Survey Metadata

Vegetation

Ontario

1992

Biogeochemical survey, parts of NTS 32D/4, 5, Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


Tree tissues were collected along transects over kimberlite bodies during a two day period in August, 1992 in the Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario.  At each location tissues of the dominant species were collected: twigs of balsam fir at Diamond Lake kimberlite pipe; twigs and outer bark of black spruce at the C14 pipe; and twigs of both balsam fir and pin cherry at the Buffonta dyke.  At Diamond Lake, balsam fir twigs were collected from 13 sample sites spaced 100 m apart along a 1200 m north to south transect.  At the Buffonta property, pin cherry and balsam fir twigs were collected from 12 sites at 30 m intervals along two transects.  At the C14 pipe, black spruce bark and twig samples were collected along a 400 m transect over the kimberlite from 9 sites spaced at 50 m intervals.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3005.  A summary of this work can be found in Geological Survey of Canada 3228.

Sampling Procedure

Usually 5 to 7 twigs, each comprising 5 to 7 years of growth were collected, commonly 35 to 40 of twig.  It is important to maintain a consistent ratio of twig bark to twig wood because many of the heavy metals are located in the bark of the twig rather than its woody tissue.  The loose, dead tissue comprising the scaly outer bark of black spruce trees was collected.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Dunn, C.E. (1995). Biogeochemical survey over kimberlites in the Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3005. (more)
2 Dunn, C.E., McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Biogeochemical studies of kimberlites. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. LeCheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio and K.A. Richardson (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 219-223. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake Kimberlite Project, 1992-1997 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Introductory text for GSC Open File 3005 ( FileID=618 download)
This PDF file contains the introductory text for GSC Open File 3005.  It was scanned from the original document.  The data are not included in this file.
814918

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48.1123° 48.4785° -79.9549° -79.7561°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/4 in the southwest corner of McVittie Township east of the Misema River near Diamond Lake approximately 3 km northwest of the town of Larder Lake in northeastern Ontario.  The study area is centred on the Diamond Lake kimberlite pipe located at 48°06'20"/79°45'30".

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/5 in central Garrison Township on the old Buffonta Mines Property just west of the old Buffonta pit in northeastern Ontario.  The study area is centred around the Buffonta kimberlite dike located at 48°28'02"/79°56'52".

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/5 in south-central Clifford Township just southeast of Kennedy Lake in northeastern Ontario.  The study area is centred on the C-14 kimberlite pipe located at 48°16'30"/79°48'.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Végétation

Ontario

1992

Levé biogéochimique, parties de 32D/4 et 5 du SNRC, région de Kirkland Lake, nord-est de l’Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En août 1992, des tissus d’espèces arborescentes ont été recueillis pendant deux jours le long de transects au-dessus de corps minéralisés en kimberlite, dans la région de Kirkland Lake, nord-est de l’Ontario.  Pour chaque site, des tissus de l’espèce dominante ont été recueillis: brindilles de sapin baumier prélevées à la cheminée du lac Diamond; brindilles et écorces externes d’épinette noire prélevées à la cheminée C14; brindilles de sapin baumier et de cerisier de Pennsylvanie prélevées au dyke de kimberlite à Buffonta.  Au lac Diamond, des brindilles de sapin baumier ont été recueillies en 13 sites d’échantillonnage espacés de 100 m le long d’un transect orienté nord-sud, d’une longueur de 1200 m.  Sur la propriété Buffonta, des brindilles de pin de Pennsylvanie et de sapin baumier ont été prélevées en 12 sites, à des intervalles de 30 m le long de deux transects.  À la cheminée C14, des échantillons d’écorces et de brindilles d’épinette noire ont été recueillis le long d’un transect de 400 m sur la kimberlite, dans 9 sites à des intervalles de 50 m.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 3005 de la Commission géologique du Canada.  On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans le dossier public 3228 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

On recueillait habituellement de 5 à 7 brindilles, chacune représentant une croissance de 5 à 7 ans, le plus souvent d’une longueur de 35 à 40 cm.  Il est important de maintenir un rapport constant entre l’écorce et le bois des brindilles, étant donné que les métaux lourds se concentrent dans l’écorce d’une brindille plutôt que dans ses tissus ligneux.  Les tissus morts et détachés, formant l’écorce externe écailleuse des épinettes noires, ont également été prélevés.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 McClenaghan, M.B., Dunn, C.E. (1995). Biogeochemical survey over kimberlites in the Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3005. (détails)
2 Dunn, C.E., McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Biogeochemical studies of kimberlites. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. LeCheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio and K.A. Richardson (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 219-223. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake, projet sur la kimberlite en Ontario, 1992 à 1997 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Texte d’introduction du dossier public 3005 de la CGC. ( FileID=618 télécharger)
Ce fichier en format PDF contient le texte d’introduction du dossier public 3005 de la CGC.  Le fichier est le produit d'une numérisation par balayage du document original.  Les données ne sont pas disponibles dans ce fichier.
814918

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48.1123° 48.4785° -79.9549° -79.7561°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/4 du SNRC dans le coin sud-ouest de McVittie Township, est de Misema River proche de Diamond Lake approximativement 3 kilomètres au nord-ouest de la ville de Larder Lake dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  La zone d'étude est centrée sur la cheminée kimberlitique de Diamond Lake situé à 48°06'20"/79°45'30".

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/5 du SNRC dans le centre de Garrison Township sur la vielle propiété Buffonta Mines juste à l'ouest de l'ancienne fosse Buffonta dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  La zone d'étude est centrée autour de la digue de kimberlite Buffonta situé à 48° 28'02"/79°56'52".

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/5 du SNRC dans le centre-sud de Clifford Township juste au sud de Kennedy Lake, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  La zone d'étude est centrée sur la cheminée kimberlitique C-14 situé à 48°16'30"/79°48'.

Mots-clés


Date de modification