de la CGC. ( FileID=638 télécharger)
Cette archive contient tous les fichiers qui se trouvent sur le CD-ROM.
22373205

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
61° 63° -136.33° -130°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 105G du SNRC (Finlayson Lake) dans le sud-est du Yukon.

  • Couvre 105L du SNRC (Glenlyon) et la partie plus à l'est de 115I (Carmacks) au nord du Yukon River dans le centre-sud du Yukon.

Mots-clés


Date de modification