Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Indicator minerals

Nunavut

1997

Till sampling, NTS 55J, K, N, Rankin Inlet area, Nunavut, 1997-1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summers of 1997-1999, surficial mapping and till sampling were carried out across the Meliadine Trend in the Rankin Inlet area, Kivalliq Region, Nunavut.  Over 200 surface glacial sediment samples (3 kg), mainly till, were collected from active mudboils at an average spacing of 4 km and an average depth of 30 cm.  In the vicinity of selected gold occurrences, 80 more till samples were collected.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3747.

The kimberlite indicator mineral data are published in Geological Survey of Canada 1575.

Data Description:

Paper report + CD.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of till by ICP-AES after aqua regia digestion for 33 elements; Hg also by CV-AAS.  <0.063 mm fraction of till and esker sediments by INAA for 38 elements and by ICP-AES after aqua regia digestion (HCl:HNO3, 3:1) for 34 elements; Hg also analysed by CV-AAS; <0.063 mm fraction of till by FA-ICP-AFS for Au, Pt, Pd.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing distribution of elements in various size fractions of till.

Other Analyses:

Pebble counts (4-8 mm fraction); grain size (<2.00 mm) by sieving and particle size analyzer.  On selected samples - Agterberg limits, moisture contents, conductivity; pH measurements; loss-on-ignition (<0.063 mm); organic carbon by LECO Carbon (<0.063 mm), carbonate (<0.063 mm fraction by Chittick).  HMC for visible gold counts and for geochemical analysis of the non-ferromagnetic concentrate on the <0.063 mm, 0.63-0.250, 0.250-2.00 mm fractions by ICP-AES and for Hg by CV-AAS, after aqua regia digestions for both fractions.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I. (2000). Till composition across the Meliadine Trend, Rankin Inlet area, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3747, 330 p. + CD ROM. (more)
2 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Kjarsgaard, B.K., Venance, K. (2003). Regional distribution and chemistry of kimberlite indicator minerals, Rankin Inlet and MacQuoid Lake areas, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1575, 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1997-2000 Western Churchill NAPMAP, Quaternary component, Kivalliq Region, Nunavut, 1997-1999 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
62.75° 63.25° -93° -91°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 55J/13, 14, 55K/16, 55N/1, 2 in the Rankin Inlet area, Nunavut.  It is bounded to the south by Hudson Bay.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Minéraux indicateurs

Nunavut

1997

Échantillonnage du till, 55J, K et N du SNRC, région de Rankin Inlet, Nunavut, 1997 à 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les étés de 1997 à 1999, la cartographie des dépôts meubles et un échantillonnage du till ont été effectués dans la région de Rankin Inlet sur le linéament de Meliadine, dans la région de Kivalliq, au Nunavut. Plus de 200 échantillons de sédiments glaciaires de surface (3 kg), principalement du till, ont été recueillis dans des ostioles actives à un intervalle moyen de 4 km et à une profondeur moyenne de 30 cm. Aux environs d’occurrences d’or choisies, 80 autres échantillons de till ont été recueillis. Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 3747 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Les données des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite sont publiées dans le dossier public 1575 de la CGC.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé + CD.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm du till dosage de 33 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion dans l’eau régale; dosage du Hg également par CV-AAS. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till et de sédiments d’eskers, dosage de 38 éléments par INAA et de 34 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion dans l’eau régale (HCl, HNO3, 3/1); également dosage du Hg par CV-AAS; dans la fraction <0,063 mm du till, dosage du Au, du Pt et du Pd par FA-ICP-AFS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution des éléments dans diverses fractions granulométriques du till.

Autres analyses:

Dénombrements de cailloux (fraction 4 à 8 mm); granulométrie (<2,00 mm) par tamisage et appareil de mesure de la granulométrie. Pour des échantillons choisis, - limites d’Agterberg, teneur en humidité, conductivité; pH; détermination de la perte par calcination (<0,063 mm); carbone organique en four LECO (<0,063 mm), carbonate (<0,063 mm par la méthode de Chittick). CML pour dénombrements des grains d’or visibles, et analyse géochimique par ICP-AES du concentré non ferromagnétique dans les fractions <0,063 mm, 0,63 à 0,250 mm, 0,250 à 2,00 mm et dosage du Hg par CV-AAS, après digestion des deux fractions dans l’eau régale.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McMartin, I. (2000). Till composition across the Meliadine Trend, Rankin Inlet area, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3747, 330 p. + CD ROM. (détails)
2 McMartin, I., Henderson, P.J., Kjarsgaard, B.K., Venance, K. (2003). Regional distribution and chemistry of kimberlite indicator minerals, Rankin Inlet and MacQuoid Lake areas, Kivalliq region, Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 1575, 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1997-2000 Projet NATMAP de l’ouest de la Province de Churchill, volet du Quaternaire, région du Kivalliq, Nunavut, 1997 à 1999 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
62.75° 63.25° -93° -91°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 55J/13, 14, 55K/16, 55N/1, 2 du SNRC dans la région Rankin Inlet, Nunavut.  Délimité au sud par la baie d'Hudson.

Mots-clés


Date de modification