Survey Metadata

NGR stream

British Columbia

2001

NGR stream sediment and water survey, NTS 93C, 93D, 103A, west-central, British Columbia, 2001





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




External Links

Index Link
1
BC EMPR Regional Geochemistry ( LinkID=715 more)
Metadata page for BC Regional Geochemical Surveys RGS 56 (NTS 93D, 103A). Includes links to related data.

Survey Description


Helicopter and truck-supported sample collection was carried out in the Bella Coola area, British Columbia during the period July 22 to August 13, 2001.  A total of 1180 stream sediment and 1180 stream water samples were collected from 1003 sites.  The average sample site density was 1 site per 12.2 km2 over the 13,345 square kilometre survey area.  Field duplicate samples were collected in each analytical block of twenty samples.  Samples were not collected in Tweedsmuir Park, the Fiordland-Kitlope Recreation area and a previously surveyed area immediately south of the Bella Coola highway.  The data are published in GSC Open File 4414/British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 56.

This survey was carried out using National Geochemical Reconnaissance (NGR) protocols.

Sampling Procedure

Sediment samples weighing 1 to 2 kg were obtained from the active stream channel.  Samples were primarily fine-grained material mixed with varying amounts of coarse sand, gravel and organic material.  Surface water samples were collected in 250 mL bottles and at every fifth site, an additional 60 mL water sample was collected. Suspended solids were excluded where possible.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Lett, R., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W.B. (2003). Regional stream sediment and water geochemical data, Bella Coola, British Columbia (NTS 93C, 93D, 103A). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4414/British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 56. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 2001-2002 West-central British Columbia stream sediment and water survey, 2001 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copy of CD-ROM for GSC Open File 4414 ( FileID=369 download)
This archive contains all of the files that are on the CD.
29855962

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
52° 53° -128.5° -125.9°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers the east quarter of NTS 103A (Laredo Sound), all of 93D (Bella Coola) and the very southwest corner of 93C (Anahim Lake) in west-central British Columbia.  Samples were not collected in Tweedsmuir Park, the Fiordland-Kitlope Recreation area or in a previously surveyed area immediately south of the Bella Coola highway.  It is bounded to the west by Princes Royal Island and Queen Charlotte Sound.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

PNRG ruisseau

Colombie-Britannique

2001

Levé PRNG de sédiments et d’eaux fluviatiles, 93C, 93D, 103A du SNRC, Colombie-Britannique(centre-ouest), 2001.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Liens externes

Index Lien
1
Géochimie régionale d'EMPR de la C.-B. ( LinkID=715 détails)
Page de métadonnées pour RGS 56 de la C.-B. (93D, 103A du SNRC).  Comprend des liens aux données reliées.

Description du levé


Du 22 juillet au 13 août 2001, un échantillonnage de sédiments fluviatiles et d'eaux a été effectué, à l'aide d'un  hélicoptère et d'un camion, dans la région de Bella Coola, Colombie-Britannique.  1180 sédiments et 1180 eaux ont été recueillis en 1003 sites, suivant une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon par 12,2 km2, sur une superficie de 13345 km2.  Des duplicatas de terrain ont été régulièrement recueillis pour chaque bloc de 20 échantillons.  Il n'y a pas eu d'échantillonnage dans Tweedsmuir Park, la région récréative de Fiordland-Kitlope et un secteur déjà répertorié au sud de l'autoroute de Bella Coola.  Les données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 4414 de la CGC et RGS 56 du British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey.

Ce levé a été réalisé en utilisant des protocoles du Programme de la reconnaissance nationale géochimique (PRNG).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Des échantillons de sédiments de 1 à 2 kg ont été prélevés dans le chenal actif de cours d’eau. Les échantillons se composaient principalement de matériaux mixtes à grain fin comportant des quantités variables de gravier et de sable à grain grossier, et de matière organique.  Des échantillons d’eau de surface ont été prélevés avec des récipients de 250 ml en évitant, dans la mesure du possible, de recueillir des solides en suspension.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Lett, R., Jackaman, W., Friske, P.W.B. (2003). Regional stream sediment and water geochemical data, Bella Coola, British Columbia (NTS 93C, 93D, 103A). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4414/British Columbia Regional Geochemical Survey RGS 56. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 2001-2002 Levé de sédiments fluviatiles et de l'eau, le centre-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, 2001 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copie du CD-ROM du dossier public 4414 de la CGC. ( FileID=369 télécharger)
Cette archive contient tous les fichiers qui se trouvent sur le CD-ROM.
29855962

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
52° 53° -128.5° -125.9°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre le quartier est de 103A du SNRC (Laredo Sound), tout de 93D (Bella Coola) et le coin plus au sud-ouest de 93C (Anahim Lake) dans le centre-ouest de la Colombie-Britannique.  Les échantillons n'ont pas été prélevés dans Tweedsmuir Park, la zone de loisirs Fiordland-Kitlope ou dans une zone précédemment interrogée directement au sud de l'autoroute Bella Coola.  Délimité à l'ouest par Princes Royal Island et Queen Charlotte Sound.

Mots-clés


Date de modification