Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

British Columbia

1997

Soil and till sampling, NTS 93K, N, central British Columbia, 1997-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1997, 1998 and 1999, soil, till and non-vascular plants (moss and epiphytic lichen) were collected at 65 sites controlled by road access near two past-producing mercury (Hg) mines in central British Columbia.  Two transects, one at Pinchi Lake mine and the other at Bralorne Takla mine are oriented east-west parallel to ice flow direction.  A third transect extends from SE of Pinchi Lake mine to just NW of Bralorne Takla mine and is parallel to Pinchi Fault.  Sample sites were selected at 100 m from roads in open forest to avoid potential dust contamination.  At each site three samples were collected, including humus (0-10 cm), B horizon (15-20 cm) and C-horizon (unweathered glacial sediment; 80-100 cm).  C horizon samples were collected preferentially in till.  Moss and lichen samples were collected at some sites.  The study is published in GEEA, v.4.

Data Description:

Paper report, no data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<2mm fraction separated and crushed and analyzed following a sequential leaching procedure by ICP-MS or CV-AAS.

Geochem Maps Available:

Transect diagrams showing spatial variation of Hg and Sb concentrations.

Other Analyses:

Lichens and mosses analyzed for Hg using the Milestone and INAA.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Plouffe, A. (1998). Detrital transport of metals by glaciers, an example from the Pinchi Mine site, central British Columbia. Environmental Geology, v.33, p.183-196. (more)
2 Rasmussen, P.E. (1998). Long-range atmospheric transport of trace metals: the need for geoscience perspectives. Environmental Geology, v.33, p.96-108. (more)
3 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Plouffe, A., Knight, R.D. (2002). Comparison of Cu-Hg-Ni-Pb concentrations in soils adjacent to anthropogenic point sources: examples from four Canadian sites. Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v.2 p.57-73. (more)
4 Plouffe, A., Rasmussen, P., Hall, G. E. M., Pelchat, P. (2004). Mercury and antimony in soils and non-vascular plants near two past producing mercury mines, British Columbia, Canada. Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v. 4, p. 353-364. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1997-2004 Central British Columbia mercury study, 1997-1999 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.375° 55.875° -125.5° -124°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 93K (Fort Fraser) and 93N (Manson River) in central British Columbia.  The Pinchi Lake Mine is located in the southeast corner of the study area and the Bralorne Takla Mine in the northwest corner.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Colombie-Britannique

1997

Échantillonnage du sol et du till, 93K et N du SNRC, centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1997 à 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1997, 1998 et 1999, des échantillons d’humus, de sol, de till et des plantes non-vasculaire (mousses et lichens épiphytes) ont été recueillis en 65 sites déterminés par l’accès routier à proximité de deux anciennes productrices mines de mercure (Hg),dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique. Deux transects, l’un à la mine Pinchi Lake et l’autre à la mine Bralorne Takla sont orientés est-ouest parallèlement à la direction de l’écoulement glaciaire.  Un troisième transect s’étend depuis le S.-E. de la mine Pinchi Lake jusqu’au N.-O. de la mine Bralorne Takla et est orienté parallèlement à la faille de Pinchi.  Les sites d’échantillonnage choisis étaient situés à 100 m des routes dans une forêt peu boisée, afin d’éviter une contamination éventuelle par la poussière.  En chacun des sites, trois échantillons ont été recueillis, notamment des échantillons d’humus (0 à 10 cm), de l’horizon B (15 à 20 cm) et de l’horizon C (sédiments glaciaires inaltérés; 80 à 100 cm).  De préférence, les échantillons de l’horizon C ont été recueillis dans le till.  Échantillons de mousse et de lichens ont été recueillis sur certains sites.  L’étude est publiée dans GEEA, vol. 4.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, aucune liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <2mm séparée et broyée, dosage par ICP-MS ou CV-AAS après une procédure de lixiviation séquentielle.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Diagrammes de transects montrant la variation spatiale des concentrations de Hg et de Sb.

Autres analyses:

Dosage du Hg par à l’analyseur Milestone et par INAA dans les lichens et les mousses.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Plouffe, A. (1998). Detrital transport of metals by glaciers, an example from the Pinchi Mine site, central British Columbia. Environmental Geology, v.33, p.183-196. (détails)
2 Rasmussen, P.E. (1998). Long-range atmospheric transport of trace metals: the need for geoscience perspectives. Environmental Geology, v.33, p.96-108. (détails)
3 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Plouffe, A., Knight, R.D. (2002). Comparison of Cu-Hg-Ni-Pb concentrations in soils adjacent to anthropogenic point sources: examples from four Canadian sites. Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v.2 p.57-73. (détails)
4 Plouffe, A., Rasmussen, P., Hall, G. E. M., Pelchat, P. (2004). Mercury and antimony in soils and non-vascular plants near two past producing mercury mines, British Columbia, Canada. Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v. 4, p. 353-364. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1997-2004 Étude du mercure dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1997 à 1999 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.375° 55.875° -125.5° -124°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 93K du SNRC (Fort Fraser) et 93N (Manson River) dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Pinchi Lake Mine est situé dans le coin sud-est de la région d'étude et Bralorne Takla Mine dans le coin nord-ouest.

Mots-clés


Date de modification