Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

Manitoba

1991

Detailed soil and till sampling, NTS 63K/16, central Manitoba, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1991 as part of EXTECH-I, detailed soil and till sampling was carried out in the vicinity of the Chisel Lake, Ghost Lake and Lost Lake mines and the North Chisel deposit in central Manitoba.  Approximately 144 sites were visited.  Sample spacing averaged approximately 1 site per 200 m.  At each site, samples of B-horizon glacial till (soil), C-horizon glacial till (parent material) and humus were collected.  An interpretation of the study can be found in Geological Survey of Canada Bulletin 426.

Data Description:

Paper report, no data lists.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction of B- and C-horizon till for 10 elements by AAS after aqua regia leach; for Hg and As by hydride generation AAS; for 31 elements by ICP-ES after aqua regia leach; for 7 elements by sequential extraction techniques.

<0.063 mm fraction of B- and C-horizon till for Au + 34 elements by INAA; for 31 elements by ICP-ES after aqua regia leach.

<0.177 mm fraction of humus for 31 elements by ICP-ES after aqua regia; the soluble organic fraction of humus for 7 elements after Na4P2O7 leach; the insoluble inorganic residue for 7 elements by sequential extraction techniques.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot plots showing the distribution of Cu, As, and Zn in selected fractions for selected analyses.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Kaszycki, C.A., Hall, G.E.M. (1996). Application of phase selective and sequential extraction methodologies in surficial geochemistry. In EXTECH I: a multidisciplinary approach to massive sulphide research in the Rusty Lake-Snow Lake greenstone belts, Manitoba, G.F. Bonham-Carter, A.G. Galley, G.E.M. Hall (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 426, p. 155-168. (more)
2 Kaszycki, C.A., Nielsen, E., Gobert, G. (1996). Surficial geochemistry and response to volcanic-hosted massive sulphide mineralization in the Snow Lake region. In EXTECH I: a multidisciplinary approach to massive sulphide research in the Rusty Lake-Snow Lake greenstone belts, Manitoba, G.F. Bonham-Carter, A.G. Galley, G.E.M. Hall (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 426, p. 139-154. (more)
3 McMartin, I., Campbell, J.E., Dredge, L.A. (2012). A trans-jurisdiction database of till composition across the Circum-Kisseynew area, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7064. (more)
4 McClenaghan, M.B., Peter, J.M. (2013). Till geochemical signatures of volcanogenic massive sulphide deposits in glaciated terrain: a summary of Canadian examples. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7354, 36 p. (more)
5 McClenaghan M.B., Peter, J.M. (2016). Till geochemical signatures of volcanogenic massive sulfide deposits: an overview of Canadian examples. Geochemistry: Exploration, Environment, Analysis, v. 16, no. 1, p. 27-47. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1990-1996 EXTECH-I, Snow Lake area multi-disciplinary project, central Manitoba, 1990-1991 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
54.8° 54.86° -100.13° -100.09°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 63K/16, the Chisel Lake area, central Manitoba.  It extends as far north as Arm Lake, as far south as Stroud Lake.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Manitoba

1991

Échantillonnage détaillé du sol et du till, 63K/16 du SNRC, centre du Manitoba, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1991, dans le cadre du programme EXTECH-I, un échantillonnage détaillé du sol et du till a été effectué aux environs des mines Chisel Lake, Ghost Lake et Lost Lake et du gisement de North Chisel, dans le centre du Manitoba. Approximativement 144 sites ont été échantillonnés suivant une densité moyenne d’environ 1 site par 200 m. En chaque site, des échantillons de till de l’horizon B (sol), de till de l’horizon C (matériaux d’origine) et d’humus ont été recueillis. On peut trouver une interprétation de l’étude dans le bulletin 426 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Les données font parties d'une compilation, dossier public 7064 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé, aucune liste de données.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm des horizons B et C du till, dosage de 10 éléments par AAS après lixiviation par l’eau régale; dosage du Hg and du As par AAS avec génération d’hydrures; dosage de 31 éléments par ICP-ES après lixiviation à l’eau régale; dosage de 7 éléments par des méthodes d’extraction séquentielle.

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm des horizons B et C du till, dosage du Au + 34 éléments par INAA; dosage de 31 éléments par ICP-ES après lixiviation à l’eau régale.

Dans la fraction <0,177 mm de l’humus, dosage de 31 éléments par ICP-ES après eau régale; dans la fraction organique soluble de l’humus, dosage de 7 éléments après lixiviation par Na4P2O7; dans la fraction inorganique insoluble dosage de 7 éléments par des méthodes d’extraction séquentielle.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec symboles proportionnels montrant la distribution du Cu, de l'As et du Zn dans les fractions soumises à des dosages choisis.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Kaszycki, C.A., Hall, G.E.M. (1996). Application of phase selective and sequential extraction methodologies in surficial geochemistry. In EXTECH I: a multidisciplinary approach to massive sulphide research in the Rusty Lake-Snow Lake greenstone belts, Manitoba, G.F. Bonham-Carter, A.G. Galley, G.E.M. Hall (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 426, p. 155-168. (détails)
2 Kaszycki, C.A., Nielsen, E., Gobert, G. (1996). Surficial geochemistry and response to volcanic-hosted massive sulphide mineralization in the Snow Lake region. In EXTECH I: a multidisciplinary approach to massive sulphide research in the Rusty Lake-Snow Lake greenstone belts, Manitoba, G.F. Bonham-Carter, A.G. Galley, G.E.M. Hall (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 426, p. 139-154. (détails)
3 McMartin, I., Campbell, J.E., Dredge, L.A. (2012). A trans-jurisdiction database of till composition across the Circum-Kisseynew area, Manitoba and Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7064. (détails)
4 McClenaghan, M.B., Peter, J.M. (2013). Till geochemical signatures of volcanogenic massive sulphide deposits in glaciated terrain: a summary of Canadian examples. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 7354, 36 p. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1990-1996 EXTECH-I, projet multidisciplinaire, dans la région de Snow Lake, centre du Manitoba, 1990-1991 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
54.8° 54.86° -100.13° -100.09°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 63K/16 du SNRC, la région Chisel Lake, dans le centre du Manitoba.  S'étend aussi loin au nord qu’Arm Lake, aussi loin au sud que Stroud Lake.

Mots-clés


Date de modification