Survey Metadata

Till, Vegetation, Surface water, Lake sediment

Ontario

1984

Multi-media survey, NTS 31L/1, Algonquin Park area, Ontario, 1984.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summer of 1984, ground investigations were initiated over the Allan Lake carbonatite, Algonquin Park, Ontario.  Samples of the till overlying the carbonatite were collected along 3 transects.  The till samples were taken from the C horizon of the soil profile developed on the till wherever possible, although a few samples came from the lower part of the B horizon.  A series of five soil/overburden test pits were also excavated to study vertical variations in till geochemistry, lithology and soil characteristics.  Leaf tissue of the dominant species, sugar maple, was also collected along two of the till transects.  Lake sediments and waters were collected from the lake overlying the carbonatite.  In addition, samples were taken from two additional lakes considered representative of background.  The study is published in Journal of Geochemical Exploration v.30.

Data Description:

Paper report, no data lists, but some element ranges given.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of till analyzed for Cu, Pb, Zn, Mo, Co, Ni, Cr, Mn, and Fe by AAS after hot HNO3-HCl leach; U by fluorometry after a HNO3 leach.  <0.063 mm fraction of till analyzed for Ba, Ni, Th, Zn, Y, Ce, La, P and S by XRF.

Ashed leaf tissue analysed for Ba, P, Sr, Co, Cu by ICP-ES.

Lake sediments analysed for Zn, Cu, Pb, Ni, Co and Ba by AAS; LOI; Sr, Ce, La, Th and U by INAA; Yb, Cr, V by ICP-ES; major and minor oxides by ICP- ES.

Geochem Maps Available:

Profiles of element concentrations in till.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Ford, K.L., DiLabio, R.N.W., Rencz, A.N. (1988). Geological, geophysical and geochemical studies around the Allan Lake carbonatite, Algonquin Park, Ontario. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 30, p. 99-121. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1984-1988 Allan Lake Carbonatite Complex multi-media sampling, Algonquin Park, Ontario, 1984 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
46.08° 46.11° -78.27° -78.22°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 31L/1 (Brent) in the northwest corner of Fitzgerald Township in Algonquin Park, Ontario.  It is located approximately 60 km west of Deep River and covers the Allan Lake carbonatite complex.  It is east of Allan Lake and west of Bissett Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Végétation, Eau de surface, Sédiment de lac

Ontario

1984

Levé dans plusieurs milieux, 31L/1 du SNRC, région du parc Algonquin, Ontario, 1984.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant l’été 1984, des recherches sur le terrain ont été entreprises dans la région couvrant la carbonatite d’Allan Lake, dans le parc Algonquin, en Ontario.  Des échantillons de till reposant sur la carbonatite ont été recueillis le long de 3 transects. Les échantillons de till ont été prélevés dans l’horizon C du profil de sol qui s’est développé sur le till, partout où cela était possible, quoique certains échantillons provenaient de la partie inférieure de l’horizon B.  En outre, cinq fosses d’essai ont été creusées dans le sol/les morts-terrains pour observer les variations verticales des caractéristiques géochimiques, lithologiques et pédologiques du till.  Des échantillons de tissu foliaire de l’espèce dominante, l’érable à sucre, ont également été prélevés le long de deux des sections.  Des échantillons de sédiments lacustres et d’eaux ont prélevés dans le lac qui recouvre la carbonatite.  De plus, des échantillons ont été recueillis dans deux autres lacs que l’on jugeait représentatifs de la limite de détermination géochimique.  L’étude est publiée dans Journal of Geochemical Exploration, vol. 30.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, aucune ne liste de données, mais des étendues sont fournies pour certains éléments.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm fraction du till, dosage du Cu, du Pb, du Zn, du Mo, du Co, du Ni, du Cr, du Mn et du Fe par AAS après lixiviation par HNO3-HCl chauds; dosage du U par fluorométrie après lixiviation par HNO3. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm fraction du till, dosage du Ba, du Ni, du Th, du Zn, du Y, du Ce, du La, du P et du S par XRF.

Dans des tissus foliaires incinérés, dosage du Ba, du P, du Sr, du Co, du Cu par ICP-ES.

Dans des sédiments lacustres, dosage du Zn, du Cu, du Pb, du Ni, du Co et du Ba par AAS; détermination de la perte par calcination; dosage du Sr, du Ce, du La, du Th et du U par INAA; dosage du Yb, du Cr, du V par ICP-ES ; dosage des principaux oxydes et des oxydes mineurs par ICP- ES.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Profils de concentrations d’éléments dans le till.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Ford, K.L., DiLabio, R.N.W., Rencz, A.N. (1988). Geological, geophysical and geochemical studies around the Allan Lake carbonatite, Algonquin Park, Ontario. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 30, p. 99-121. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1984-1988 Échantillonnage de plusieurs milieux dans le complexe de carbonatite d’Allan Lake, parc Algonquin, Ontario, 1984 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
46.08° 46.11° -78.27° -78.22°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 31L/1 du SNRC (Brent) dans le coin nord-ouest de Fitzgerald Township dans Algonquin Park, Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 60 km à l'ouest de Deep River et couvre le complexe de carbonatite d'Allan Lake.  Il est à l'est d'Allan Lake et à l'ouest de Bissett Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification