Survey Metadata

Soil, Bedrock

New Brunswick

1960

Soil sampling survey, NTS 21O, P, northeastern New Brunswick, 1960-1961.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the field seasons of 1960 and 1961, approximately 450 soil samples and 15 bedrock samples were collected from 80 separate soil profile locations in the counties of Restigouche, Gloucester and Northumberland in northeastern New Brunswick.  Some profiles were chosen directly above or adjacent to known mineralized areas; others were chosen from areas where there was little or known bedrock mineralization.  The data are published in E.W. Presant’s Carleton University MSc. Thesis, 1963.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

-10 mesh ground to -80 mesh size splits of soil samples were analyzed.  Total Fe and Mn done by Brannock and Shapiro (1956) method.  Total Zn, Cu, Pb, determined at GSC using potassium bisulphate fusion method described by Gilbert (1959).  Sb reacted with rhodamine B (Ward and Lakin, 1954); As by modified Gutzeit method (described by Almond, 1953).  Sn, Ag, and Cd by emission spectrograph, using a D.C. arc method.

Geochem Maps Available:

Pebble examinations; light and heavy mineral separations; mineralogical work on heavy and light minerals for selected samples.  Soluble salts were extracted from the soils.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Presant, E.W. (1963). A trace element study of some selected soil profiles from Bathurst District of New Brunswick. M.Sc. thesis, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. 1963. (more)
2 Presant, E.W. (1964). A trace element study of some selected soil profiles from the Bathurst District of New Brunswick. Canadian Mining Journal, v. 85, p. 137. (more)
3 Presant, E.W., Tupper, W.M. (1966). The distribution and nature of arsenic in the soils of the Bathurst, New Brunswick, District. Economic Geology and the Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists, v. 61, p. 760-767. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1960-1966 Northeastern New Brunswick soil survey, 1960 and 1961 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
47° 47.75° -66.75° -65.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 21P/4,5,12, 21O/1,8,9 and parts of NTS 21O/2,7,10 in the counties of Restigouche, Gloucester and Northumberland in northeastern New Brunswick.  It is located approximately forty miles from the town of Bathurst.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Roche en place

Nouveau-Brunswick

1960

Levé d’échantillonnage du sol, 21O et P du SNRC, nord-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1960-1961.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les campagnes sur le terrain de 1960 et de 1961, approximativement 450 échantillons de sol et 15 échantillons de substrat rocheux ont été recueillis dans 80 emplacements distincts de profils des sols dans les comtés de Restigouche, Gloucester et Northumberland, dans le nord-est du Nouveau-Brunswick. On a choisi certains profils directement au-dessus de zones minéralisées connues ou contigus à celles-ci; d’autres ont été choisis à des endroits où le substratum rocheux était peu ou non minéralisé. Les données sont publiées dans le mémoire de maîtrise de E.W. Presant, Université Carleton, 1963.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction à maille de -10 broyée à maille de -80 d’échantillons de sol fractionnés, dosage du Fe total par la méthode de Brannock et Shapiro (1956). Dosage du Zn, du Cu, du Pb à la CGC par la méthode de la fusion avec bisulphate de potassium décrite par Gilbert (1959). Dosage du Sb par réaction avec la rhodamine B (Ward et Lakin, 1954); du As par la méthode de Gutzeit modifiée (décrite par Almond, 1953). Dosage du Sn, du Ag et du Cd au spectrographe par émission par une méthode à arc CC.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Examen des cailloux; séparations des minéraux légers et lourds; travaux minéralogiques sur les minéraux légers et lourds dans des échantillons choisis. Extraction des sels solubles contenus dans les sols.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Presant, E.W. (1963). A trace element study of some selected soil profiles from Bathurst District of New Brunswick. M.Sc. thesis, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada. 1963. (détails)
2 Presant, E.W. (1964). A trace element study of some selected soil profiles from the Bathurst District of New Brunswick. Canadian Mining Journal, v. 85, p. 137. (détails)
3 Presant, E.W., Tupper, W.M. (1966). The distribution and nature of arsenic in the soils of the Bathurst, New Brunswick, District. Economic Geology and the Bulletin of the Society of Economic Geologists, v. 61, p. 760-767. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1960-1966 Levé d’échantillonnage des sols au nord-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, 1960 et 1961 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
47° 47.75° -66.75° -65.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 21P/4,5, 12, 21O/1,8, 9 du SNRC et des parties des 21O/2, 7, 10 du SNRC dans les comtés de Restigouche, de Gloucester et de Northumberland, dans le nord-est du Nouveau-Brunswick.  Il est situé à une quarantaine de miles de la ville de Bathurst.

Mots-clés


Date de modification