Survey Metadata

Vegetation, Surface water

Nova Scotia

1994

Reconnaissance biogeochemical and hydrochemical survey, parts of NTS 11D, E and 21A, H, central Nova Scotia, 1994





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During a four week period starting in mid-May 1994, vegetation samples were collected from approximately 925 sites within a 5600 km2 area of central Nova Scotia.  Samples were collected at an average density of 1 site per 7 km2.  In general, samples were collected at 2 km intervals along drivable roads and tracks with some helicopter support for accessing remote areas.  Three trucks were used, each with a crew of two.  Vegetation samples were selected from a site at least 50 m from a highway or 10 m from a little-used track.  At most sites samples of outer bark of red or black spruce was collected as well as twigs of balsam fir.  Usually 5-7 twigs, each comprising 5-7 years grown (commonly 35-40 cm length of twig).  Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3221 presents data from the 786 sites at which balsam fir twigs were collected.  The spruce bark data have not yet been published.

At most sites, where possible, a stream water sample was also collected. The data have not yet been published.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E., Balma, R.G., Spirito, W.A. (1996). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey, central Nova Scotia (parts of NTS 11D, E, and 21A, H): Part I - balsam fir twigs. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3221. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1993-1997 Nova Scotia biogeochemical and hydrogeochemical surveys, 1993-1995 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Nova Scotia stream water data, 1994-1995 ( FileID=900 download)
MS Excel spreadsheet containing the analytical data for Nova Scotia stream waters collected in 1994 and 1995.
366343
2
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3221 ( FileID=285 download)
This diskette contains two digital files for GSC Open File 3221.  OF3221.TXT is an ASCII comma-delimited file that can be imported into many software packages (e.g. MS-Excel, MS-Access).  It can also be viewed in programs such as Notepad.  The file Inaabftw.txt is also an ASCII comma-delimited file with INAA data for balsam fir twigs.  The numbers are different from the file containing both INAA and ICP-ES data.  It is also much smaller.  It is uncertain what this file represents.
93725
3
Introductory text for GSC Open File 3221 ( FileID=622 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 3221.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
2609198

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
44.8° 45.38° -64.3° -62.8°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 11D, E and 21A, H in central Nova Scotia.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation, Eau de surface

Nouvelle Écosse

1994

Levé biogéochimique et hydrogéochimique de reconnaissance, parties de 11D et E et de 21A et H du SNRC, centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse, 1994





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant une période de quatre semaines depuis la mi-mai 1994, des échantillons de végétation ont été recueillis dans approximativement 925 sites sur une superficie de 5600 km2, dans le centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Les échantillons ont été recueillis suivant une densité moyenne de 1 site par 7 km2. En général, on a recueilli les échantillons à des intervalles de 2 km le long de routes et de voies carrossables, ayant parfois recours à un hélicoptère pour accéder à des régions éloignées. On a utilisé trois camions, chacun avec une équipe de deux personnes. Les échantillons de végétation étaient sélectionnés dans un site situé à au moins 50 m d’une route ou à 10 m d’une voie peu fréquentée. Dans la plupart des sites, des échantillons d’écorce externe d’épinette rouge ou noire ont été recueillis, ainsi que des brindilles de sapin baumier. On prélevait habituellement de 5 à 7 brindilles, chacune représentant une croissance de 5 à 7 ans (le plus souvent des brindilles d’une longueur de 35 à 40 cm). Le dossier public 3221 de la Commission géologique du Canada présente les données obtenues pour 786 sites où des brindilles de sapin baumier ont été recueillies. Les données sur l’écorce d’épinette n’ont pas encore été publiées.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E., Balma, R.G., Spirito, W.A. (1996). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey, central Nova Scotia (parts of NTS 11D, E, and 21A, H): Part I - balsam fir twigs. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3221. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1993-1997 Levés biogéochimiques et hydrogéochimiques, Nouvelle-Écosse, 1993-1995 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Données des échantillons de l’eau fluviatile de la Nouvelle-Écosse, 1994-1995 ( FileID=900 télécharger)
Fichier en format MS-Excel des données analytiques d'échantillons d'eau de ruisseau recueillis à la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1994 et 1995.
366343
2
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3221 de la CGC. ( FileID=285 télécharger)
Cette disquette contient deux fichiers numériques pour le dossier public 3221 de la CGC. OF3221.TXT est un fichier ASCII délimité par des virgules qui peuvent être importés dans de nombreux logiciels (par exemple, MS-Excel, MS-Access). Il peut également être vu dans des programmes tels que le Bloc-notes. Le fichier Inaabftw.txt  est également un fichier ASCII délimité par des virgules avec les données INAA pour les brindilles de sapin baumier. Les chiffres sont différents à partir du fichier contenant à la fois les données INAA et les données ICP-ES. Il est également beaucoup plus faible. On ne sait pas ce que ce représente ce fichier.
93725
3
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 3221 de la CGC. ( FileID=622 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 3221 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
2609198

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
44.8° 45.38° -64.3° -62.8°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 11D, E et 21A, H du SNRC dans le centre de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Mots-clés


Date de modification