Survey Metadata

Till

Ontario

1992

Till sampling survey, NTS 42B/1, Foleyet area, northern Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Survey Description


In 1992, till samples were collected in the Foleyet area of northern Ontario as part of a multi-year regional till sampling and surficial mapping program covering the Swayze Greenstone Belt.

A total of 135 till samples were collected at a regional scale at an average sampling density of 1 sample per 7.5 km2.  Samples were collected from roadcuts, borrow pits and metre deep hand-dug pits. At each site, samples of B horizon, C horizon and humus were collected.

Detailed sampling was carried out at the site of the Joburke gold mine. A total of 55 sites were sampled extending approximately l km down-ice and 400 m up-ice from the ore zone.

The following Ontario Geological Survey reports were published:

 

Year Publication
1992 Miscellaneous Paper 160
1995 P Series Map 3323
1995 Miscellaneous Release Data MRD015

 

 

Publication History

Index Publication
1 Kaszycki, C.A. (1992). Quaternary geology of the Foleyet area, northern Ontario. In Summary of Field Work and Other Activities 1992. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Paper 160, p. 203-206. (more)
2 Bernier, M.A., Kaszycki, C.A. (1995). Till, humus, B-horizon soil geochemical database, surficial sediment sampling program, Swayze greenstone belt, northern Ontario. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Release – Data, MRD015. (more)
3 Kaszycki, C.A., Bernier, M.A. (1995). Particulate gold abundance in surficial sediments (-10 mesh (<2 mm) size fraction), Foleyet area, District of Timmins.  Ontario Geological Survey, P Series Map P3323, 1:50,000 scale. (more)

Project History

Index Year Project
1 1992-1994 Swayze Greenstone Belt Surficial Sediment Project, Ontario, 1992-1994 (more)

Geographic Extent

Minimum Latitude Maximum Latitude Minimum Longitude Maximum Longitude
48° 48.25° -82.5° -82°

The geographic extent of the survey is defined by the following polygons:

  • Covers NTS 42B/1 (Foleyet) in the Folyet area, northern Ontario.  It is bounded by longitudes 82°W and 82.5°W and latitudes 48°N and 48.25°N.  The centre of the study area is located approximately 18 km southwest of Timmins.  Highway 101 runs east-west through the northern part of the study area.

Keywords


Date modified:

Métadonnées de levé

Till

Ontario

1992

Levé d’échantillonnage du till, 42B/1 du SNRC, la région de Foleyet, nord de l’Ontario, 1992.





Location map

(requires an Internet connection)



Description du levé


En 1992, des échantillons de till ont été recueillis dans la région de carte de Foleyet, au nord de l’Ontario dans le cadre d’un programme pluriannuel d’échantillonnage régional de till et de la cartographie des dépôts meubles couvrant la ceinture de roches verts Swayze.

Un total de 135 échantillons de till a été recueilli à l’échelle régionale suivant une densité moyenne de 1 échantillon par 7 km2. On a recueilli les échantillons à partir des tranchées de routes, des bancs d’emprunt et des fosses d’un mètre de profoundeur creusées à la main. On a recueilli des échantillons de l’horizon B et l’horizon C ainsi que l’humus à chaque site.

Un échantillonnage détaillé a été exécuté sur le site de la mine d’or Joburke.  Un total de 55 sites ont été échantillonnés étendant environ l km en aval glaciaire et 400 m en amont glaciaire de la zone de minerai.

Les rapports suivants de la Commission géologique de l’Ontario ont été publiés:

 

Année Publication
1992 Miscellaneous Paper 160
1995 P Series Map 3323
1995 Miscellaneous Release Data MRD015

 

 

Histoire des publications

Index Publication
1 Kaszycki, C.A. (1992). Quaternary geology of the Foleyet area, northern Ontario. In Summary of Field Work and Other Activities 1992. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Paper 160, p. 203-206. (détails)
2 Bernier, M.A., Kaszycki, C.A. (1995). Till, humus, B-horizon soil geochemical database, surficial sediment sampling program, Swayze greenstone belt, northern Ontario. Ontario Geological Survey, Miscellaneous Release – Data, MRD015. (détails)
3 Kaszycki, C.A., Bernier, M.A. (1995). Particulate gold abundance in surficial sediments (-10 mesh (<2 mm) size fraction), Foleyet area, District of Timmins.  Ontario Geological Survey, P Series Map P3323, 1:50,000 scale. (détails)

Histoire de projet

Index Année Projet
1 1992-1994 Projet de sédiment de surface dans la ceinture de roches verts Swayze, Ontario, 1992-1994 (détails)

Zone géographique

Latitude Minimum Latitude Maximum Longitude Minimum Longitude Maximum
48° 48.25° -82.5° -82°

L'étendue géographique du levé est définie par les polygones suivants:

  • Couvre 42B/1 (Foleyet) du SNRC dans la région de Folyet au nord de l’Ontario.  Il est délimité par les longitudes 82°O et 82.5°O et les latitudes 48°N et 48.25°N.  Le centre de la zone d’étude est situé à environ 18 km au sud-ouest de Timmins.  L’autoroute 101s’étend est-ouest à travers la partie nord de la zone d’étude.

Mots-clés


Date de modification