Survey Metadata

Surface water

Newfoundland and Labrador

1991

Hydrogeochemical survey, Baie Verte area and St. Alban’s and Bay d’Espoir - Fortune Bay area, Newfoundland, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In June 1991, a hydrogeochemical orientation survey was conducted in three areas in Newfoundland.  Forty stream water samples were collected on the Baie Verte and Springdale peninsulas and in the St. Alban’s area, Newfoundland.  In addition, 136 lake water samples were collected in the Bay d’Espoir-Fortune Bay area.  Seven pairs of site duplicates were collected in the stream survey and 12 pairs in the lake survey.  In a companion study, orientation samples of vegetation were collected at sites near the stream water samples in the Baie Verte area.  A summary of the work can be found in Newfoundland Report of Activities, 1991.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Finch, C., Hall, G.E.M., McConnell, J.W. (1991). The development of analytical methods for lake and stream waters for geochemical exploration. In Report of Activities, 1991, Geological Survey Branch, Department of Mines and Energy, Newfoundland and Labrador, p. 54-57. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1995 Baie Verte area, northern Newfoundland vegetation and stream water surveys, 1991 and 1992 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
47.58° 50° -56.58° -54.9°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 12H (Sandy Lake) on the Baie Verte and Springdale peninsulas in northern Newfoundland.  It is bounded to the northeast by Notre Dame Bay and to the northeast by the Atlantic Ocean.

  • Covers part of NTS 1M (Belleoram) in the St. Alban’s-Fortune Bay area, south central Newfoundland.  It is bounded to the south by Fortune Bay.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de surface

Terre-Neuve et Labrador

1991

Levé hydrogéochimique, régions de Baie Verte, de St. Alban’s et des baies d’Espoir et Fortune, Terre-Neuve, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En juin 1991, un levé hydrogéochimique d’orientation a été effectué dans trois régions de Terre-Neuve. Quarante échantillons d’eaux de cours d’eau ont été recueillis dans les péninsules de Baie Verte et de Springdale et dans la région de St. Alban’s, à Terre-Neuve. En outre, 136 échantillons d’eaux de lac ont été recueillis dans la région de Bay d’Espoir et Fortune Bay. Sept paires de duplicatas d’échantillons ont été recueillies lors du levé dans les cours d’eau et 12 paires lors du levé dans les lacs. Dans le cadre d’un levé d’orientation parallèle, on a prélevé des échantillons de la végétation dans des sites à proximité des sites d’échantillonnage de l’eau de cours d’eau dans la région de Baie Verte. On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans Newfoundland Report of Activities, 1991.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Finch, C., Hall, G.E.M., McConnell, J.W. (1991). The development of analytical methods for lake and stream waters for geochemical exploration. In Report of Activities, 1991, Geological Survey Branch, Department of Mines and Energy, Newfoundland and Labrador, p. 54-57. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1995 Levés phytogéochimiques et hydrogéochimiques, la région de Baie Verte, au nord de Terre-Neuve, 1991 et 1992 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
47.58° 50° -56.58° -54.9°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties de 12H (Sandy Lake) du SNRC sur Baie Verte Peninsula et Springdale Peninsula dans le nord de Terre-Neuve.  Délimité au nord-est par Notre Dame Bay et au nord-est par l'océan Atlantique.

  • Couvre une partie de 1M du SNRC (Belleoram) dans la région St. Alban’s-Fortune Bay, dans le centre sud de Terre-Neuve.  Délimité au sud par Fortune Bay.

Mots-clés


Date de modification