Survey Metadata

Till, Indicator minerals, Surficial drill core

Manitoba, Saskatchewan

1992

Till from drill core, NTS 73H/7 and 62F near Smeaton, Saskatchewan and the Virden area, Manitoba, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Survey Description


Till was sampled over a kimberlite southwest of Smeaton, Saskatchewan.  Just over 96 m of rotasonic drill core was collected and 40 till, 5 sand and 19 fine-grained sediment samples were taken from the drill core to study till in the third dimension.  A summary of the work is published in GSC Bulletin 551.

In 1992, till was sampled from four drill holes in the Virden area near Reston, Beresford, Oak Lake and Kemnay, Manitoba as part of NATMAP. The data are part of a compilation, GSC Open File 5582.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction by XRF for major and some minor elements; by INAA for 34 elements.  <0.063 mm fraction of till and silt-clay samples and the 0.063-0.25 mm and <0.063 mm fractions of non-ferromagnetic heavy minerals by INAA for 35 elements.  <0.063 mm fraction of till and silty-clay samples by AAS after a HF-HClO4-HNO3 digestion for selected trace elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

Plots of selected elements in till sequence.

Other Analyses:

HMC for heavy mineral point counts, especially kimberlite indicator minerals; geochemical analysis of selected heavy mineral grains; pebble lithologies (9-16 mm); carbonate (<0.063 mm fraction (Chittick)).

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Matile, G.L.D, Groom, H., Thorleifson, H. (1992). Quaternary geological studies in southern Manitoba. In Manitoba Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, Report of Activities, 1992, p. 122. (more)
2 Thorleifson, L.H., Garrett, R.G. (2000). Lithology, mineralogy, geochemistry of glacial sediments overlying kimberlite at Smeaton, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 551, 40 p. (more)
3 Garrett, R.G., Thorleifson, L.H., Matile, G., Adcock, S.W. (2008). Till geochemistry, mineralogy and lithology, and soil geochemistry – data from the 1991-1992 Prairie kimberlite study. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5582, 1 CD-ROM. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1991-1994 Canadian Prairies Project, 1991, 1992 and 1994 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
PDF of GSC Bulletin 551 ( FileID=665 download)
A PDF of GSC Bulletin which was originally released as hardcopy only.
7958106

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
49.54° 53.41° -104.92° -100.08°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Drill hole located 6.4 km west and 8 km south of the town of Smeaton, Saskatchewan in NTS 73H/7.

  • Covers part of NTS 62F (Virden) in southwest Manitoba.  It is located just east of the MB-SK border and south of provincial Highway 1.  It extends from just west of the town of Sinclair, northeast to Kemnay (approximately 95 km).

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till, Minéraux indicateurs, need description

Manitoba, Saskatchewan

1992

Till d’une carotte de forage, 73H/7 et 62F du SNRC, près de Smeaton, Saskatchewan et la région de Virden, Manitoba, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Description du levé


Le till a été échantillonné sur une kimberlite au sud-ouest de Smeaton, en Saskatchewan. Quarante échantillons de till, 5 échantillons de sable et 19 échantillons de sédiment à grains fins ont été prélevés sur la carotte de 96,3 m, extraite au moyen d’une foreuse rotative à vibration afin d’étudier le till dans la troisième dimension.  On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans le bulletin 551 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

En 1992, le till a été échantillonné de quatre trous de sonde près de Reston, Beresford, Oak Lake et Kemnay, Manitoba dans le cadre du NATMAP.  Les données font partie d’une compilation, le dossier public 5582 de la CGC.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage des principaux éléments et de certains éléments mineurs par XRF; dosage de 34 éléments par INAA. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm des échantillons de till et de limon-argile et dans les fractions 0,063 à 0,25 mm et <0,063 mm de minéraux lourds non ferromagnétiques, dosage de 35 éléments par INAA. Dans la fraction <0,063 mm des échantillons de till et de limon-argile dosage d’éléments traces choisis par AAS après digestion dans HF-HClO4-HNO3.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Tracés pour des éléments choisis dans la séquence de till.

Autres analyses:

CML pour dénombrements ponctuels de minéraux lourds, en particulier les minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite; analyse géochimique de grains choisis de minéraux lourds; lithologies des cailloux (9 à 16 mm); dosage du carbonate (dans la fraction <0,063 mm (par la méthode de Chittick).

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Matile, G.L.D, Groom, H., Thorleifson, H. (1992). Quaternary geological studies in southern Manitoba. In Manitoba Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, Report of Activities, 1992, p. 122. (détails)
2 Thorleifson, L.H., Garrett, R.G. (2000). Lithology, mineralogy, geochemistry of glacial sediments overlying kimberlite at Smeaton, Saskatchewan. Geological Survey of Canada, Bulletin 551, 40 p. (détails)
3 Garrett, R.G., Thorleifson, L.H., Matile, G., Adcock, S.W. (2008). Till geochemistry, mineralogy and lithology, and soil geochemistry – data from the 1991-1992 Prairie kimberlite study. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5582, 1 CD-ROM. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1991-1994 Projet des Prairies canadiennes 1991, 1992 et 1994 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Fichier en format PDF du bulletin 551 de la CGC. ( FileID=665 télécharger)
Un fichier en format PDF du Bulletin 551 de la CGC, qui a été initialement publié en version papier seulement.
7958106

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
49.54° 53.41° -104.92° -100.08°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Trou de sonde situé à 6.4 km à l’ouest et à 8 km au sud de la ville de Smeaton (Saskatchewan), 73H/7 du SNRC.

  • Couvre une partie de 62F (Virden) du SNRC dans le sud-ouest du Manitoba.  Il est situé juste à l'est de la frontière du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan et au sud de l'autoroute provinciale 1.  S'étend juste à l'ouest de la ville de Sinclair, nord-est à Kemnay (environ 95 km).

Mots-clés


Date de modification