Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Indicator minerals

Ontario

1992

Soil and till survey, Buffonta property, Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Soil, till and kimberlite samples were collected from the Buffonta kimberlite dyke property, Kirkland Lake area, Ontario in the summer and fall of 1992.  Soil samples were collected from 12 sites, 30 m apart along two existing cut lines, oriented northeast-southwest.  At each site, samples of humus, B and C horizon material (developed on till) were collected from a hand-dug hole, 0.7 to 1.0 m deep.  Fifty 7 to 10 kg till samples were collected from two backhoe trenches dug north to south across the kimberlite dike, 200 m to the west of the new Buffonta pit.  Five till samples were collected from stripped outcrop around the western edge of the new pit.  Two samples of weathered kimberlite dike were collected.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3007.  A summary of this work can be found in Geological Survey of Canada 3228.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.42 mm fraction of humus, <0.063 mm fraction of B and C horizon soil, till and kimberlite samples analysed for 32 elements by ICP-AES after a nitric-aqua regia digestion; Au, Pd, Pt by fire assay/ICP-AFS.

Geochem Maps Available:

Profile plots of till mineralogy, geochemistry, gold grain counts and pebble lithology for trenches A and B.

Other Analyses:

Kimberlite indicator minerals.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Crabtree, D., DiLabio, R.N.W. (1995). Mineralogy and geochemistry of till and soil overlying the Buffonta kimberlite dike, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3007, 114p. (more)
2 McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Geochemistry and indicator mineralogy of drift over kimberlite, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. Le Cheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio, K.A. Richardson. (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 213-218. (more)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Gauvreau, D., Kjarsgaard, B.A. (2009). Mineral chemistry database for kimberlite, surficial sediments and kimberlite boulders from the Lake Timiskaming and Kirkland Lake kimberlite fields, Ontario and Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5833 (rev. ed.), 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake Kimberlite Project, 1992-1997 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Introductory text for GSC Open File 3007 ( FileID=619 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 3007.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
1569719

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48.4774° 48.4785° -79.9549° -79.9517°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/5 in central Garrison Township on the old Buffonta Mines Property just west of the old Buffonta pit in northeastern Ontario.  The study area is centred around the Buffonta kimberlite dike located at 48°28'02"/79°56'52".

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Minéraux indicateurs

Ontario

1992

Levé dans le sol et le till, propriété Buffonta, région de Kirkland Lake, nord-est de l’Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Des échantillons de sol, de till et de kimberlite ont été recueillis dans la propriété du dyke de kimberlite à Buffonta, dans la région de Kirkland Lake (Ontario), au cours de l’été et de l’automne 1992.  Les échantillons de sol ont été prélevés dans 12 sites, espacés de 30 m le long de deux bandes défrichées existantes, orientées nord-est–sud-ouest.  Dans chacun des sites, des échantillons d’humus et de matériaux des horizons B et C (formés sur du till) ont été recueillis dans une fosse creusée à la main, d’une profondeur de 0,7 à 1,0 m.  Cinquante échantillons de 7 à 10 kg de till ont été recueillis dans deux tranchées creusées au moyen d’une pelle rétrocaveuse, suivant un axe nord-sud traversant le dyke de kimberlite, à 200 m à l’ouest de la nouvelle mine Buffonta.  Cinq échantillons de till ont été recueillis sur un affleurement dénudé en bordure du côté ouest de la nouvelle fosse. Deux échantillons du dyke de kimberlite altérée ont été recueillis.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 3007 de la Commission géologique du Canada.  On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans le dossier public 3228 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction d’humus <0.42 mm et dans la fraction <0.063 mm de l'horizon B et C du sol, du till et des échantillons de kimberlite, dosage de 35 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion à l’acide nitrique et l’eau régale; dosage du Au, du Pd et du Pt par essai pyrognostique-méthode AFS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Profils de la minéralogie du till, de la géochemie, des dénombrements des grains d’or et de la lithologie des cailloux pour les tranchées A et B.

Autres analyses:

Les grains de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Crabtree, D., DiLabio, R.N.W. (1995). Mineralogy and geochemistry of till and soil overlying the Buffonta kimberlite dike, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3007, 114p. (détails)
2 McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Geochemistry and indicator mineralogy of drift over kimberlite, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. Le Cheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio, K.A. Richardson. (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 213-218. (détails)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Gauvreau, D., Kjarsgaard, B.A. (2009). Mineral chemistry database for kimberlite, surficial sediments and kimberlite boulders from the Lake Timiskaming and Kirkland Lake kimberlite fields, Ontario and Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5833 (rev. ed.), 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake, projet sur la kimberlite en Ontario, 1992 à 1997 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 3007 de la CGC. ( FileID=619 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 3007 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
1569719

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48.4774° 48.4785° -79.9549° -79.9517°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/5 du SNRC dans le centre de Garrison Township sur la vielle propiété Buffonta Mines juste à l'ouest de l'ancienne fosse Buffonta dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  La zone d'étude est centrée autour de la digue de kimberlite Buffonta situé à 48° 28'02"/79°56'52".

Mots-clés


Date de modification