Survey Metadata

Vegetation

British Columbia

1988

Biogeochemical survey, NTS 93A/12, QR deposit, central British Columbia, 1988





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Douglas fir tree tops were collected from 94 sites within a six square kilometre area approximately 140 km southeast of Prince George in central British Columbia.  The study area was centred on the Main Zone of gold mineralization of the poorly exposed QR (Quesnel River) deposit.  The sampling was carried out during the morning of April 27, 1988.  In total 103 samples were collected, including a few from distant areas to determine background levels of elements.  An interpretation of the work can be found in Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v.34.

Sampling Procedure

Samples were collected at intervals of approximately 200 m (100 m on one line) along 12 lines 200 m apart.  The length of line varied from 500 to 2300 m.  A helicopter was used to obtain the samples, with the sampler, who was harnessed in, leaning out over the skid and snipping off the top 0.5 m of the tree.  

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1989). Airborne and surface biogeochemical surveys for precious metals in the Cordillera. Cordilleran Geology and Exploration Roundup, Geological Survey of Canada, Cordilleran and Pacific Geoscience Division, Program and Abstracts. (more)
2 Dunn, C.E., Scagel, R.K. (1989). Tree-top sampling from a helicopter – a new approach to gold exploration. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 34 (3), p. 255-270. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1988-1989 QR gold deposit, central British Columbia vegetation survey, 1988 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
52.6524° 52.6779° -121.8165° -121.7723°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 93A/12 (Hydraulic) north and south of the Quesnel River in central British Columbia.  It is located approximately 7 km west of the town of Quesnel Forks and approximately 2 km west of the junction of the Quesnel River and Maud Creek.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation

Colombie-Britannique

1988

Levé biogéochimique, 93A/12 du SNRC, gisement de QR, centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1988





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Le 27 avril 1988 (en matinée), un échantillonnage de cimes de Douglas taxifolié a été effectué en 94 sites dans une zone de six kilomètres carrés, située à environ 140 km au sud-est de Prince George, centre de la Colombie-Britannique. L’étude était concentrée sur la zone Main de la minéralisation en or du gisement  mal exposé de QR (Quesnel River).  Au total, 103 échantillons ont été recueillis, y compris quelques-uns prélevés dans des zones éloignées afin de déterminer les limites de détermination des éléments. On peut trouver une interprétation des travaux dans Journal of Geochemical Exploration, vol. 34.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les échantillons ont été recueillis à des intervalles d’environ 200 m (100 m sur une ligne) le long de 12 lignes espacées de 200 m. La longueur des lignes variait de 500 à 2300 m.  Pour prélever les échantillons, un échantillonneur, harnaché à un hélicoptère, se penchait au-dessus du patin et coupait une longueur de 0,5 m à la cime des arbres.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1989). Airborne and surface biogeochemical surveys for precious metals in the Cordillera. Cordilleran Geology and Exploration Roundup, Geological Survey of Canada, Cordilleran and Pacific Geoscience Division, Program and Abstracts. (détails)
2 Dunn, C.E., Scagel, R.K. (1989). Tree-top sampling from a helicopter – a new approach to gold exploration. Journal of Geochemical Exploration, v. 34 (3), p. 255-270. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1988-1989 Levé phytogéochimique au gisement aurifère de QR, au centre de la Colombie-Britannique, 1988 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
52.6524° 52.6779° -121.8165° -121.7723°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 93A/12 du SNRC (Hydraulic) au nord et au sud de Quesnel River dans le centre de la Colombie-Britannique.  Il est situé à environ 7 km à l'ouest de la ville de Quesnel Forks et à environ 2 km à l'ouest de la jonction de Quesnel River et Maud Creek.

Mots-clés


Date de modification