Survey Metadata

Till, Vegetation

Ontario

1978

Biogeochemical and till sampling, NTS 31F/1, Hopetown, Ontario, 1978-1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Leaves of black spruce, balsam fir, juniper, sugar maple, aspen, grasses and their till substrate were sampled at approximately 80 sites near Hopetown, Ontario in 1978, 1979 and 1980.  Sampling was conducted over 0.25 km2 on a grid positioned to include zinc-rich bedrock and its associated dispersal train.  The grid consisted of traverses at about 50 m intervals across the area.  Samples of C-horizon of the soil profile developed on till were collected at about 20 m intervals along the traverses.  At each site, a sample weighing approximately 2 kg was collected from the bottom of a pit (40-70 cm in depth).  Strongly oxidized B-horizon was avoided.  Vegetation samples were taken in conjunction with the till samples.  A description of the study can be found in Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v.19.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of till analyzed by AAS after an HNO3-HCl digestion for Cd and Zn; Hg by CV-AAS after digestion in an HNO3-KMnO4 solution.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour plots of Zn, Cd, Hg in till; plots showing Zn values in vegetation and areas where Zn is > 500 ppm in till.

Other Analyses:

Vegetation samples ashed at 450o C and analyzed by AAS for Zn, Cd, and Hg after HNO3-HCl digestion.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 DiLabio, R.N.W., Rencz, A.N., Egginton, P.A. (1982). Biogeochemical expression of a classic dispersal train of metalliferous till near Hopetown, Ontario. Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 19, p. 2297-2305. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1978-1982 Hopetown, Ontario vegetation and till survey, 1978-1980 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.1187° 45.1261° -76.4763° -76.4665°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 31F/1 (Carleton Place), near Hopetown, Ontario.  It is located approximately 200 m north of the Clyde River.  Highway 391 runs east-west through the study area.  It is bounded to the southwest by Wapisu Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Végétation

Ontario

1978

Échantillonnage biogéochimique et du till, 31F/1 du SNRC, Hopetown, Ontario, 1978 à 1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1978,1979 et 1980, les aiguilles d’épinette noire, de sapin baumier et de genévrier, les feuilles d’érable à sucre, de tremble et d’herbes, ainsi que leur substrat de till, ont été échantillonnés dans environ  80 sites, près de Hopetown (Ontario).  L’échantillonnage a été effectué suivant un quadrillage de 0,25 km2 situé de façon à inclure le substratum rocheux riche en zinc et son centre de dispersion associé.  Le quadrillage était constitué de parcours espacés d’environ 50 m dans l’ensemble de la région.  Des échantillons de l’horizon C, du profil pédologique qui s’est formé sur le till, ont été recueillis à des intervalles d’environ 20 m le long des parcours.  En chaque site, un échantillon pesant environ  2 kg était prélevé au fond d’une fosse (40 à 70 cm de profondeur).  On évitait d’inclure l’horizon B très oxydé.  Des échantillons de la végétation ont été prélevés en même temps que les échantillons de till.  On peut trouver une description de l’étude dans Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, vol. 19.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till, dosage du Cd et du Zn par AAS après digestion dans HNO3-HCl; dosage du Hg par CV-AAS après digestion dans une solution de HNO3-KMnO4.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec isoplèthes pour Zn, Cd, Hg dans le till; traces montrant les concentrations de Zn dans la végétation et les zones où la concentration de Zn > 500 ppm dans le till.

Autres analyses:

Dans les échantillons de végétation, dosage du Zn et du Cd par AAS après calcination à 450o<sup/>C et dosage du Hg après digestion dans HNO3-HCl.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 DiLabio, R.N.W., Rencz, A.N., Egginton, P.A. (1982). Biogeochemical expression of a classic dispersal train of metalliferous till near Hopetown, Ontario. Canadian Journal of Earth Sciences, v. 19, p. 2297-2305. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1978-1982 Levé phytogéochimique et d’échantillonnage du till à Hopetown, Ontario, 1978 à 1980 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.1187° 45.1261° -76.4763° -76.4665°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 31F/1 du SNRC (Carleton Place), près de Hopetown, Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 200 m au nord de Clyde River.  L'autoroute 391 s'étend de l'est à l'ouest à travers la région d'étude.  Délimité au sud-ouest par Wapisu Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification