Survey Metadata

Vegetation, Surface water

Newfoundland and Labrador

1992

Biogeochemical and hydrogeochemical surveys, parts of NTS 12H/16 and 12I/1, Baie Verte area, northern Newfoundland, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Following the 1991 hydro- and biogeochemical orientation study of the Baie Verte Peninsula, Newfoundland, a sampling scheme was designed to collect stream waters and vegetation from approximately 150 sites at an average density of 1 sample per 2 km2.  In 1992, samples were collected in an area extending from Devil’s Cove to the Brass Buckle gold deposit 20 km to the south on the Baie Verte Peninsula, northern Newfoundland.  The outer bark and the most recent 10 years of growth of twigs were collected from black spruce trees.  Results from the orientation survey the previous year indicated extraordinarily high metal concentrations in both tissue types, so both were collected.  In addition, there are subtle differences for a few elements due to the ability of spruce to fix elements in different tissue types.  Vegetation samples were selected from a site at least 50 m from a highway, or 10 m from a little-used track to minimize roadside contamination.  Two bottles of water were collected at each site, one that was filtered and acidified for trace element analysis and one for determination of pH, conductivity, organic carbon and selected anions.  At certain sites, a third bottle was collected for gold determination.  When a stream water sample was not available at a particular site, a lake water sample or occasionally a bog water sample was substituted.  The spruce twig data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2951.  The spruce bark and water data have not yet been published.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1992). Biogeochemical exploration in the Baie Verte area, Newfoundland. In Report of Activities, 1992, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland and Labrador Mineral Development Division, vol. 16, p. 49-51. (more)
2 Hall, G.E.M. (1992). Hydrogeochemical exploration in the Baie Verte area, Newfoundland. In Report of Activities, 1992, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland and Labrador Mineral Development Division, vol. 16, p. 53-54. (more)
3 Dunn, C.E., Spirito, W.A., Balma, R.G. (1995). Biogeochemical survey, Baie Verte area, Newfoundland: black spruce twigs (parts of NTS 12H/16 and 12I/1). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2951. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1995 Baie Verte area, northern Newfoundland vegetation and stream water surveys, 1991 and 1992 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 2951 ( FileID=268 download)
This diskette contains two versions of the digital data for GSC Open File 2951.  OF2951.DAT is an ASCII comma-delimited file that is 495 characters wide.  OF2951.DBF is a DBASE-compatible version of the same file.  It is a binary file that can be read by any DBASE-compatible software.
50471
2
Introductory text for GSC Open File 2951 ( FileID=617 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 2951.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
1763292

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49.813° 50.047° -56.179° -56°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 12H/16 (Baie Verte) and 12I/1(Fleur de Lys) on the Baie Verte Peninsula, northern Newfoundland.  Highway 414 runs east-west in the central part of the study area.  Parts of Ming’s Bight and Baie Verte lie in the northern part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation, Eau de surface

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1992

Levé biogéochimique et hydrogéochimique, parties de 12H/16 et 12I/1 du SNRC, région de la carte Baie Verte, nord de Terre-Neuve, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


À la suite de l’étude d’orientation hydrogéochimique et biogéochimique de la péninsule Baie Verte (Terre-Neuve), un plan d’échantillonnage a été conçu en vue de recueillir des échantillons d’eaux de cours d’eau et de végétation dans environ  150 sites, suivant une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon par 2 km2. En 1992, des échantillons ont été recueillis dans une région s’étendant de Devil's Cove jusqu’au gisement d’or de Brass Buckle, à 20 km au sud de la péninsule Baie Verte, dans le nord de Terre-Neuve. L’écorce externe et des brindilles, représentant la croissance des 10 dernières années, ont été prélevées sur des épinettes noires. Les résultats du levé d’orientation de l’année précédente ont indiqué des concentrations en métaux particulièrement élevées à la fois dans l’écorce et les brindilles, de sorte que les deux types d’échantillons ont été recueillis. En outre, comme l’épinette a la capacité d’absorber des éléments dans divers types de tissus, on a noté des différences subtiles pour quelques éléments. Les échantillons de végétation étaient sélectionnés dans un site situé à au moins 50 m d’une route ou à 10 m d’une voie peu fréquentée, afin de réduire au minimum la contamination aux abords d’une route. Deux bouteilles d’eau ont été recueillies dans chacun des sites, l’une dont l’eau était filtrée et acidifiée pour le dosage des éléments traces, alors que l’autre servait à déterminer le pH et la conductivité, ainsi qu’à doser le carbone organique et certains anions. Dans certains sites, une troisième bouteille était recueillie pour le dosage de l’or. Lorsque l’eau de cours d’eau n’était pas disponible en un site particulier, on substituait l’eau d’un lac ou, à l’occasion, celle d’une tourbière. Les données sur les brindilles d’épinette sont publiées dans le dossier public 2951 de la Commission géologique du Canada. Les données sur l’écorce d’épinette et sur l’eau n’ont pas encore été publiées.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E. (1992). Biogeochemical exploration in the Baie Verte area, Newfoundland. In Report of Activities, 1992, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland and Labrador Mineral Development Division, vol. 16, p. 49-51. (détails)
2 Hall, G.E.M. (1992). Hydrogeochemical exploration in the Baie Verte area, Newfoundland. In Report of Activities, 1992, C.P.G. Pereira (ed.). Newfoundland and Labrador Mineral Development Division, vol. 16, p. 53-54. (détails)
3 Dunn, C.E., Spirito, W.A., Balma, R.G. (1995). Biogeochemical survey, Baie Verte area, Newfoundland: black spruce twigs (parts of NTS 12H/16 and 12I/1). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2951. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1995 Levés phytogéochimiques et hydrogéochimiques, la région de Baie Verte, au nord de Terre-Neuve, 1991 et 1992 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 2951 de la CGC. ( FileID=268 télécharger)
Cette disquette contient deux versions des données numériques pour le dossier public 2951 de la CGC. OF2951.DAT est un fichier ASCII délimité par des virgules et il est de 495 caractères larges. OF2951.DBF est une version compatible avec DBASE du même fichier. Il s'agit d'un fichier binaire qui peut être lu par n'importe quel logiciel compatible avec DBASE.
50471
2
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 2951 de la CGC. ( FileID=617 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 2951 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
1763292

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49.813° 50.047° -56.179° -56°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 12H/16 (Baie Verte) et 12I/1 (Fleur de Lys) du SNRC sur Baie Verte Peninsula, dans le nord de Terre-Neuve.  L’autoroute 414 s’étend est-ouest dans la partie centrale de la zone d’étude.  Des parties de Ming’s Bight et Baie Verte se trouvent dans la partie nord de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification