Survey Metadata

Vegetation, Surface water, Marine sediment

British Columbia

1991

Water, marine sediment and biogeochemical survey, NTS 92G, Howe Sound, British Columbia, 1991





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In July 1991, a reconnaissance geochemical survey was conducted in the Howe Sound drainage basin, British Columbia.  Several sample types were collected: surface waters from the mouths of creeks and rivers draining the east side of the Sound, and a few at depth within some bays; near-shore bottom sediments from several bays; and seaweed (Fucus gardneri, common rockweed) from rocks along shorelines within the Sound.  In addition, creek waters, acid mine waters and mineral precipitates were also collected from the Britannia mine site for detailed study.  Two water samples were collected at each of 23 sites: one 250 mL volume for cation determination and one 125 mL volume for anion determination and pH.  Twenty of the 44 water samples collected focused on the drainage in the area of the Britannia copper mine.  Thirteen sediment samples of 100-200 g were collected by a petite Ponar grab sampler from a 15 x 15 cm area.  Seaweed samples were collected at intervals of approximately 5 km during periods of medium to low tides.  About 100-200 g of seaweed were plucked from the rocks at each of the 36 sites selected within the 300 km2 study area.  This report on this study can be found in Geological Survey of Canada Current Research Part A, Paper 92-1A.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1992). Seaweed geochemistry – a new approach to mineral exploration along the coast of British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada Forum 1992, Program with Abstracts, p.20. (more)
2 Dunn, C.E., Percival, J.B., Hall, G.E.M., Mudroch, A. (1992). Reconnaissance geochemical studies in the Howe Sound drainage basin. In Proceedings of the Howe Sound Environmental Science Workshop, C.E. Levings, R.B. Turner, B. Ricketts (ed.). Canadian Technical Report of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, no. 1879, p. 89-99. (more)
3 Percival, J.B., Mudroch, A., Hall, G.E.M., Dunn, C.E. (1992). Geochemical studies in Howe Sound drainage basin, British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada Forum 1992, Program with Abstracts, p.27. (more)
4 Percival, J.B., Mudroch, A., Hall, G.E.M., Dunn, C.E. (1992). Geochemical studies in the Howe Sound drainage basin, British Columbia. In Current Research, Part A. Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 92-1A, p. 1-11. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1992 Howe Sound, British Columbia, multi-media reconnaissance geochemical survey, 1991 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49.33° 49.72° -123.53° -123.08°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 92G, Howe Sound area in southwestern British Columbia.  It is bounded to the south by the Strait of Georgia and extends to Squamish in the north and to Port Mellon in the west.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation, Eau de surface, Sédiment marin

Colombie-Britannique

1991

Levé hydrogéochimique, biogéochimique et dans les sédiments marins, 92G du SNRC, bras de mer Howe, Colombie-Britannique, 1991





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En juillet 1991, un levé géochimique de reconnaissance a été effectué dans le bassin versant du bras Howe, en Colombie-Britannique. Plusieurs types d’échantillons ont été recueillis : échantillons d’eaux de surface à l’embouchure de cours d’eau se drainant du côté est du bras Howe, et quelques échantillons recueillis  en profondeur dans certaines baies; sédiments du fond marin à proximité du rivage dans plusieurs baies; algues (Fucus gardneri, fucus bifide) sur les roches le long des côtes, dans le bras de mer. En outre, on a également recueilli des échantillons d’eaux de ruisseau, d’eaux d’exhaure et de précipités minéraux, à l’emplacement de la mine Britannia, aux fins d’une étude approfondie. Deux échantillons d’eaux ont été recueillis dans chacun des 23 sites : un de 250 mL pour la détermination des cations et un de 125 mL pour la détermination des anions et du pH. Vingt des 44 échantillons provenaient des eaux de drainage dans la région de la mine de cuivre Britannia. On a prélevé 13 échantillons de sédiments de 100 à 200 g à l’aide d’une benne Petite Ponar qui permettait d’échantillonner une superficie de 15 x 15 cm. Des échantillons d’algues ont été recueillis à des intervalles d’environ 5 km pendant des périodes de marée variant de moyenne à basse. De 100 à 200 g d’algues ont été prélevées sur les roches pour chacun des 36 sites choisis dans la région à l’étude, d’une superficie de 300 km2. On peut trouver le rapport sur cette étude dans Recherches en cours, partie A, étude 92-1A, Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1992). Seaweed geochemistry – a new approach to mineral exploration along the coast of British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada Forum 1992, Program with Abstracts, p.20. (détails)
2 Dunn, C.E., Percival, J.B., Hall, G.E.M., Mudroch, A. (1992). Reconnaissance geochemical studies in the Howe Sound drainage basin. In Proceedings of the Howe Sound Environmental Science Workshop, C.E. Levings, R.B. Turner, B. Ricketts (ed.). Canadian Technical Report of Fisheries and Aquatic Sciences, no. 1879, p. 89-99. (détails)
3 Percival, J.B., Mudroch, A., Hall, G.E.M., Dunn, C.E. (1992). Geochemical studies in Howe Sound drainage basin, British Columbia. Geological Survey of Canada Forum 1992, Program with Abstracts, p.27. (détails)
4 Percival, J.B., Mudroch, A., Hall, G.E.M., Dunn, C.E. (1992). Geochemical studies in the Howe Sound drainage basin, British Columbia. In Current Research, Part A. Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 92-1A, p. 1-11. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1992 Levé géochimique de reconnaissance dans plusieurs milieux, Howe Sound, Colombie-Britannique, 1991 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49.33° 49.72° -123.53° -123.08°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 92G du SNRC, région Howe Sound dans le sud-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.  Délimité au sud par le Strait of Georgia et s'étend à Squamish dans le nord et à Port Mellon dans l'ouest.

Mots-clés


Date de modification