Survey Metadata

Till, Esker, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

1998

Till sampling survey, NTS 55M/7, 10, MacQuoid Lake area, Nunavut, 1998-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In the summers of 1998 and 1999, a total of 63 samples of till and glaciomarine sand were collected in the MacQuoid Lake area, Nunavut.  The sample density was 1 sample/4-5 km2.  Three soil profiles were also sampled in mudboils at sites representative of different sediment types.  Sand and gravel samples were also collected at 15 sites from reworked esker deposits.  An additional 9 samples were collected outside the study area but within NTS 55M.  Six were collected as part of NW-SE transects and the other three were collected in the Falcon zone of gold mineralization.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3944.

The kimberlite indicator mineral data are published in Geological Survey of Canada 1575.

Data Description:

Paper report + diskette.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction and <0.002 mm fraction by ICP-AES after nitric-aqua regia digestion and for LOI. <0.002 mm fraction for Hg by cold-vapour AAS after nitric-aqua regia digestion; <0.063 mm fraction by FA-AFS for Au, Pt, and Pd.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing distribution of elements in size fractions of till.  Soil profiles.

Other Analyses:

Complete grain size by sieving and particle size analyzer; pebble counts (4-8 mm fraction).  HMC for visible gold grain counts. (GSC OF 3944).  >0.025 mm of non-ferromagnetic HMC examined for KIMs (GSC OF 1575).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Henderson, P.J. (2000). Drift composition and surficial geology, MacQuoid Lake area, (NTS 55 M/ 7 and 55 M/ 10), Kivalliq region, Nunavut; a guide to drift prospecting. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3944, 189 p. (more)
2 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Kjarsgaard, B.K., Venance, K. (2003). Regional distribution and chemistry of kimberlite indicator minerals, Rankin Inlet and MacQuoid Lake areas, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1575, 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1997-2000 Western Churchill NAPMAP, Quaternary component, Kivalliq Region, Nunavut, 1997-1999 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
63.25° 63.75° -95° -94.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 55M/7, 10 in the MacQuoid Lake area, Kivalliq region, Nunavut.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Esker, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

1998

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 55M/7 et 10 du SNRC, région de MacQuoid Lake, Nunavut, 1998-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les étés de 1998 et 1999, un total de 63 échantillons de till et de sable glaciomarinea été recueilli dans la région de MacQuoid Lake, au Nunavut. La densité d’échantillonnage était de 1 échantillon par 4 à 5 km2. Trois profils de sol ont également été échantillonnés dans des ostioles, en des sites représentatifs de différents types de sédiments. Des échantillons de sable et de gravier ont aussi été recueillis en 15 sites dans des eskers remaniés. Neuf échantillons supplémentaires ont été recueillis à l’extérieur de la zone à l’étude, mais à l’intérieur de la région de la carte 55M du SNRC. Six échantillons ont été recueillis le long de transects orientés N.-O.–S.-O. et les trois autres ont été recueillis dans la zone minéralisée en or de Falcon. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 3944 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Les données des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite sont publiées dans le dossier public 1575 de la CGC.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé + disquette.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm et dans la fraction <0,002 mm par ICP-AES après digestion dans l’acide nitrique et l’eau régale et détermination de la perte par calcination. Dans la fraction <0,002 mm dosage du Hg par AAS à vapeur froide après digestion dans l’acide nitrique et l’eau régale; dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage du Au, du Pt et du Pd par FA-AFS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution des éléments dans les fractions granulométriques du till. Profils pédologiques.

Autres analyses:

Analyse granulométriques complète par tamisage et à l’appareil de mesure de la granulométrie; dénombrements de cailloux (dans la fraction (4 à 8 mm). CML pour des dénombrements des grains d’or visibles. Examen de la fraction >0,025 mm de CML non ferromagnétiques à la recherche de KIM.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Henderson, P.J. (2000). Drift composition and surficial geology, MacQuoid Lake area, (NTS 55 M/ 7 and 55 M/ 10), Kivalliq region, Nunavut; a guide to drift prospecting. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3944, 189 p. (détails)
2 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Kjarsgaard, B.K., Venance, K. (2003). Regional distribution and chemistry of kimberlite indicator minerals, Rankin Inlet and MacQuoid Lake areas, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1575, 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1997-2000 Projet NATMAP de l’ouest de la Province de Churchill, volet du Quaternaire, région du Kivalliq, Nunavut, 1997 à 1999 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
63.25° 63.75° -95° -94.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 55M/7, 10 du SNRC dans la zone MacQuoid Lake, région Kivalliq, Nunavut.

Mots-clés


Date de modification