Survey Metadata

Till

Nunavut

1986

Till sampling, NTS 46B, E, F, G, L and 56G, H, I, J, Wager Bay and Southampton Island areas, central Nunavut, 1986.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1986, till sampling was carried out in a 50 km wide zone surrounding Wager Bay, Nunavut, as well as the northern part of Southampton Island.  The overburden was sampled from 132 sorted circles (frost boils) and 2 deltas.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2351.

Data Description:

Paper report with data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of till analyzed for 30 elements by a combination of AAS, INAA and XRF.  F by specific ion electrode; Hg by cold vapour AAS.  Selected samples analyzed for platinum group elements and carbon content.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Other Analyses:

Selected samples for grain size, heavy minerals and pebble lithology.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Jefferson, C.W., Smith, J.E.M., Hamilton, S.M. (1991). Preliminary account of the resource assessment study of proposed national park, Wager Bay-Southampton Island areas, District of Keewatin. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2351, 47p. (more)
2 Dredge, L.A., McMartin, I., Ford, K. (2005). Till geochemistry, gamma ray spectrometry, and gold grain counts, Wager Bay area, mainland Nunavut (NTS 56G). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5014, paper and CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1985-1991 Wager Bay MERA, Nunavut, 1985-86. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
64.8° 66.3° -92° -83.25°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 46E, L and 56G, H, I, J, the Wager Bay area, central Nunavut.  It is bounded to the east by Roes Welcome Sound.  

  • Covers parts of NTS 46F/1, 46G/3, 4 and 46B/13, on the northeast part of Southampton Island, Nunavut.  The island is located just north of Hudson Bay and the study area is bounded to the north by Frozen Strait.

  • Covers parts of NTS 46F/10, 11, 14, 15 on the southwest coast of White Island, Nunavut.  It is bounded to the south and west by Comer Strait.  White Island is located north of Southampton Island.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Nunavut

1986

Échantillonnage du till, 46B, E, F, G, L et 56G, H, I, J du SNRC, régions de Wager Bay et de l’île Southampton, centre du Nunavut, 1986.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1986, un échantillonnage du till a été effectué dans une zone de 50 km de largeur entourant Wager Bay, au Nunavut, de même que la partie nord de l’île Southampton.  L’échantillonnage des morts-terrains a été effectué dans 132 cercles de pierres (ostioles de boue) et deux deltas.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 2351 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé avec liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till, dosage de 30 éléments par une combinaison de méthodes: AAS, INAA et XRF. Dosage du F par électrode spécifique; dosage du Hg par AAS à vapeur froide. Dans des échantillons choisis, dosage d’éléments du groupe du platine et du carbone.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Autres analyses:

Analyse granulométriques et lithologie des minéraux lourds et des cailloux pour des échantillons choisis.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Jefferson, C.W., Smith, J.E.M., Hamilton, S.M. (1991). Preliminary account of the resource assessment study of proposed national park, Wager Bay-Southampton Island areas, District of Keewatin. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2351, 47p. (détails)
2 Dredge, L.A., McMartin, I., Ford, K. (2005). Till geochemistry, gamma ray spectrometry, and gold grain counts, Wager Bay area, mainland Nunavut (NTS 56G). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5014, paper and CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1985-1991 ERME de la baie Wager, Nunavut, 1985-1986 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
64.8° 66.3° -92° -83.25°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 46E, L et 56G, H, I, J du SNRC, la région de Water Bay, dans la partie centrale du Nunavut.  Il est délimité à l'est par Roes Welcome Sound.

  • Couvre des parties des 46F/1, 46G/3, 4 et 46B/13 du SNRC, sur la partie nord-est de Southampton Island, Nunavut.  L'île est située juste au nord de la baie d'Hudson et la région d'étude est délimitée au nord par Frozen Strait.

  • Couvre des parties des 46F/10, 11, 14, 15 du SNRC sur la côte sud-ouest de White Island, Nunavut.  Délimité au sud et à l'ouest par Comer Strait.  White Island est situé au nord de Southampton Island.

Mots-clés


Date de modification