Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Bedrock

Nova Scotia

1986

Soil, till and bedrock sampling, NTS 11E/2, Beaver Dam gold deposit, Nova Scotia, 1986.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1986, a number of hand dug pits and backhoe excavations were made in the overburden across and down-ice from the Beaver Dam deposit, and a smaller zone of similar mineralization, the Mill Shaft occurrence.  Samples of B-horizon soil developed on till and samples of fresh till were collected at each site where possible.  Approximately 125 B-horizon and more than 30 till samples were collected.  Bedrock and bedrock chips encountered during an overburden drilling program were also sampled.  A summary of the work can be found in Prospecting in Areas of Glaciated Terrain – 1988.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

5 size fractions obtained (<2.00 mm ground to < 75 µm; 2000-180 µm ground to <75 I,’ 180-63 µm; 63-2µm; <2 µm) and analyzed for Au, As, Sb, Cu, Zn, Co, Fe, Mn, Cr, Ba, Mo, W, Hg, Pb, Cd and Ag using AAS and ICP at Bondar-Clegg.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour plots showing distribution of elements; geochemical profiles.

Other Analyses:

HMC (<2000 µm, S.G. = 3.3) and samples of bedrock chips ground to < 75 µm and analyzed by neutron activation for Au + 25 elements.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Coker, W.B., Sexton, A., Lawyer, I., Duncan, D. (1988). Bedrock, till and soil geochemical signatures at the Beaver Dam gold deposit, Nova Scotia, Canada. In Prospecting in Areas of Glaciated Terrain – 1988, D.R. MacDonald, K.A. Mills (eds). Proceedings of a Symposium sponsored by the Geology Division of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Halifax, N.S., August 28-September 3, 1988, p.241-254. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1986-1988 Central Nova Scotia soil and till survey, 1986 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.06° 45.07° -62.73° -62.71°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 11E/2 (Upper Musquodoboit) at the Beaver Dam gold deposit in central Nova Scotia.  Cameron Flowage is found in the northeast corner of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Roche en place

Nouvelle Écosse

1986

Échantillonnage du sol, du till et du substratum, 11E/2 du SNRC, gisement aurifère de Beaver Dam, Nouvelle-Écosse, 1986.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1986, un certain nombre de fosses ont été creusées dans les morts-terrains à la main et au moyen d’une pelle rétrocaveuse, dans l’ensemble et en aval-glaciaire du gisement de Beaver Dam, ainsi que dans l’occurrence de Mill Shaft, une zone plus petite de minéralisation similaire.  Des échantillons de sol de l’horizon B qui s’est formé sur du till, ainsi que des échantillons de till inaltéré ont été recueillis pour chacun des sites, lorsque cela était possible.  Approximativement 125 échantillons de sol de l’horizon B et plus de 30 échantillons de till ont été recueillis.  Le substratum rocheux et les copeaux du substratum rocheux rencontrés lors d'un programme de forage de morts-terrains ont également été échantillonnés.  On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans Prospecting in Areas of Glaciated Terrain – 1988.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans 5 fractions (<2,00 mm broyée à < 75 µm; 2000 à 180 µm broyée à <75 µm; 180 à 63 µm; 63 à 2 µm; <2 µm) dosage du Au, du As, du Sb, du Cu, du Zn, du Co, du Fe, du Mn, du Cr, du Ba, du Mo, du W, du Hg, du Pb, du Cd et du Ag par AAS et ICP chez Bondar-Clegg.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés avec isoplèthes montrant la distribution des éléments; profils géochimiques.

Autres analyses:

Dosage du Au et de 25 éléments par activation neutronique dans un CML (<2000 µm, densité = 3,3) et dans des échantillons d’éclats du substratum broyés à < 75 µm.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Coker, W.B., Sexton, A., Lawyer, I., Duncan, D. (1988). Bedrock, till and soil geochemical signatures at the Beaver Dam gold deposit, Nova Scotia, Canada. In Prospecting in Areas of Glaciated Terrain – 1988, D.R. MacDonald, K.A. Mills (eds). Proceedings of a Symposium sponsored by the Geology Division of the Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Halifax, N.S., August 28-September 3, 1988, p.241-254. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1986-1988 Levé d’échantillonnage des sols et du till au centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse, 1986 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.06° 45.07° -62.73° -62.71°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 11E/2 du SNRC (Upper Musquodoboit) au gisement d'or de Beaver Dam dans le centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse.  Cameron Flowage se trouve dans le coin nord-est de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification