Survey Metadata

Well water

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island

1975

Groundwater sampling survey, NTS 11E, L and 21H, I, eastern Canada, 1975.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summer of 1975, approximately 1721 wells were sampled over parts of the Carboniferous Basin in southeast New Brunswick, western Nova Scotia and on Prince Edward Island.  The sampling density was approximately 1 sample/13 km2 throughout the 25,000 km2 survey area.  The data are published in Geological Survey of Canada Open File 340 and are also released digitally in Open File 679.

Quantities Analysed:

Unacidified water sample in glass bottle analysed in the field laboratory for: Rn, conductivity, O2, Eh, pH, alkalinity, U, F; acidified sample in glass bottle analysed at the GSC for H2, CH4, He, Zn, Cu, Pb, Mn and Fe; unacidified sample in plastic bottle analysed by Inland Waters Directorate, Moncton, N.B. for K, Cl, Ca, SO4, NO3.

Sampling Procedure

Three bottles of water were collected from each well site: one 500 ml polyethylene bottle and two 284 ml glass bottles.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Dyck, W., Garrison, E.W., Godoi, H.O., Wells, G.S. (1976) Minor and trace element contents of well waters, carboniferous basin, eastern Canada. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 340. (more)
2 Geldsetzer, H.H.J. (1977). Preliminary geological interpretation of well water uranium anomalies, Carboniferous Basin, Maritime Provinces. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 474, 16 p. (more)
3 Dyck, W. (1980). Geochemical well water, Carboniferous basin, eastern Canada, 1975 [NTS 11E, L, 21H, I, and P]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 679. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1975-1980 Uranium groundwater and stream sediment project, Maritimes and Saskatchewan, 1975-1976 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Raw data for RGG Open Files ( FileID=631 download)
This zip file contains the raw data for 64 geochemical Open Files released by the Resource Geophysics and Geochemistry Division of the Geological Survey of Canada.  The data are in “punched card image” format (i.e. 80 column records), designed to be read by FORTRAN software.
4284217

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
44.98° 47.09° -65.59° -61.96°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers parts of NTS 21I (Moncton), 11E (Truro) and 11L (Charlottetown), covering the province of Prince Edward Island, eastern Canada.  It is bounded to the north by the Gulf of St. Lawrence and to the southwest by Northumberland Strait.

  • Covers parts of NTS 21H (Amherst), 21I (Moncton), 11E (Truro) and 11L (Charlottetown) in southeast New Brunswick and western Nova Scotia, part of the Carboniferous Basin, eastern Canada.  It is bounded to the northeast by Northumberland Strait and to the south by latitude 45°.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Eau de puits

Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle Écosse, Île-du-Prince-Édouard

1975

Levé d’échantillonnage d’eau souterraine, 11E, L et 21H, I du SNRC, à l’est du Canada, 1975.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Durant l’été 1975, des échantillonnages ont été effectués dans environ 1721 puits forés dans le bassin carbonifère, dans le sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick, dans l’ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse et dans l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Environ un échantillonnage a été effectué à tous les 13 km2, dans une zone de levé de 25 000 km2. Les données recueillies ont été publiées dans le dossier public no 340 de la Commission géologique du Canada, ainsi que sous forme numérique dans le dossier public no 679.

Quantités analysées:

Échantillon d'eau non-acidifié dans une bouteille de verre analysé au laboratoire de terrain pour Rn, conductivité, O2, Eh, pH, alcalinité, U, F; échantillon acidifié dans une bouteille de verre analysée à la CGC pour H2, CH4, He, Zn, Cu, Pb, Mn and Fe; échantillon non-acidifié dans une bouteille plastique analysée par Inland Waters Directorate, Moncton, N.B. pour K, Cl, Ca, SO4, NO3.

Procédure d’échantillonnage

Trois récipients, soit un en polyéthylène de 500 ml et deux en verre de 284 ml, ont été remplis d’eau provenant de chacun des puits.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Dyck, W., Garrison, E.W., Godoi, H.O., Wells, G.S. (1976) Minor and trace element contents of well waters, carboniferous basin, eastern Canada. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 340. (détails)
2 Geldsetzer, H.H.J. (1977). Preliminary geological interpretation of well water uranium anomalies, Carboniferous Basin, Maritime Provinces. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 474, 16 p. (détails)
3 Dyck, W. (1980). Geochemical well water, Carboniferous basin, eastern Canada, 1975 [NTS 11E, L, 21H, I, and P]. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 679. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1975-1980 Projet sur les eaux souterraines et les sédiments de ruisseau uranifères, dans les Maritimes et en Saskatchewan, de 1975 à 1976 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Données brutes des dossiers publics de RGG. ( FileID=631 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient les données brutes de 64 dossiers publics géochimiques publiés par la Division Resource Geophysics and Geochemistry de la Commission géologique du Canada.  Les données sont en format de l’image de carte perforée (80 colonnes), conçue pour lire par le logiciel FORTRAN.
4284217

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
44.98° 47.09° -65.59° -61.96°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre des parties des 21I (Moncton), 11E (Truro) et 11L (Charlottetown), du SNRC, couvre la province de l'île-du-Prince-Édouard, dans l'est du Canada.  Délimité au nord par le golfe du Saint-Laurent et au sud-ouest par le détroit de Northumberland.

  • Couvre des parties des 21H (Amherst), 21I (Moncton), 11E (Truro) et 11L (Charlottetown), du SNRC, dans le sud-est du Nouveau-Brunswick et dans l'ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse, partie du bassin carbonifère, dans l'est du Canada.  Délimité au nord-est par le détroit de Northumberland et au sud par une latitude de 45°.

Mots-clés


Date de modification