Survey Metadata

Soil, Till

Manitoba

1992

Till and soil sampling survey, NTS 62P/1, 52L/14, 52M/3, 4, southeastern Manitoba, 1992-1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In the summers of 1992 and 1993, 210 till and 186 humus samples were collected in the Bissett - English Brook area, southeastern Manitoba.  In addition, a total of 16 till samples weighing 10-12 kg were also collected for heavy minerals including gold grains and future recovery of kimberlite indicator minerals.  The geochemical and gold grain data are published in GSC Open File 2910.

Data Description:

Paper report; data files on diskette.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.425 mm fraction of humus and <0.063 mm and <0.002 mm fractions of till by ICP-AES after nitric-aqua regia digestion for 31 elements.  <0.002 mm fraction by CV-AAS for Hg.  <0.063 mm fraction by fire assay/AFS for Au, Pt, and Pd.

Geochem Maps Available:

Proportional dot maps showing dispersal of elements in till and humus.

Other Analyses:

Carbonate (<0.063 mm fraction by AAS after HCl digestion); pebble lithologies (4-8 mm fraction); heavy mineral concentrate for gold grain and kimberlite indicator minerals; large gold grains examined with SEM.

In 1994, thirteen 10-12 kg till samples were collected in the Bissett, English Brook and Wallace Lake areas for kimberlite indicator mineral analysis and the results are published in GSC Open File 3367, along with KIM results from samples collected in 1992 and 1993.

A summary of the work can be found below:

 

Sampling Year Number and Type of Sample Collected NTS Mapsheet Data Type Publication
1992, 1993 210 till; 186 humus 62P/1, 52M/4 geochemistry and gold grains GSC OF 2910
1992 14 till (10-12 kg) 52M/4 KIM results GSC OF 3367
1993 2 till (10-12 kg) 62P/1 KIM results GSC OF 3367
1994 13 till (7-12 kg)

52L/14, 52M/3, 4

62P/1

KIM results GSC OF 3367

 

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Henderson, P.J., Dunn, C.E., Coker, W.B. (1993). GS-41 Quaternary studies related to drift prospecting, Rice Lake Greenstone Belt and Bernic Lake area, southeastern Manitoba. In Report of Activities 1993. Manitoba Department of Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, p.153-154. (more)
2 Henderson, P.J. (1994). Surficial geology and drift composition of the Bissett-English Brook area, Rice Lake Greenstone Belt, southeastern Manitoba. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2910. (more)
3 Henderson, P.J. (1996). Kimberlite indicator mineral data from the Bissett – English Brook – Wallace Lake area (62P/1, 52L/14, 52M/3, 4), Rick Lake greenstone belt, southeastern Manitoba. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3367. (more)
4 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1990-1993 Southeastern Manitoba till, soil and vegetation sampling surveys, 1990-1993 (more)

Downloadable Files

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Diskette to accompany GSC Open File 2910 ( FileID=265 download)
This ZIP file contains a copy of the data diskette originally released with GSC Open File 2910.
40434

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
50.91° 51.25° -96.5° -95.31°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers most of NTS 62P/1 (English Brook) and 52M/4 (Bissett), and parts of 52M/3 (Aikens Lake) and 52L/14 (Garner Lake) in the  Bissett - English Brook - Wallace Lake area, Rice Lake greenstone belt, southeastern Manitoba.  It is bounded to the northwest by Lake Winnipeg.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Till

Manitoba

1992

Levé d’échantillonnage du till et des sols, 62P/1, 52L/14, 52M/3, 4 du SNRC, sud-est du Manitoba, 1992-1994.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les étés de 1992 et 1993, 210 échantillons de till et 186 échantillons d’humus ont été recueillis dans la région de  Bissett - English Brook, sud-est du Manitoba.  En outre, un total de 16 échantillons de till pesant 10-12 kg ont également été recueillis pour les minéraux lourds incluant les grains d'or et le récupération à l'avenir de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite.  Les données géochimiques et les résultats de grains d'or sont publiés dans le dossier public 2910 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé; fichiers de données sur disquette.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction d’humus <0,425 mm et les fractions de till <0,063 mm et <0,002 mm, dosage de 31 éléments par ICP-AES après digestion à l’acide nitrique- eau régale; dans la fraction <0,002 mm, dosage du Hg par CV-AAS; dans la fraction <0,063 mm, dosage du Au, du Pt et du Pd par essai pyrognostique/AFS.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec symboles proportionnels montrant la dispersion des éléments dans le till et l’humus.

Autres analyses:

Dosage du carbonate (dans la fraction <0,063 mm par AAS après digestion dans HCl); lithologies des cailloux (dans la fraction 4 à 8 mm); concentré de minéraux lourds pour dénombrements de grains d’or et de minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite; examen au MEB des gros grains d’or.

En 1994, treize échantillons de till pesant 10-12 kg ont été recueillis dans les régions de Bissett, English Brook et Wallace Lake pour l'analyse des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite.  Les résultats sont publiés dans le dossier public 3367 y compris les résultats des minéraux indicateurs de kimberlite des échantillons recueillis en 1992 et 1993.

On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux ci-dessous:

 

Année d'échantillonnage Nombre et type d'échantillon recueilli Carte du SNRC Type de données Publication
1992, 1993 210 till; 186 humus 62P/1, 52M/4 géochimie et grains d'or DP 2910 de la CGC
1992 14 till (10-12 kg) 52M/4 résultats KIM DP 3367 de la CGC
1993 2 till (10-12 kg) 62P/1 résultats KIM DP 3367 de la CGC
1994 13 till (7-12 kg)

52L/14, 52M/3, 4

62P/1

résultats KIM DP 3367 de la CGC

 

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Henderson, P.J., Dunn, C.E., Coker, W.B. (1993). GS-41 Quaternary studies related to drift prospecting, Rice Lake Greenstone Belt and Bernic Lake area, southeastern Manitoba. In Report of Activities 1993. Manitoba Department of Energy and Mines, Minerals Division, p.153-154. (détails)
2 Henderson, P.J. (1994). Surficial geology and drift composition of the Bissett-English Brook area, Rice Lake Greenstone Belt, southeastern Manitoba. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 2910. (détails)
3 Henderson, P.J. (1996). Kimberlite indicator mineral data from the Bissett – English Brook – Wallace Lake area (62P/1, 52L/14, 52M/3, 4), Rick Lake greenstone belt, southeastern Manitoba. Geological Survey of Canada, Open File 3367. (détails)
4 Keller, G.R., Bogdan, D.J., Matile, G.L.D. (2004). Manitoba kimberlite indicator mineral database (version 3.0). Manitoba Industry, Economic Development and Mines, Manitoba Geological Survey, Open File Report 2004-25. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1990-1993 Levé d’échantillonnage du till, des sols est de la végétation, le sud-est du Manitoba exécuté en 1990-1993 (détails)

Fichiers téléchargeables

Index Description Size (bytes)
1
Disquette accompagnant le dossier public 2910 de la CGC. ( FileID=265 télécharger)
Ce fichier auto-décompactable contient une copie de la disquette des données initialement publiée avec le dossier public 2910 de la CGC.
40434

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
50.91° 51.25° -96.5° -95.31°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre la plus grande partie des 62P/1 (English Brook) et 52M/4 (Bissett), et des parties des 52M/3 (Aikens Lake) et 52L/14 (Garner Lake) dans la région Bissett - English Brook - Wallace Lake, zone des roches vertes de Rice Lake, dans le sud-est du Manitoba.  Délimité au nord-ouest par le lac Winnipeg.

Mots-clés


Date de modification