Survey Metadata

Soil, Alluvial heavy minerals

Quebec

1971

Soil and alluvial heavy minerals sampling survey, NTS 21E/10, 11, 14, 16, Marlow, Stratford and Weedon townships, Quebec, 1971.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In the summer of 1971, a soil and alluvial heavy mineral sampling survey was conducted.  A total of 154 samples were collected (95 in Lake Aylmer-Weedon metalliferous deposit, 28 as background and 31 samples collected around St-Robert-Bellarmin area).  Heavy mineral sampling was collected and panned.  Around Cupra, Solbec and Weedon deposits, the presence of streams are rare and most of them are contaminated by mine waste.  Heavy minerals were than collected in soil (horizon B or B-C), by digging holes at 16 to 36" deep.  Samples from St-Robert-Bellarmin were collected directly in sand and stream sediments.  The area covers 20 km2.  Samples were collected at an average density of 1 sample per 0.1 km2 and analysed for Cu, Zn, Pb, Mn, Ni, Co, Ag, Sb, V, Bi, Cd, Mo (HClO4-HF, atomic absorption).

The data are published in Open File DP-142, Department of Energy and Resources, 1973.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Winter, H (1973). Distribution des éléments en trace dans les minéralisations des Appalaches, Québec. Ministère de l'Énergie et des Ressources, Dossier public DP-142. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1971 Preliminary study on the distribution of trace elements in heavy minerals, Chaudières-Appalaches area, 1971. (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
45.67° 45.83° -71.4° -70.42°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 21E/10 (Lac-Mégantic), /16 (Saint-Théophile). The Saint-Robert-Bellarmin mine region is situated in the Marlow township. It is bounded by latitudes 45°40' and 45°47' and longitudes 70°25' and 70°40'.

  • Covers part of NTS 21E/11 (Scotstown) and 14 (Disraeli). The Cupra, Solbec and Weedon mines are located in the Stratford and Weedon townships. The region is bounded by latitudes 45°40'30" and 45°50' and longitudes 71°16' and 71°24'.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Sol, Minéraux lourds alluviaux

Québec

1971

Levé d'échantillonnage de sols et de minéraux lourds, 21E/10, 11, 14, 16 du SNRC, région des mines St-Robert-Bellarmin, Cupra, Solbec et Weedon, cantons Marlow, Stratford et Weedon, Québec, 1971.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1971, un levé d'échantillonnage d'alluvions et de sols a été effectué au cours de l'été.  Un total de 154 échantillons, dont 95 dans la zone métallifère du Lac Aylmer-Weedon, 28 comme background, et enfin 31 échantillons prélevés séparément autour de St-Robert-Bellarmin.  Le prélèvement des minéraux lourds se faisait à l'aide de la battée.  Autour des gisements de Cupra, Solbec et Weedon, les ruisseaux sont rares et pour la plupart contaminés par les déchets de mines.  Les minéraux lourds ont donc été prélevés dans le sol (horizon B ou la transition B-C), en creusant à une profondeur de 16" à 36".  Les échantillons de St-Robert-Bellarmin ont été recueillis directement des sables et graviers des eaux courantes.  La région couvre une superficie totale de 20 km2.  Les échantillons ont été recueillis suivant une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon par 0.1 km2 et analysés pour le Cu, Zn, Pb, Mn, Ni, Co, Ag, Sb, V, Bi, Cd, Mo (HClO4-HF, absorption atomique).

Les données sont publiées dans le dossier public DP-142, Ministère de l'Énergie et des Ressources, 1973.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Winter, H (1973). Distribution des éléments en trace dans les minéralisations des Appalaches, Québec. Ministère de l'Énergie et des Ressources, Dossier public DP-142. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1971 Étude préliminaire de la distribution d'éléments en traces dans les minéraux lourds , région Chaudières-Appalaches, 1971. (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
45.67° 45.83° -71.4° -70.42°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 21E/10 (Lac-Mégantic), /16 (Saint-Théophile) du SNRC. La région de la mine Saint-Robert-Bellarmin est située dans le canton de Marlow. Limité par les latitudes 45°40' et 45°47' et les longitudes 70°25' et 70°40'.

  • Couvre une partie de 21E/11 (Scotstown) et 14 (Disraeli) du SNRC. Les mines Cupra, Solbec et Weedon sont situées dans les cantons de Stratford et Weedon La région est délimitée par les latitudes 45°40'30" et 45°50' et les longitudes 71°16' et 71°24'.

Mots-clés


Date de modification