Survey Metadata

Till

Saskatchewan

1979

Till sampling survey, NTS 74I/8, southern McMahon Lake area, northern Saskatchewan, 1979-1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


During the summers of 1979 and 1980, 506 till samples were collected near the southern shore of McMahon Lake near the Midwest uranium deposit in northern Saskatchewan.  Samples of basal till were collected along lines at right angles to the long axis of the boulder train.  The samples were spaced at 30 m intervals along lines 240-360 m apart.  In addition, samples were recovered from the till beneath the water of South McMahon lake immediately up-ice from the boulder train.  A summary of the work can be found in Geological Survey of Canada Paper 82-11.

Data Description:

Paper report.

Quantities Analysed:

<0.063 mm fraction analyzed for U by fluorometry and neutron activation.

Geochem Maps Available:

Contour map showing geochemical dispersion of uranium in basal till.

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Simpson, M.A., Sopuck, V.J. (1983). Till geochemistry near the Midwest uranium deposit. In Uranium Exploration in Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada, E.M. Cameron (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 82-11, p. 207-214. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1978-1982 NEA-IAEA Test Area Program, northern Saskatchewan, 1978-1982 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
58.284° 58.325° -104.115° -104.046°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers part of NTS 74I/8 (Henday Lake) in northern Saskatchewan.  It includes the southern shores of McMahon Lakes and the Midwest uranium deposit.  Hamilton Lake is located approximately 5 km west of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Saskatchewan

1979

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 74I/8 du SNRC, région du sud du lac McMahon, nord de la Saskatchewan, 1979-1980.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


Pendant les étés 1979 et 1980, 506 échantillons de till ont été recueillis près de la rive sud du lac McMahon, à proximité du gisement d’uranium de Midwest, dans le nord de la Saskatchewan. Des échantillons du till de fond, ont été recueillis le long de lignes orientées à angle droit de l’axe longitudinal de la formation des blocs glaciaires. Les échantillons étaient prélevés à des intervalles de 30 m le long de lignes espacées de 240 à 360 m. En outre, des échantillons ont été récupérés dans le till sous l’eau du lac McMahon Sud, immédiatement en amont glaciaire de la formation des  blocs. On peut trouver un résumé de ces travaux dans l’étude 82-11 de la Commission géologique du Canada.

Description de données:

Rapport imprimé.

Quantités analysées:

Dans la fraction <0,063 mm dosage du U par fluorométrie et activation neutronique.

Cartes géochimiques disponibles:

Cartes avec isopleths montrant la dispersion géochimique de l’uranium dans le till basal.

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Simpson, M.A., Sopuck, V.J. (1983). Till geochemistry near the Midwest uranium deposit. In Uranium Exploration in Athabasca Basin, Saskatchewan, Canada, E.M. Cameron (ed.). Geological Survey of Canada, Paper 82-11, p. 207-214. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1978-1982 Programme de NEA-IAEA Test Area, nord du Saskatchewan, 1978 à 1982 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
58.284° 58.325° -104.115° -104.046°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre une partie de 74I/8 (Henday Lake) du SNRC dans le nord de la Saskatchewan.  Il inclue les bords sud de McMahon Lakes et le gisement uranium de Midwest.  Hamilton Lake est situé approximativement 5 km à l'ouest de la zone d'étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification