Survey Metadata

Soil, Till, Indicator minerals

Northwest Territories

1999

Soil and till sampling survey, NTS 85J, I, O and P, Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories, 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Survey Description


During the month of July 1999, a regional orientation survey including surficial mapping and geochemical sampling was undertaken in the Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Seventy sites were visited. Samples of humus and litter fall (60), till (58) and other sediment types (e.g. glaciolacustrine and glaciofluvial) were collected. A summary of the work can be found in GSC Current Research 2000-C3.  The data are published in GSC Open File 4019, which also includes data from samples collected in 2000.

Also in 1999, eleven regional till samples weighing approximately 10 kg were collected in the Yellowknife area for kimberlite indicator minerals and gold grain analyses.  An additional 25 till samples weighing 20 to 30 kg were also collected near Mud Lake for kimberlite indicator minerals and gold analyses near Mud Lake, approximately 4 km southeast of Drybones Bay. These data are published in GSC Open Files 3861 and 3942 (supersedes OF 3861).

Data Description:

Digital data files.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.002 mm fraction by ICP-AES after nitric-aqua regia digestion for 39 elements; <0.063 mm fraction by INAA for 34 elements.

Geochem Maps Available:

None.

Other Analyses:

Pebble lithologies; kimberlite indicator mineral and gold grains (GSC OF 3861 superseded by GSC OF 3942).

Sampling Procedure

The area was surveyed by road access, fixed wing and helicopter-assisted traversing.  Soil samples (58) were taken from hand dug pits, at depths of 10 to 60 cm.  Humus and litter fall were collected over or adjacent to the mineral-soil sampling site, but due to recent forest fires in some areas, organic soils were charred or nonexistent.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Kerr, D.E., Smith, D., Wilson, P. (2000). Anomalous kimberlite indicator mineral and gold grain abundances, Drybones Bay and Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3861. (more)
2 Kerr, D.E., Wilson, P. (2000). Preliminary surficial geology studies and mineral exploration considerations in the Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Current Research 2000-C3, 8 p. (more)
3 Kerr, D.E. (compiler) (2001). Till geochemistry, Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4019. 1 CD-ROM. (more)
4 Kerr, D.E., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Smith, D. (2001). Chemical characteristics of kimberlite indicator minerals from the Drybones Bay area, Northwest Territories.  Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3942. (more)
5 Kerr, D.E. (2002). Distribution and characteristics of gold grains in till, Yellowknife Greenstone Belt and Drybones Bay area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4299. (more)
6 Kerr, D.E., Knight, R.D. (2005). Till geochemistry, Slave Province, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5015, CD-ROM. (more)
7 Kerr, D.E. (2006). Surficial geology and exploration geochemistry, Yellowknife area. Chapter 20 In Gold in the Yellowknife Greenstone Belt, Northwest Territories: Results of the EXTECH III Multidisciplinary Research Project, Geological Association of Canada, Mineral Deposits Division, Special Publication No. 3, p. 301-324. (more)
8 Kerr, D.E., Knight, R.D. (2007). Gold grains in till, Slave Province, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5463. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1999-2002 EXTECH III Program, Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories, soil, till and vegetation surveys, 1999-2001 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copy of CD-ROM for GSC Open File 4019 ( FileID=22 download)
This archive contains all of the files that are on the CD.
43790

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
62° 63.25° -115.25° -113.5°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 85J/8, 9, 16, 85I/4, 5, 12, 13, 85O/1 and 85P/4 in the Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till, Minéraux indicateurs

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

1999

Levé d’échantillonnage du sol et du till, 85J, I, O et P du SNRC, région de Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, 1999.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)




Description du levé


Pendant le mois de juillet 1999, un levé d'orientation comprenant la cartographie des dépôts meubles et d’échantillonnages géochimiques ont été entrepris dans la région de Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.  Soixante-dix emplacements ont été visités.  Les échantillons d’humus et de litière (60), de sol recouvrant le till (58) et d'autres types de sédiments (par exemple glaciolacustres et fluvioglaciaires) ont été recueillis.  On peut trouver un sommaire de ces travaux dans  Recherches en cours 2001-C1, de la Commission géologique du Canada.  Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public 4019 de la Commission géologique du Canada avec les données des échantillons recueillis en 2000.

Également en 1999, onze échantillons de till régional pesant environ 10 kg ont été recueillis dans la région de Yellowknife pour des analyses des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite et des grains d'or. Vingt-cinq autres échantillons de till, pesant 20 à 30 kg ont également été recueillis pour des analyses des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite et des grains d'or près de Mud Lake, à environ 4 km au sud de Drybones Bay. Ces données sont publiées dans les dossiers publics 3861 et 3942 de la CGC.  Le DP 3942 remplacé le DP 3861.

Description de données:

Fichiers de données numériques.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,002 mm dosage de 39 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion dans l’acide nitrique-eau régale; dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage de 34 éléments par INAA.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Aucune.

Autres analyses:

Lithologies des cailloux, minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite et des grains d'or (DP 3861 de la CGC, remplacé par le DP 3942 de la CGC).

Procédure d’échantillonnage

La zone de levé était accessible par véhicule routier, aéronef à voilure fixe et hélicoptère. Au total, 58 échantillons de sol ont été prélevés dans des fosses creusées manuellement, à une profondeur de 10 à 60 cm. Des échantillons d’humus et de litière ont été prélevés sur le site d’échantillonnage de terre minérale ou à côté de celui-ci, mais de récents feux de forêt survenus avaient partiellement ou totalement carbonisé le sol organique par endroits.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Kerr, D.E., Smith, D., Wilson, P. (2000). Anomalous kimberlite indicator mineral and gold grain abundances, Drybones Bay and Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3861. (détails)
2 Kerr, D.E., Wilson, P. (2000). Preliminary surficial geology studies and mineral exploration considerations in the Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Current Research 2000-C3, 8 p. (détails)
3 Kerr, D.E. (compiler) (2001). Till geochemistry, Yellowknife area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4019. 1 CD-ROM. (détails)
4 Kerr, D.E., Kjarsgaard, I.M., Smith, D. (2001). Chemical characteristics of kimberlite indicator minerals from the Drybones Bay area, Northwest Territories.  Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3942. (détails)
5 Kerr, D.E. (2002). Distribution and characteristics of gold grains in till, Yellowknife Greenstone Belt and Drybones Bay area, Northwest Territories. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 4299. (détails)
6 Kerr, D.E., Knight, R.D. (2005). Till geochemistry, Slave Province, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5015, CD-ROM. (détails)
7 Kerr, D.E. (2006). Surficial geology and exploration geochemistry, Yellowknife area. Chapter 20 In Gold in the Yellowknife Greenstone Belt, Northwest Territories: Results of the EXTECH III Multidisciplinary Research Project, Geological Association of Canada, Mineral Deposits Division, Special Publication No. 3, p. 301-324. (détails)
8 Kerr, D.E., Knight, R.D. (2007). Gold grains in till, Slave Province, Northwest Territories and Nunavut. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 5463. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1999-2002 Programme EXTECH III, la région de Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, levés de sol, de till et végétation. 1999-2001 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Copie du CD-ROM du dossier public 4019 de la CGC. ( FileID=22 télécharger)
Cette archive contient tous les fichiers qui se trouvent sur le CD-ROM.
43790

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
62° 63.25° -115.25° -113.5°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 85J/8, 9, 16, 85I/4, 5, 12, 13, 85O/1 et 85P/4 du SNRC dans la région de Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Mots-clés


Date de modification