Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Indicator minerals, Surficial drill core

Ontario

1993

Soil and till sampling survey, NTS 42A, 32D, northeastern Ontario, 1993.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the winter of 1993, till samples were collected from 31 boreholes up and down-ice and over the C14 (8 holes), B30 (13 holes), A4 (4 holes) and Diamond Lake (6 holes) kimberlite pipes in the Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario.  Soil samples (humus, B- and C–horizon) were also collected over and down-ice from the C14 and Diamond Lake pipes.  The data are published in the following Geological Survey of Canada Open Files:

 

GSC Open File Kimberlite Pipe
3295 B30
3576 Diamond Lake
3719 C14
3769 A4
2819 C14 and Diamond Lake

 

In addition, a summary of the work can be found in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 3228.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction by ICP-ES for 33 elements, by fire assay-ICP-AFS for Au, and by XRF for Nb, Sr, and Zr.  <1.0 mm non-magnetic heavy mineral fraction by INAA for 34 elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Other Analyses:

Heavy mineral concentrate for kimberlite indicator minerals and gold and sulphide grains; matrix carbonate content; grain size.

Sampling Procedure

Holes were drilled using a rotasonic (sonic) drill that provides a 9 cm diameter, continuous core of sediments and bedrock.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Averill, S.A., McClenaghan, M.B. (1994). Distribution and character of kimberlite indicator minerals in glacial sediments, C14 and Diamond Lake kimberlite pipes, Kirkland Lake, Ontario.  Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2819, 52 p. (more)
2 McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Geochemistry and indicator mineralogy of drift over kimberlite, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. Le Cheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio, K.A. Richardson. (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 213-218. (more)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Schulze, D.J., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Berger, B.R. (1996). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the B30 kimberlite and overlying glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3295, 245 pages. (more)
4 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Schulze, D.J., Berger, B., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G. (1998). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the Diamond Lake kimberlite and associated esker sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3576, 200 pages. (more)
5 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Kjarsgaard, B.A., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Berger, B.R. (1999). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the A4 kimberlite and associated glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3769, 162 pages. (more)
6 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Kjarsgaard, B.A., Berger, B. (1999). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the C14 kimberlite and associated glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3719, 147 pages. (more)
7 McClenaghan, M.B., Gauvreau, D., Kjarsgaard, B.A. (2009). Mineral chemistry database for kimberlite, surficial sediments and kimberlite boulders from the Lake Timiskaming and Kirkland Lake kimberlite fields, Ontario and Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5833 (rev. ed.), 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake Kimberlite Project, 1992-1997 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3295 ( FileID=293 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 3295.
252396
2
GSC Open File 3576 digital data ( FileID=1289 download)
The data are packaged as a single zip file, compatible with modern operating systems.
953274
3
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3719 ( FileID=320 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 3719.
497284
4
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3769 ( FileID=322 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 3769.
1113133
5
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 3576 ( FileID=311 download)
WARNING: the data on the diskette may have been packaged as a 16 bit self-extracting executable file, which is incompatible with 64 bit Windows computers.
971665

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48.08° 48.29° -79.928° -79.72°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 31D/4 (Larder Lake) in the Kirkland Lake area, northeastern Ontario.  It is located approximately 5 km northwest of the town of Larder Lake and includes the Diamond Lake kimberlite pipes.

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/5 (Magusi River) in the Kirkland Lake kimberlite field, northeastern Ontario.  It includes the C14 kimberlite pipe.  It is located just east of Chernuik and Griffey Lakes and north of Kennedy Lake.

  • Covers part of NTS 21D/5 (Magusi River) in the Kirkland Lake kimberlite field, northeastern Ontario. It is located approximately 1 km west of Hazel Lake and is just north of Lahaie Lake.  It includes the B30 kimberlite pipe.

  • Covers part of NTS 32D/4 (Larder Lake)in the Kirkland Lake kimberlite field, northeastern Ontario.  It is located approximately 0.5 km west of the North Arm of Victoria Lake and includes the A4 kimberlite pipe.  Alfie Creek runs through the area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Minéraux indicateurs, need description

Ontario

1993

Levé d’échantillonnage des sols et du till, 42A, 32D du SNRC, nord-est de l’Ontario, 1993.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant l’hiver 1993, des échantillons de till ont été prélevés dans 31 forages en amont et en aval par rapport à l’écoulement glaciaire ainsi que sur les cheminées de kimberlite C14, B30, A4 et Diamond Lake,dans la région de Kirkland Lake, nord-est de l’Ontario.  Des échantillons de sol (humus et horizons B et C) ont aussi été recueillis en aval par rapport à l’écoulement glaciaire et sur les cheminées C14 et Diamond Lake.  Les données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics suivants de la Commission géologique du Canada:

 

DP de la CGC Nom de cheminée kimberlitique
3295 B30
3576 Diamond Lake
3719 C14
3769 A4
2819 C14 and Diamond Lake

En outre, on peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans le dossier public 3228 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage de 33 éléments par ICP-ES, dosage du Au par essai pyrognostique-ICP-AFS et du Nb, du Sr et du Zr par XRF. Dans la fraction des minéraux lourds non magnétiques <1,0 mm dosage de 34 éléments par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Autres analyses:

Concentré de minéraux lourds à la recherche de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite et de grains d’or et de sulfures; teneur en carbonate de la matrice; granulométrie.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Les trous ont été creusés avec une foreuse rotasonique afin d’obtenir une carotte continue de sédiments et de socle de 9 cm de diamètre.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Averill, S.A., McClenaghan, M.B. (1994). Distribution and character of kimberlite indicator minerals in glacial sediments, C14 and Diamond Lake kimberlite pipes, Kirkland Lake, Ontario.  Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2819, 52 p. (détails)
2 McClenaghan, M.B. (1996). Geochemistry and indicator mineralogy of drift over kimberlite, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. In Searching for Diamonds in Canada, A.N. Le Cheminant, D.G. Richardson, R.N.W. DiLabio, K.A. Richardson. (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3228, p. 213-218. (détails)
3 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Schulze, D.J., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Berger, B.R. (1996). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the B30 kimberlite and overlying glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3295, 245 pages. (détails)
4 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Schulze, D.J., Berger, B., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G. (1998). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the Diamond Lake kimberlite and associated esker sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3576, 200 pages. (détails)
5 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Kjarsgaard, B.A., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Berger, B.R. (1999). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the A4 kimberlite and associated glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3769, 162 pages. (détails)
6 McClenaghan, M.B., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Stirling, J.A.R., Pringle, G., Kjarsgaard, B.A., Berger, B. (1999). Mineralogy and geochemistry of the C14 kimberlite and associated glacial sediments, Kirkland Lake, Ontario. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3719, 147 pages. (détails)
7 McClenaghan, M.B., Gauvreau, D., Kjarsgaard, B.A. (2009). Mineral chemistry database for kimberlite, surficial sediments and kimberlite boulders from the Lake Timiskaming and Kirkland Lake kimberlite fields, Ontario and Quebec. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5833 (rev. ed.), 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1992-1999 Kirkland Lake, projet sur la kimberlite en Ontario, 1992 à 1997 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3295 de la CGC. ( FileID=293 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 3295 de la CGC.
252396
2
Données numériques du dossier public 3576 de la CGC ( FileID=1289 télécharger)
Les données se trouvent dans un seul fichier auto-décompactable, compatible avec les systèmes d'exploitation modernes.
953274
3
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3719 de la CGC. ( FileID=320 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 3719 de la CGC.
497284
4
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3769 de la CGC. ( FileID=322 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 3769 de la CGC.
1113133
5
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 3576 de la CGC. ( FileID=311 télécharger)
AVERTISSEMENT: les données sur la disquette peuvent avoir été emballées comme un fichier exécutable auto-extractible de 16 bits, ce qui est incompatible avec les systèmes 64 bits des ordinateurs Windows.
971665

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48.08° 48.29° -79.928° -79.72°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 31D/4 (Larder Lake) du SNRC dans la région de Kirkland Lake, dans le nord-est de l’Ontario.  Il est situé approximativement 5 kilomètres au nord-ouest de la ville de Larder Lake et inclut les cheminées de kimberlite à Diamond Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/5 (Magusi River) du SNRC dans le champ kimberlitique de Kirkland Lake, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Inclut la cheminée kimberlitique C14.  Il est situé juste à l'est de Chernuik Lake et Griffey Lake et au nord de Kennedy Lake.

  • Couvre une partie de 21D/5 (Magusi River) du SNRC dans le champ kimberlitique de Kirkland Lake, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 1 km à l'ouest de Hazel Lake et juste au nord de Lahaie Lake.  Inclut la cheminée kimberlitique B30.

  • Couvre une partie de 32D/4 (Larder Lake) du SNRC dans le champ kimberlitique de Kirkland Lake, dans le nord-est de l'Ontario.  Il est situé à environ 0.5 km à l'ouest du bras Nord de Victoria Lake et inclut la cheminée kimberlitique A4.  Alfie Creek traverse la région.

Mots-clés


Date de modification