Survey Metadata

Vegetation

Nova Scotia

1991

Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey, parts of NTS 11F, G, J, K, southeastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In May and June 1991, vegetation samples were collected from 536 sites within a 4000 km2 area of southeastern Cape Breton Island.  The sampling grid was irregular because of the difficulty in accessing some areas.  The principal sampling medium was black spruce bark (collected at an average density of 1 sample per 15 km2), but black spruce twigs, balsam fir twigs and larch (also known as tamarack) bark and twigs were also collected.  The black spruce bark data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2558 and the balsam fir twig data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 2758.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E., Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A. (1992). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey, southeastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Part 1 - black spruce bark, parts of NTS 11F, G, J, K. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2558. (more)
2 Dunn, C.E., Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A. (1994). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey southeastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia: part 2 - balsam fir twigs (parts of NTS 11 F, G, J, K). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2758. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1990-1994 Southwest Nova Scotia and Cape Breton Island vegetation surveys, 1990 and 1991 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Digital data for Nova Scotia 1991 biogeochemical surveys ( FileID=7 download)
This archive was created in December, 2001, in response to a request by Colin Dunn for the larch data from the 1991 Nova Scotia surveys.  It contains essentially all of the digital data from the surveys, in multiple formats.
14535352
2
DBase files of Nova Scotia 1991 biogeochemical surveys ( FileID=8 download)
There are 10 separate DBF files in the ZIP file (5 sample media in each of the 2 survey areas).  These files were created for Colin Dunn in December 2001.
675348
3
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 2558 ( FileID=11 download)
This diskette contains two versions of the digital data for GSC Open file 2558.  OF2558.DAT contains the data in RBASE UNLOAD format.  It is an ASCII file.  It can be read into an RBASE database, by using the command "INPUT OF2558.DAT".  OF2558.DBF is a DBASE-compatible version of the same file.  It is a binary file.  It can be read by any DBASE-compatible software. The published data listing contains erroneous data for samples 1002, 1003, 1006 and 2058, and is missing data for sample 2057.  These errors have been corrected in the digital files. OF2558.DOC is an ASCII text file containing the above text.
58274
4
Introductory text for GSC Open File 2558 ( FileID=590 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 2558.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
1958999
5
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 2758 ( FileID=15 download)
This diskette contains two versions of the digital data for GSC Open file 2758.  OF2758.DAT contains the data in RBASE UNLOAD format.  It is an ASCII file.  It can be read into an RBASE database, by using the command "INPUT OF2758.DAT".  OF2758.DBF is a DBASE-compatible version of the same file.  It is a binary file.  It can be read by any DBASE-compatible software. OF2758.DOC is an ASCII text file containing the above text.
106737
6
Introductory text for GSC Open File 2758 ( FileID=605 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 2758.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
2293647

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.53° 46.33° -60.88° -59.75°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 11F, G, J, K on eastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia.  It is bounded to the south, east and north by the Atlantic Ocean and to the west by St. Andrew’s Channel and Bras d’Or Lake.  Boularderie Island to the north of St. Andrew’s Channel was not sampled.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation

Nouvelle Écosse

1991

Levé biogéochimique de reconnaissance, parties de 11F, G, J et K du SNRC, sud-est de l’île du Cap-Breton, Nouvelle-Écosse, 1991.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En mai et en juin 1991, des échantillons de la végétation ont été recueillis en 536 sites dans une région de 4000 km2 dans le sud-est de l’île du Cap-Breton. Le quadrillage d’échantillonnage était irrégulier en raison de difficultés d’accès dans certaines régions. Le principal milieu d’échantillonnage était l’écorce d’épinette noire (prélevée suivant une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon par 15 km2), mais des brindilles d’épinette noire et de sapin baumier, ainsi que des brindilles et de l’écorce de mélèze (aussi appelé mélèze laricin) ont également été recueillies. Les données sur l’écorce d’épinette noire sont publiées dans le dossier public 2558 de la Commission géologique du Canada, alors que les données sur les brindilles de sapin baumier sont publiées dans le dossier public 2758 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dunn, C.E., Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A. (1992). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey, southeastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Part 1 - black spruce bark, parts of NTS 11F, G, J, K. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2558. (détails)
2 Dunn, C.E., Adcock, S.W., Spirito, W.A. (1994). Reconnaissance biogeochemical survey southeastern Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia: part 2 - balsam fir twigs (parts of NTS 11 F, G, J, K). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2758. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1990-1994 Levés phytogéochimiques, le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse et l’île du Cap-Breton, 1990 et 1991 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Données numériques pour les levés biogéochimiques de la Nouvelle-Écosse exécutés en 1991. ( FileID=7 télécharger)
Cette archive a été créée en décembre, 2001 en réponse d’une demande de Colin Dunn pour les données de mélèze des levés de la Nouvelle- Écosse exécutés en 1991. Il contient essentiellement toutes les données numériques de ces levés dans plusieurs formats.
14535352
2
Les fichiers DBase des levés biogéochimiques de la Nouvelle-Écosse exécutés en 1991. ( FileID=8 télécharger)
Il y a 10 fichiers différents en format DBF dans le fichier auto-décompactable (ZIP) (5 milieux d’échantillonnage dans chacune des 2 régions de levé. Ces fichiers ont été créés pour Colin Dunn en décembre 2001.
675348
3
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 2558 de la CGC. ( FileID=11 télécharger)
La disquette contient deux versions des données numériques du dossier public 2558 de la CGC.  Le fichier OF2558.DAT contient les données en format RBASE UNLOAD.  C’est un fichier en format ASCII.  On peut le charger à RBASE, une base de données, en utilisant la commande « INPUT OF2558.DAT ».  OF2558.DBF est une version du même fichier compatible avec DBASE. C’est un fichier binaire.  Il peut être lu par n'importe quel logiciel compatible avec DBASE. Les données publiées contiennent des données erronées pour les échantillons 1002, 1003, 1006 et 2058, et il manque des données pour l'échantillon 2057. Ces erreurs ont été corrigées dans les fichiers numériques. OF2558.DOC est un fichier en format ASCII qui contient le texte ci-dessus.
58274
4
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 2558 de la CGC. ( FileID=590 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 2558 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
1958999
5
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 2758 de la CGC. ( FileID=15 télécharger)
Cette disquette contient deux versions des données numériques pour le dossier public 2758 de la CGC.  Le fichier OF2758.DAT contient les données en format RBASE UNLOAD.  Il s'agit d'un fichier en format ASCII.  Il peut être importé dans une base de données RBASE, en utilisant la commande "INPUT OF2758.DAT".  Le fichier OF2758.DBF est une version du même fichier compatible avec DBASE. Il s'agit d'un fichier binaire.  Il peut être lu par n'importe quel logiciel compatible avec DBASE. Le fichier OF2758.DOC est un fichier texte en format ASCII contenant le texte ci-dessus.
106737
6
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 2758 de la CGC. ( FileID=605 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 2758 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
2293647

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.53° 46.33° -60.88° -59.75°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 11F, G, J, K du SNRC sur l'est de l'île du Cap-Breton, Nouvelle-Écosse.  Délimité au sud, à l'est et au nord par l'océan Atlantique et à l'ouest par St. Andrew’s Channel et Bras d’Or Lake.  Boularderie Island au nord de St. Andrew's Channel n'a pas été échantillonnée.

Mots-clés


Date de modification